We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An enjoyable time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TLH Carlton Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added TLH Carlton Hotel to your Saves list
TLH Carlton Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Huddersfield
1 review
“An enjoyable time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

We brought our granddaughters( 12 and 14) on the holiday. We all had a fantastic time and all being well will be back next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on trip advisor.

I really like the photo you have posted of our new water zorbing pool for this summer, which is part of our new Aztec Active entertainment programme. Look out for a lot of other new activities starting this summer including aquajets, football coaching with the captain of Torquay Utd, cheerleading and streetdance to name a few.

We hope to see you all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    173
    35
    9
    4
See reviews for
165
85
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We have just come back from a short break at the Carlton hotel ,It is nice that you can choise to have evening meals at any of the 4 hotels in the group, we chose to eat at the Victoria but 3 out of the 4 hotels all have elegent dining rooms (Derwent not so nice) Both Breakfast & evening meal were lovely & the waiters & waitress's were all very friendly & we did not have to wait long. Our Bedroom & bathroom could have done with a refurb plenty of mold in bathroom , beds were hard & tv out dated but because rest of hotel was so nice it did not really matter to much. Reception staff were also friendly , but entertainment was moore for outsiders to come in & line dancing in 2011 a bit out of date.We would go back to this hotel in the future or the Victoria.Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: Look at a few rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Many thanks for your feedback on the Carlton Hotel.

The benefits of being a groups of 4 hotels is that there is a hotel to suit everyone and many of our guests have their own personal favourites. But I am glad you got to experience and enjoy all of them.

Our bedrooms at the Carlton are fairly new and we aim and focus on keeping them all well maintained including bathrooms and décor. We very rarely get any negative feedback about bedroom and bathroom standards, so I would really appreciate it if you contacted me at the Hotel to let me know which room you stayed in so I can follow up and resolve the issues you raised.

We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We stayed from Thursday to Monday, the staff were helpful and considerate. The restaurant staff were superb, as I am a vegetarian the chef was very helpful in suggesting alternatives to the set menu and all the food was wonderful, expertly served!
Wonderful indoor pool, best one we have every seen!

thank you for making our stay so good.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for posting your feedback on trip advisor. I am glad you had a great stay with us.

Our Head Chef Lee Johnston will always do his best to accommodate all dietary requirements and requests, I am so pleased he was able to make you some great meals that you enjoyed and appreciated. I will make sure he sees your kind comments.

We hope to see you all again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Have just come back from a 4 night break at the carlton hotel. we stayed monday to friday and had a fantastic time . The food was of an excellent standard the room was spacious and clean with a sea view i have to say the service we recieved in the restaurant was great nothing was too much trouble and all of the public areas in the hotel were very clean. The Aztec spa was good but changing room's were very crowded for families as you are not supposed to take small children in the gym changing rooms this could do with updating.
as i said we had a great time but the only major fault that I could see was that the outdoor swimming pool was ice cold for people who love to go on holiday enjoy the sun and swim outdoors. The leasure team insist that it is heated to 18.'c but it felt more like -18.'c please please please turn the heat up in this pool !!!!!!!!!!!!
ps we walked up to the Imperial and there outdoor pool is heated to 28.'c

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Many thanks for your review of the Carlton Hotel.

It is great to read you had a fantastic stay and the service was excellent.

We are very lucky to have 3 large swimming pools on site the two indoor pools are heated to 31’c and 29’c all year round. The outdoor pool never use to be heated and after the upgrade and refurbishment of the outdoor pool and sun terraces we began heating it to 18 – 20’c. It is harder with the outdoor pools to regulate temperature because of the air. Inside we control the air and humidity levels, but outside a dip in temperatures can affect it dramatically. However, this summer we are sure it is going to be so hot and sunny in Torquay that our guests will appreciate the water to cool off!

We hope to see you again at the Carlton soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham,uk
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2011

Very nice, clean apartment. The aztec spa and facilities are fantastic. Great for entertainment of all ages.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay.

I am pleased you all had a great time and managed to take advantage of the great facilities on site.

This summer we are launching Aztec Active, which is a brand new range of activities for all the family, this will enhance our family entertainment offering even further.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We came to the Carlton Hotel and Spa for a hen day and evening function. The treatments were amazing and very luxurious, the therapists were very attentive and professional. The spa relaxing, clean and well maintained, as was The Carlton Hotel where we had a party and buffet - amazing value all round.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your Spa day at The Carlton Hotel and Aztec Spa.

It is great to read about people coming to the Spa and not only relaxing but having a fun time as well.

We hope you visit again soon and take advantage of some of our great Spa break offers which are all on our website.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Stayed at the Carlton with my elderly mother in May. We found the staff, without exception, to be very friendly and efficient and in addition the hotel was spotlessly clean, both in our room and in the public areas. We stayed on a DB&B basis and found the food to be good with different choices on all courses every day, although feel that the presentation, i.e. crookery could be improved.
We used the leisure/beauty facilities where again staff were friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend this hotel group to others travelling with elderly relatives.
My only negative was that the room lacked a bit of style (we had a Riviera twin room) with just plain white duvet covers, no scatter cushions etc. , but again very clean and with plenty of storage.

Room Tip: I would definitely go for a Riviera room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarltonMgt, General Manager at TLH Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am so please to read you and your mother had a great stay.

We changed to white duvets and bed linen last year with the intention of choosing a scheme to enhance the rooms further. We are currently looking at bed runners and scatter cushions and I hope that we can roll this out soon. The most important thing for us is to provide a bedroom that is exceptionally clean and functional which we do so well, so now we can focus on the finishing touches.

We hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TLH Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TLH Carlton Hotel

Address: Falkland Road, Torquay TQ2 5JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Torquay
#17 Family Hotel in Torquay
#34 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — TLH Carlton Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of TLH Leisure Resort, this lovely 3 star hotel and Spa has an extensive range of indoor and outdoor leisure facilities including luxury spa, swimming pool, gym, fitness studio, bistro and games arena with entertainment on site. Ideal for couples and families. The hotel offers spa, health and fitness breaks and dancing holidays. Close to the sea front and town centre, it is ideally placed for exploring the English Riviera and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your TLH Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TLH Carlton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TLH Carlton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.