We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abberley Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Abberley Guest House to your Saves list
Abberley Guest House
100 Windsor Road, Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 1SU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“home from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

from the warm welcome at the door and high standards of housekeeping its the kind of place that makes you feel at home our stay at Abberley Guest House was a very positive and comfortable one ,I would highly recommend it

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. If our guests are happy, we are happy. We hope to see you again when you next come this way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    5
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
35
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I feel a little ashamed that I haven't written a review of this excellent guest house before.
We have stayed at The Abberley Guest House many times over the years, and the first thing I must say is that the standard that Jackie has set has never diminished (if anything it has progressively improved) - it was brilliant the first time we stayed here years ago !
As previous reviewers have mentioned Jackie greets all of her guests with a welcoming cup of tea or coffee, a very personal touch that is always welcome to the travel weary. Another personal touch that she adds is her local knowledge, if you need any info about local transport, beaches, restaurants, pubs, theatres, trips, attractions Jackie can supply it (if she can't she'll have a leaflet that can !).
The cleanliness of the guest house is exceptional, each room is cleaned every day, towels changed regularly tea & coffee replenished during the day too.
The meals are terrific too, excellent breakfast - juice, fruit, choice of cereals, full english, toast, tea & coffee. All cooked breakfasts are cooked to YOUR specification, Jackie never assumes that you will want the same thing everyday. The same goes for children (ours are very fussy, but enjoyed a good breakfast every morning).
The same goes for evening meals should you want one, never had a duffer whilst staying at Abberley House, Jackie is an excellent cook.
All the rooms we have stayed in have been very comfortable. This year we had two rooms, both of which can be locked separately, but also have the advantage of a shared door that accessed the corridor - thus creating a family suite for want of a better description, very useful if with children, no having to open and close lots of doors.
I cannot fault this warm, friendly guest house, or, for that matter, recommend it highly enough. I wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else whilst staying in the Babbacombe / Torquay area.
There are bigger (and better known) establishments that could learn a lot from Jackie and Abberley Guest House - needless to say (but I will) we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It's always a pleasure to see you and your family each time you come and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed here while on a walking holiday and greeted with a cup of tea and a warm welcome by landlady Jackie. Nothing was too much trouble - suggestions for the evening, a map and directions into town and probably the best breakfast of the 6 days we were on the coastal path. The Buccaneer pub on the seafront is a good place for a meal and pint. Well worth staying here - you won't find better.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad the breakfast got you off to a good start for your day's walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

What a great place to stay. Where do I start?... from the minute we arrived, we were greeted by Jackie who offered us a drink and then had a chat with us in the lounge. Jackie was really easy to talk to and gave us lots of information on the local area, the best routes to take to local amenities or attractions and suggested restaurants that her previous guests had visited and enjoyed.
We were shown to our room (Room 2 on the ground floor) which was absolutely spotless and had tea/coffee making facilities, TV and en suite shower room. There was also a folder which had information about the guest house (general house rules, breakfast menu, evening meals and Devon attractions leaflets) We had pre-booked room & breakfast and the quality of the food was excellent. Full breakfast included; fresh fruit salad, a selection of good quality cereals, fresh orange juice and a full English with toast and a pot of tea/coffee. Home made 2 or 3 course evening meals are also available and Jackie makes them fresh to order each day. We had moussaka with fresh vegetables and jam roly-poly with custard, they were both beautifully cooked and only cost £18.00 for the 2 of us, so great value for money.
I noticed Jackie wearing white cotton gloves while setting the tables in the dining room and was very impressed that cleanliness was so important. How often do you see that - if ever in a B&B or Guesthouse?
Nothing is too much trouble - our lap top lead didn't quite reach far enough to be able to sit comfortably on the bed so we asked Jackie if there was an extension lead we could borrow and while we were out, an extension lead was set up in our room for our return.
We were even waved off as we left - those little things matter.

I am a very observant person and I can honestly say that Abberley Guest House totally blew me away. We have stayed at other B&B's and guesthouses before in Devon, Cornwall and Wales, but the standard of cleanliness and quality of food was nowhere near as good as Abberley Guest House.
Jackie - you do a wonderful job of looking after your guests. Keep up the good work and we hope to come and visit again soon. Thanks for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you. We appreciate your comments. We hope to see you again sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

we arrived with a very warm welcome by Jackie and a lovely cup of tea the room was excellent and Jackie was very helpful and provided us with plenty of information about where to go and eat. Loved the option of pay on the day breakfast. that was cooked to perfection. We also had the option of an evening meal. Cannot recommend this charming guest house enough. I will deffinetly stay there again the next time we visit Devon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased the information we gave you helped you to enjoy your weekend. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexley
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

From the moment we were greeted at the door to the moment Jackie ( the owner) waved us a safe journey home, the stay at Abberley Guest House was excellent. Although the room was booked as "room only" we chose to have the hearty full English Breakfast for £4 each (yes only £4 incl tea, coffee, juice, cereals, toast and a generous fry up) we also had the evening meal, which was all prepared fresh and home cooked, good traditional choices with superb puddings to follow, you can have a 3 course meal for only £12 each - the premises were spotless and Jackie's local knowledge meant we could plan a fun packed week, nothing was too much trouble. Within only hours of being we felt like Jackie was an old friend! Having stayed at very expensive hotels over the last 25 years, I have to say that none of them come close to Jackie or her guest house, you will not be disappointed with anything, we weren't and we can't wait to return. Jackie thank you for taking such great care of us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. We are known for our breakfast. Just for the record, the only part of our breakfast we fry would be an egg, the rest being grilled or cooked in the oven. We hope to see you again some time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

A very warm welcome at this charming little B & B in Torquay. Plenty of maps, tips etc to help you get out and about. A lovely spotlessley clean room which was cleaned every day. Can highly recommend the breakfast too ! Lovely stay and great value for money. Highly recommended. Thankyou for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abberley_Torquay, Owner at Abberley Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we may see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abberley Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abberley Guest House

Address: 100 Windsor Road, Babbacombe, Torquay TQ1 1SU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The friendliest B&B in Torquay on the English Riviera, South Devon's Beautiful Bay. Convenient for Babbacombe and Torquay Centre, and ideally located for exploring beautiful South Devon and Dartmoor. 7 rooms, squeaky clean, very comfortable - all non-smoking, all en-suite. Ground floor rooms. Our Full English Breakfast will set you up for the day and if you want an early breakfast to make the most of your day that is not a problem here! Delicious evening meals available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Abberley Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abberley Guest House Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abberley Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.