We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent room"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Torquay

Save Saved
You added Premier Inn Torquay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Torquay
Seafront, Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ25HE, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 97 hotels in Torquay
Westcliff-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“"Excellent room"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for the weekend (Fri 19th Oct to Sun 21st Oct 2012)
The room was excellent on the 2nd floor right on the corner of the building with one window to the side overlooking the park, and one window to the front overlooking the sea. (room 227).
The reception was fast and efficient, the Bar staff were friendly and Housekeeping was excellent.
We did not eat at the hotel as we had previous reservations, but the food we saw whilst having a drink looked very nice.
Will definately be staying here again as we have rekindled relationships with family in the Torbay area that we have not been able to visit for a number of years.
Well done Premier Inn.

Room Tip: For the views try to get room 227
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    281
    69
    24
    11
See reviews for
254
348
27
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Having never stayed in a Premier Inn before and also having booked 8 rooms for myself and friends/colleagues, I was a littel nervous about staying here. How wrong I was, a friendly greeting and efficient check-in then a modern pleasing room. Yes an armchair would have been nice but apart from that I was more than happy. Great location right on the seafront and handy for the Riviera Conference Centre too.
Breakfast buffet had great variety and the quality was good too (except maybe the scrambled egg!). As good as any in dearer hotels certainly. I was pleased to see that there was a bar on-site as this made a great meeting place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seeking only the best
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We have just arrived back. The hotel and staff could not be faulted but, our room over looked the park and had a sea view. It had a busy road beneath our window and all night we were woken by traffic. Premier lodge come on and sort out your double glazing!!! This is only thing letting you hotel down....

Room Tip: ask for the back of the hotel for a quieter nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Premier Inn Torquay in august, and loved every minute of it, the beach only over the road which the children loved and so handy the walk into the town. When we go away we always book with Premier Inn, always very good value for money,the only snag was the night a bbq was put on we couldn't get bar meals and my daughter is a vegetarian so there was no meals for her to eat, however the bar staff did allow her to order something off the main menu, maybe that is something that could be looked into and changed, we have said that we would stay there again without any doubt. We had also booked to stay in Paignton but decided that we liked it so much that we changed the booking and stayed where we were.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here for work. The hotel is right beside the sea (separated only by the road into Torquay) the sun was shining, the hotel was perfect, I slept without waking once. The breakfast, check in and check out were seamless and staff really nice and friendly. The car park is huge and even has an extension into a local council car park if the hotel one is full however you have to pay in the council park.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed at the begining of September and what a difference a year can make. Last year 10 of us stayed and could not fault the rooms or the restaurant. Yes the parking is a big problem. This year was another story, the first room we were given the shower enclosure was disgusting full of black mould, the view out of the window was non existent and in the guttering there were the remains of a dead pigeon. They gave us disabled room as the hotel was full, in this case the bath had scum and scale and streaks running down from the bars round the bath. Revolting. The view out the window was not good and a lot of empty wrappers and crisp packets lying around.
We did receive a full refund but it is worrying that housekeeping cannot keep up with the cleaning as the hotel is always pretty full.
I do have photos for both rooms

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Torquay, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review. Naina Social Media Team, Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of October for 3 nights and can confirm that the Premier Inn standards were met.

However, we rejected the first room offered as it was in the main building at the rear and having stopped in this hotel many times previously before it became the Premier Inn, we knew there were better rooms elsewhere.

They then offered a nice room at the rear of the newly built block at the side of the old Belgrave Hotel, and it all seemed to be going well until the next morning when we ventured out and used the lift. Running water could be heard as we stepped out of the lift at the ground floor and it sounded quite a gush.

On our return, we saw all the room cleaning staff emptying buckets of water in a chain-gang fashion. There was a bloke in a well beneath the lift floor filling up the buckets and then passing up to the next person. The water eventually ended up one floor above and deposited on the garden at the rear entrance.

The manager could have sent for a local carpet cleaner who could have sucked the water out with his machine for a few quid, but he probably did'nt know this was possible. The rooms were not ready as quickly as usual because the staff were being used for the bale-out.

Noise from nearby rooms and corridors was minimal, the evening meal in the restaurant was as expected, and the pretty basic fare was delivered by overworked foreigners. Reception was competently handled but again understaffed.

I will definitely return because of the hotel's great position in the resort, but will insist on a room with a sea view in the new block next time.

Room Tip: Request a room in the newly built block with a sea view and eat elsewhere in the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Premier Inn Torquay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Torquay

Address: Seafront, Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ25HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Torquay
#11 Family Hotel in Torquay
#24 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Premier Inn Torquay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Torquay Hotel Torquay
Premier Inn Torquay Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Torquay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.