We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dance weekender” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
The Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“dance weekender”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

spent the week on a Monday to Friday dance break.
Excellent facilities with great pool area and restaurant, very good value for money.
Rooms were clean although bed was very hard.
Second time to the Carlton / Victoria and will be returning again.
would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and it is lovely to hear you enjoyed your dance midweek break. If you find the bed hard on your next visit please ask for a mattress topper which might make you more comfortable. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    166
    32
    9
    4
See reviews for
158
81
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Visited the Carlton Hotel in Torquay with a group for a Spa weekend. As expected the hotel complex is in old victorian building withe 3 other hotels and apartment blocks attached.
Room was average and very warm - the notice said turn radiator off if too hot but the valve didn' work. On the plus side having read reviews which said the beds were hard, I asked housekeeping for a mattress topper. This was duly delivered and I had a lovely couple of nights sleep in a cosy, soft bed. Everything was very clean but a little threadbare. However, the staff need to be commended for their service and helpfulness with such large numbers of guests during a winter weekend. We had a lovely time and I can well see why this hotel complex would bne a winner for family holidays in the UK. Inside pools, outside pools, entertainment - everything you could wish for.

Room Tip: There are premium roos with sea views at an additional cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your review and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your spa weekend. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I booked with the Carlton through spabreaks.com and since I didn't spend a great deal of money was not expecting much.

Thankfully, the Carlton disproved my expectations (the reason why it hasn't got an excellent rating will be explained later on)

Also, for point of reference: The Carlton is one of 4 hotels connected together by a shared leisure complex and spa.

The staff were friendly and efficient throughout the facilities. The room was spotless and all the amenities fully functioning. The dinner was excellent. The swimming pool was lovely - if a little on the cool side, and the Jacuzzi was just what I needed - if a little on the small side.

I didn't explore the leisure facilities fully (including the spa) as I was only there for the one night, BUT I was surprised that evening entertainment was available in the Starlight lounge - reasonable and enjoyable but clearly aimed more for the elder audience dominating the hotel's occupation.

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and I have already recommended the Carlton and it's sister hotels to my sister-in-law for a girly weekend.

The reasons why I have not given the Carlton an Excellent rating are:
1) There were several drips coming down into the complex from a leaky roof. While the buckets were necessary - they did prove rather unsightly
2) Though Wi-Fi was available - I couldn't access it (and I was witness to another guest having similar log-in problems)
3) As mentioned, the hotels are linked together by a shared leisure complex which essentials allows you to walk between the hotels to use their facilities. However, despite a map, it was not obvious by their current signage where it was you were supposed to go.
4) The room was lovely but the bed and the pillows were too hard for my taste and I did wake with a rather bad back. fortunately cured by having a soak in their spacious tub.
5) The breakfast was part-buffet and part-service. Both reasonable BUT I had to send back my toast as their toaster was "temperamental" and refilling the buffet stations did fall a bit to the wayside.
6) Though I had no problem getting into the pool and Jacuzzi - I suspect in the bust season that would NOT be the case.

However, these problems were minor inconveniences in the overall satisfaction of my stay.

Am defiantly using the Carlton again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Thank you for recent review of your spa break and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and have recommended the Carlton to your family.

There is a programme of works in place to fix the leaking roof which has been a problem in the spa reception following the recent exceptionally bad weather. The jacuzzi is being replaced at the end of February along with a programme of improvemtents in that area, so we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gourock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I visited for a Zumba weekend and even though there were so few of us (10 !!!) it was well worth doing - the classes went ahead as scheduled, and we joined in with the provided entertainment at night, which serves 3 hotels together I believe. Friendly staff, good food, great facilities - it really was good value for the price we had paid. I would love to come back another time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Delighted to hear you enjoyed your Zumba weekend. These are held regularly throughout the year so we do hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

This is the second year I have stayed at the Carlton Hotel part of the THL group, once again, excellent entertainment, first class food, which has a good selection on menu, lovely pools and great staff. Stayed in the apartments even though half board, apartment is lovely and spacious, clean, and well maintained would recommend this.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Glad to hear you had a fantastic time and look forward to seeing you next Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Weekend away could not fault it for what we paid food was good rooms were fine possibly could do with a update ,if you want the spa advise to book it in advance the location is excellent a short walk to the seafront

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted to hear that the Girls had a great weekend and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Carlton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We took 47 dancers to this hotel, for a Ballroom , Latin and social Sequence dance holiday,
perfect venue for a dance break, floor is great,it look out over the sea, rooms are good, we always take the apartments which are attached to the hotel for no extra cost, free complementary tea every day, plenty to do both in and out of the hotel, staff are very friendly, food is good, any problems are sorted out very professionally, if you have any, we didn't,
thank you for a wonderful break from all 47 dancers, hope to do it again soon,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Glad to hear you all had a fantastic time. We are a great venue for dance breaks and the Riviera ballroom has lovely sea views to enjoy whilst you are dancing.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
#33 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.