We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SELSTON WEDNESDAY CLUB” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added TLH Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
TLH Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“SELSTON WEDNESDAY CLUB”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

I organised a holiday for 30 members to the Carlton Hotel & everyone said it was the best hotel they had been to. The staff were helpful & pleasant. Good rooms, many with sea view & all warm when needed. The food was excellent with plenty of choice. The entertainments complex was very comprehensive with something for all. Plenty of areas (inside & out) for relaxing. We would all have liked to stay longer.

Una Plant........Social Secretary

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks Una for your kind comments, I am glad you and your group had a great stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    173
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
165
85
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The Carlton is part of the TLH Complex in Torquay and is very well appointed, within easy reach of the main shopping area and harbour.
The staff are helpful and rooms are clean and spacious but the carpets on the stairways are in need of replacement.
Food and Entertainment is very good.
The main pool is shared with the other three hotels but is large to enough to accommodate this.
The steam room and Jacuzzi could do with a facelift.
Overall excellent value for money and recommended..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Many thanks for your feedback on your recent stay.

I am pleased you had an enjoyable weekend break and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Pool area has lots to offer but is starting to look tired!!!

The jacuzzi needs cleaning & replacing but not necessarily in that order, lol...

The steam room smells nasty regularly, so needs eucalyptus adding more regularly please...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for posting your feedback on the Carlton Hotel and Spa.

The Aztec Pool and spa is a fantastic facility, there is nothing in the Torbay area that matches the facilities and service we offer. We are always reviewing what we offer and looking at adding and upgrading the current facilities.

I am pleased to say that this winter we will be expanding and re vamping our changing and shower areas. We do not have any plans scheduled to change the Jacuzzi, but we will be ensuring that the one we have is in working order and looked after.

I will pass on your feedback about the steam room essence to my Pools Manager to ensure we are constantly on top of this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We have spent a most enjoyable few days at the Carlton Hotel in Torquay. Friendly atmosphere and polite helpful staff. Clean modern refurbished room with plenty of storage . Excellent nightly entertainment and indoor pool in other hotel which we could use. We only stayed bed and breakfast but next time would have the evening meal. The breakfast was good offering ample choice and the staff wer very obliging. Well located. Would definately return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Many thanks for your review of the Carlton Hotel.

I am glad you had an enjoyable break and we look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

My wife and I recently booked a short break at the Carlton Hotel.It was our first visit to the TLH leisure resort and we did not know what to expect although a friend who is a regular visitor said we would not be disappointed.
We thoroughly enjoyed this break and would not hesitate to return.The Carlton we are told is the quieter of the four hotels comprising this complex and we had a room with a sea view.We specifically wanted a hotel with evening entertainment and the fact that guests can use the facilities at the other hotels on the complex is an added bonus..
The Carlton "ticked all the boxes" with the best food we have had in a hotel backed up with pleasant staff providing pleasant and attentive service.

Room Tip: Request a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for reviewing your first visit to the Carlton Hotel. I am pleased you had a great time and loved the hotel, service and food.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Just had a most enjoyable break at The Carlton complex, great Pool area, steam Room was really hot as was the Jacquzzi. A good hotel for a family with children.
The rooms were clean and the staff very pleasant generally, however like a lot
of English seaside Hotels there was a need for considerable `refurbishment` some of the furniture was quite worn and dated. The prices at the Bars were quite high
Value for money was excellent though and if they could get more bookings they would have some cash to spend on the improvements.
My family would certainly go there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay. I am glad you had a great time.

We are a family owned business and each year the owners are investing money in upgrading décor and furniture as well as building great facilities like our luxury Aztec Spa and Pool complex. As we are busy 12 months of the year it is not possible to carry out all upgrading work without careful planning. We recently had a refurbishment of our Restaurant and the new chairs will be here shortly. We are also just starting the re decoration of our corridors and have some exciting room development programmes planned this Winter.

Hopefully on your next stay you will be able to see these improvements we are continually making.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have just had a lovely weekend at the Carlton Hotel as part of a large party.
The food and service were excellent and staff were polite,cheerful, and nothing was too much trouble - first class every one of them. The spa and bar areas were great and the price of drink and food not expensive.
The only thing that let it down (but only slightly) was that the bedroom was a little bit 'tired' but clean and perfectly acceptable.
We will definitely go back to this hotel if we are ever in Torquay in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to post a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay, particularly the service you received from my team.

We hope to welcome you again when you come to Torquay in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TLH Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.