We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit to Victoria hotel Torquay Whit week” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Victoria Hotel to your Saves list
The Victoria Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Crewe
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Visit to Victoria hotel Torquay Whit week”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at the Victoria hotel with our grandson who is 12 years old. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment was well equipment and furniture was modern and clean and plenty big enough. There were numerous options to eat in the hotel and plenty of cafes and pubs nearby serving food . The cost of eatin ut was reasonable everywhere. There was plenty to do at the hotel and the games room was well equipped with snooker-pool tables, table tennis and tenpin bowling. The entertainment team were very good and very friendly. Enjoyable holiday with plenty to do rain or shine. Both the indoor and outdoor pool were clean tidy. Would stay there again .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    154
    42
    16
    2
See reviews for
101
110
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We took 106 of our club dancers to The Victoria Hotel and I must admit with great trepidation on the 22nd of May from Monday to Friday,however we danced,ate,slept the whole week away with absolutely no complaints from my dancers that were not sorted out immediately by the wonderful staff in the Victoria Reception,one or two disappeared to the Starlight Lounge for the bingo & comedian,they of course have been severely reprimanded {joking} the weather was kind so we visited Brixham,Dartmouth,Newton Abbot & Dawlish plus the odd boat trip across the bay for an amazing £1 each way 'unbelievable'price.Food was excellent as was service and above all the cleanliness of the rooms and hotel in general,amazing swimming pools & bistro area. The Warwick Ballroom with its beautiful floor & size was more than adequate for our needs And as Arnold says 'WE WILL BE BACK'

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Stayed in apartment number 37 for 6 nights returning home on the 2nd May. The accommodation is very clean and has a well fitted kitchen which includes microwave, full cooker and fridge freezer. We only ate breakfast in the apartment and then went out all day as we were very lucky with the weather it was sunny every day. One day we walked to the harbour and got the ferry over to Brixham where we spent the afternoon, at only £2 each return this was a real bargin and not to be missed. We did not leave the resort complex at night and ate in the Victoria restaurant, very good meals, we had a meal in the Aztec Bistro which was good and we tried the 2 for £10 in the Alberts Bar which was great value. We did not see much of the entertainment and the weekend we arrived both the Richmond lounge in the Victoria hotel and the Starlight lounge in the Derwent hotel were private functions only, but as we just like a quiet drink there were plenty of other bars.
The swimming pools are great, the big one is 25metres long and a smaller free form pool which was really warm with a kids pool at one end. You have to pay to use the gym which my husband used a couple of times but he said the equipment needs updating.
Our only moan was the floor in the apartment was very very creaky we tried to tiptoe round the worst parts but it was terrible, I felt sorry for the people in the apartment below us for the noise we made and was really glad we were on the top floor with nobody above us, but as its an old building I suppose its to be expected and it would not put us off going again, we will proberbly stay in the hotel instead of the apartments next time we go to Torquay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spiritfrombath
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have just returned from a super 60th birthday party weekend at the Victoria Hotel - excellent food, friendly staff, hotel room huge and front facing, very clean with tea, coffee etc. Entertainment included tank sherman (comedian) on the Friday evening (laughed til we cried)and Sat evening a comedian singer and magician excellent. Super amenities huge pool, ten pin bowling etc. Sea front, harbour all in walking distance. Visited greenway Agatha Christies home on Sunday - if you arrive by car it will need to be pre booked before you visit (excellent).
The hotel does require some updating (window in room 313 needs replacing due to misting inside panes of glass) but it was very clean, warm, comfortable and well run and nothing was to much trouble for the staff - looking forward to the next visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a front facing room 313 in the Victoria - very quiet, spacious with a sea view-would de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Had a lovely family stay at the Victoria Hotel (TLH Resort) in Torquay weekend of 6/7/8 May 2013. Great value for money....kids under 10 go free and Breakfast + Evening meal included. We stayed February 2012 as was impressed then aswell. Great service and friendly staff. Swimming pools are good we used both pools as the smaller one is warmer for the children. Tenpin bowling and games room were fun to go and spend some time in. Bingo nights are enjoyable aswell. Torquay centre nice to go to for shops and along the front....plus lots places to see and visit in and around Torquay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in a one bedroom self-catering apartment which is located inside the hotel complex, and was very comfortable and a good size for 3 people. It had a full array of cooking facilities and was cleaned every day.

The hotel is part of a complex with several other hotels and apparently has 17 bars, indoor bowls, an amusement arcade and indoor and outdoor swimming pools. The indoor pool has an Aztec theme and is a good size for swimming. There are a steam room and sauna attached, and free lockers.

The hotel itself is comfortable if slightly faded with a small reception area. The location is fine, just up the hill from the seafront. There is a room for left luggage, although this isn't locked so security may be an issue. There are plenty of activities going on in the complex, something for everyone. The indoor bowls seemed particularly popular at most times of day.

Room Tip: The apartment is a good choice if you're not bothered about a hotel breakfast and wish to prepar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed in a two bed apartment within this enormous hotel chain!
Ideal cheaply priced accomodation, within a easy walking distance of the sea, harbour, boat trips, shops, cafes and restaurants.
Self catering accom was very clean and adequate but could do with a bit of an update. Perfect for us thugh as it was clean, close to amenities and cheap for us, a family of 5.
Staff pleasant, choice of pools, cafes, bars and restaurants plus entertainment within the hotel, we choose to eat out though. All in all a good 4 day break

Room Tip: We stayed in room 39, this was advertised as a room for 5, it was in fact a 2 bed apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#31 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this charming hotel, with period features, has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity programme. Bowling and dancing holidays a speciality. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Victoria Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Victoria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.