We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday that the weather cannot spoil” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derwent Hotel

Save Saved
You added Derwent Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Derwent Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 97 hotels in Torquay
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Holiday that the weather cannot spoil”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

3rd Year in a row at TLH of which last 2 years at the Derwent.
TLH comes into it,s own when you have a young family as the choice of activities results in you spending lots of time using the activities on offer especially when you have exhausted what is on offer in Torbay.
My son loves the Toby club and the entertainment team are excellent.
The food is very good with plenty of choice and the staff are very good and helpful.
If I was to pick up on any negative points it would that the rooms can be noisy adjacent to the road especially when it is warm with the window open and tend to wake up perodically when large vehicles go by or a car will sound it,s horn.
The rooms and corridors look a bit tired so it would be nice to know what progress is being done in re-decoration.
Finally if you arrive down to breakfast after 9.00 o clock the level of service tends to drop slightly as some attention is diverted to clearing up.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

623 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    283
    68
    20
    13
See reviews for
206
165
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

Great hotel for only being only a 2*, great food, great service (porters, waitress` etc). We never got bored - indoor/outdoor pools, sauna/steam room, pool, darts. I would recommend to all people singles to families they cater for all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

When we arrived at reception we had the most friendliest of welcomes and the receptionist explained all about the hotel to us.
The upstairs corridors and rooms do need a good lick of paint and the carpets were a bit threadbare with black sticky tape patching up the holes. We were lucky to be right by the top of the stairs and lift on the first floor,but others would have a long treck to their rooms at the far end of the narrow corridors.
Our Standard family room (112)was a decent size. The only thing that spoiled it was the tiny bathroom.(Photo on my review on TLH - can't retrieve it at the moment )We were unable to open the door fully as it hit against the bath and it felt very claustrophobic when using the toilet. The sink was actually in the bedroom as there wasn't space for it in the bathroom! The air extractor in the bathroom was so noisy that I though a delivery lorry was outside early one morning.
Other than that the room was clean and comfortable and we enjoyed our stay.

Guests can use all the amenities of the other hotels and as it is all undercover,there is always a great range of different things to do both day night,even if it is raining.
The entertainments team were excellent and activities were taking place throughout the day for younger children,teens and adults.
The massive indoor pool had plenty of space for everyone to swim and also a smaller pool which was popular with children. A sauna,steam room and jacuzzi and all of the pool area was very clean.
There is an excercise studio as well as a gym which had a small charge ,but we didn't have time to use them.
A nice big games room with proper ten pin bowling.

There is a nice outdoor pool and sun terraces on different levels. Must be lovely on a sunny day,but unfortunately we had rain all the time.

We ate evening meals in The Aztec Bar which overlooks the swimming pool . Prices weren't very cheap but the food came out well cooked and plenty of it. On a Wednesday night there was a special of '2 main meals for the price of 1'

In the evenings the main family entertainment was taking place in The Starlight Lounge. It started with bingo with tickets cheaply priced and with great cash prizes for winners. Everyone tended to start the night in the Starlight lounge for the bingo and then went off to various different entgertainment venues around the hotel for ballroom dancing,line dancing,quiz nights,race nights,karaoke etc.

All of the staff in whatever areas of the four hotels were really pleasant and friendly from The managers to cleaners.

There is a hairdressers downstairsin The Derwent and also a laundarette which could come in useful for longer stays

A big thankyou to the TLH entertainments team who worked really hard all day and night to make for a great holiday.

I'd recommend this hotel to everyone,especially those with children and teenagers. With the clubs getting them all together they soon make friends.

Although this was our first holiday at TLH most other people we spoke to had been at least 5 times before.One family had been going for 15 yrs so they must be doing something right!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

all i can say is about the derwent is bloody brillant , the hotel on arrival was second to none the staff were excellent and the food really out of this world with waiteress service to match , the swimming pool was brilliant my only down point about the swimming pool was no lane for swimmers as i like to swim and i kept stopping for kids bumping into me no fault of there own mind you they have to have fun aswell , the entertainment staff were brillant catering for the kids as adults a like well done derwent hotel youv'e made me wanna come back next year thankyou very much

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

I stayed here with my partner and 3 children, and even though the weather was awful, there was always something to do in the hotel. The Derwent and its sister hotels go to a lot of trouble to make sure that guests are made welcome and have an enjoyable holiday experience. The good quality food and the brilliant swimming pools also rate highly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

Me and my daughter love this hotel we have stayed here 6or7 times over the last 7or 8 years the facilities are first class for children and adults alike whether you are stopping at the Derwent or her sister hotels there is loads to do for the kids whatever the weather and the food and entertainment are first class the staff entertainment night is especially good. The only downside was the room we had was a standard room which while the cleanliness was spot on by the cleaning staff the room itself that we stayed in looked a bit tired and could have done with a bit of a makeover but i would certainly go back to the Derwent and i no my daughter would.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

My fourth stay at TLH , usually stay at The Victoria and found The Derwent to be comparable excellent value and service. The food is wonderful and the facilities and the peace of mind offered for families with teens is second to none. Teens stay in their own room for £25 per night dinner , bed and breakfast and both of our teens could eat for England!! The only minor downside is that some area's are slightly shabby and jaded but it really does not matter in the scheme of things.The important things count , like good value for money, great entertainment , all weather facilities and the most friendly and helpful staff. I am definitely going back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Derwent Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#20 Family Hotel in Torquay
#35 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Derwent Hotel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lively hotel has access to an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities, together with nightly entertainment and dancing. Enjoy indoor and outdoor swimming pools, a luxury spa, gym, huge indoor games arena, daily kids club and a daily activity program. Bowling and dancing holidays a specialty. Close to sea front and town centre, ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Derwent Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derwent Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.