We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ascot House Hotel

Save Saved
You added Ascot House Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ascot House Hotel
7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 97 hotels in Torquay
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Just got back from 3 nights at Ascot House. First impressions were great with a lovely warm, personal welcome from Terri. She went out of her way to talk us through what Torquay had to offer and the best routes for getting around. Our room (number 5) was beautifully decorated with lovely attention to detail. The whole hotel is uniquely decorated and spotlessly clean. Fresh milk in the room is a nice touch! Breakfast was great and Terri was receptive to personal preferences on how we wanted our food cooked such as the eggs. When booking I mentioned that I am vegetarian and Terri bought vegetarian sausages especially for me, very much appreciated! The plate of fresh fruit each morning was a lovely touch. A lovely relaxing stay in the sunshine!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    18
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
71
128
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and had a great stay. Terri is an amazing hostess. Extremely helpful and kind. The breakfast was absolutely delightful and we felt a lot of effort and attention resulted in a faultless few days. The location is great. About a 10 minute walk into town and beach. Suite was neat and clean. We felt it was a home away from home. We will return again and definitely recommend the place without any second thoughts .

Room Tip: Gothic suite is a great value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We had a fabulous 3 nights at the Ascot House.
Terri is a wonderful host and a really nice lass. She really goes above and beyond to make sure her guests are comfortable and well informed.
The hotel is spotless and very comfortable. We had 3 fabulous nights sleep and as we are early to bed was really pleasing.
Breakfast was first class with a plentiful supply of fresh fruit as a starter to a really nice breakfast.
Hotel is very well situated close to the train station one way and the centre of town the other.
It was our first time in Torquay and thanks to Terri (and the great weather) we had a thoroughly enjoyable time.

Room Tip: We had room 6 which is very spacious with twin beds. It does have a sea view which I didn't rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Excellent hotel, absolutely amazing friendly owners very welcoming and attentative. Nothing was too much trouble, assisted and catered for your every need, taking the time to talk to us and our children. Outstanding room, outstandingly clean, and outstanding food. Hotel was beautiful top to bottom. So handy to have fresh milk in your room especially for little ones bottles. Beds were comfortable unlike in some hotels. This hotel is beyond expectations, very highly recommended looking forward to another visit in the future. Very happy visitors

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Very lovely stay - we're definitely coming back here had recommending to the place to our friends! The interiors give the place a very homely, quaint and lovely atmosphere which is consistent everywhere - from the very entrance to the kitchen, from the atrium to the rooms and suites. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed three nights in the Top Suite and absolutely loved it. The view was amazing and the room was gorgeous - clean, nicely decorated and a great size. The breakfasts were very good, with the plate of fresh fruit being a really nice touch. Now we just need an excuse to go back for another stay!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Trying to find a decent place to stay in Torquay can be a nightmare, why is is it that most places here are stuck in some sort of 1970/80's timewarp? I have stayed in a few over the years and most are dire. Time to move into the 21st Century Torquay!

Well, good news, this is not the case at the Ascot House Hotel. Terri and Bernard have done a fantastic job at renovating an old hotel into a wonderful place to stay.

We only visited for the one night (yes, a hotel in Torquay that allows you to stay for only one night, whatever next!) to see my friends band (The Simmertones) play here in Torquay, but would have been more than happy to stay here for a week.

We were greeted by the most personable Terri who took us to our lovely room (no.6). Decorated to a high standard, mixing old and new and all the extras you need for a comfortable stay including fresh milk in a fridge. No more UHT nastiness! The bed was superbly comfortable and a massive king size so we both had a great night's sleep. The room and ensuite were spotlessly clean, so a massive plus point here.

The Ascot House is positioned at the top end of town (so don't expect a fabulous seaview), but very handy for access to the shops, and equally only a ten minute walk down to the seafront. Perfect.

Restaurant tips:
Green Leaf Cafe, just off the main Union Street is modern and bright and great for a light lunch.
No. 7, a great fish restaurant down by the harbour, wonderful fresh fish and seafood, though just a tad overpriced.

Breakfast, was fabulous, pretty much anything you wanted was there, and not forgetting the cooked breakfast wonderfully prepared by Bernard.

It seems that both Terri and Bernard work very hard and have an attention to detail that just makes your stay that much better than any of the larger faceless 4 or 5 star hotels. Oh, and at a fraction of the price. I think the Ascot House is actually underpriced for the quality of service they provide, but don't tell them that or they might put the price up!

If we are in Torquay again you can be sure we will booking into the Ascot House!

Room Tip: Room 6 has lovely big bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ascot House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel

Address: 7 Tor Church Road, Torquay TQ2 5UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#2 Family Hotel in Torquay
#5 Business Hotel in Torquay
#7 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An early Victorian villa (built in 1840) Ascot House Hotel has now been refurbished for the second time since its acquisition in 2007 by French expatriate Bernard Lien-Lambert. The result is 5 spacious Suites that are more reflective of the original design and glory of the house. Whether you are travelling on business, a couple on a weekend get-away, or on holiday with the family, Ascot House Hotel offers a home-away-from feeling in boutique style Suites on a bed and breakfast basis. Run by Bernard and his American partner Terri, Ascot House Hotel has private, off-road parking - a space for each Suite - and is most conveniently situated within a few minutes' walking distance of the town centre, sea front, The Princess Theatre, the marina and the Riviera Conference Centre. We pride ourselves on ensuring a warm, welcoming atmosphere, comfortable accommodation, top class food, attention to detail and your personal needs. Although we are not the cheapest accommodation in Torquay, we feel we can safely claim to offer the best value for money. We look forward to ensuring that your stay is a highly enjoyable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Ascot House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ascot House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.