We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Briarfields

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Briarfields to your Saves list
Briarfields
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   84-86 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 153 Torquay B&B and Inns
Castle Cary, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was a beautiful place to stay. From the moment we walked inside we were impressed by the welcome, the style and the cleanliness. Our room was lovely. Tastefully decorated with plenty of space, a fantastic power shower, a very comfortable bed and lots of little luxuries. Trish and Pete were friendly and informative - full of local knowledge and suggestions. Breakfast was tasty and fresh, served in an immaculate breakfast room. We both agreed that we have never felt so relaxed in a hotel or B and B. We had the feeling that nothing would have been too much trouble for these two - the perfect hosts.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which was a mini suite. The seating area gave that extra bit of space which was well w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
267
12
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bodmin, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Pete and Trish were excellent hosts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, everything was immaculate. Would recommend it to anyone and hope to return again soon! Pete and Trish were extremely helpful in giving us advice for local facilities and attractions. It's a good base for exploring as within walking distance of the seafront and town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Wow what a place this is. From the moment you walk in to a very welcoming area and the welcome from the owners themselves, we know this was going to be good. We were in Room 6, classes as a suite, and "sweet" it was. It was clean, comfortable and the shower was to die for. The whole building was a delight.
Peter and Trish were very obliging and very good hosts, nothing was too much trouble at breakfast and it was obvious that they get return trade. The bed was very comfortable and the little touches as extras were well thought out, a fridge in the room with two bottles of spring water and a jug of fresh milk was very unexpected but appreciated. Would have no hesitation in staying here again. Thank for a good weekend.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 6, at the top of the house but cannot comment on other rooms as we didnt seem them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Lived up to all my expectations. Spotlessly clean, beautiful rooms,great breakfasts and hosts were very welcoming and helpful, advising us on places to eat etc. A short walk to the promenade. I would definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Spent a weekend with friends at this excellent B & B. The Decor and standard of fixtures and fittings was excellent and we were made to feel very welcome. We were to have been in room 4 which is the best suite, with an enormous bed, but swapped with our friends in room 7, as they were unable to deal with 2 flights of stairs. However both suites were really roomy with comfortable settees and armchairs and were absolutely spotless. There are only 8 rooms and is best suited to couples, which is great if you want a break from children! Breakfast was very good.Wouldn't hesitate to recommend, as this was the best B & B we have ever stayed at.

Room Tip: Room 4 is the best suite, although room 4 has air-con
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Wow! What an amazing place! We have just returned from staying at the Briarfields and would recommend to anyone to go there. Me and my husband were having a break for my birthday and time away from the kids and this bed and breakfast made it perfect. Our room was the superior room and was exceptionally clean with all facilities and condiments first class all the way. The breakfast was very enjoyable with high class ingredients and always with a smile. Would go back again next time we plan a trip to torquay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We have just returned from staying at the Briarfields. We were made to feel really welcome as we were when we stayed last year in June. Very high standard of service, room was comfortable and spotlessly clean, the breakfasts were great and we will definately recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Briarfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Briarfields

Address: 84-86 Avenue Road, Torquay TQ2 5LF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 153 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Briarfields 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Briarfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briarfields Hotel Torquay
Briarfields Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Briarfields, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.