We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sherwood Hotel

The Sherwood Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Sherwood Hotel
Save
You added The Sherwood Hotel to your Saves list
Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #94 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2014

This was our first stay and what a joy. New bed, white fluffy towels, new shower and a very warm welcome by all staff. The food is very good and plentiful. The owners are continually working out of season to restore and upgrade rooms to a good standard. One of the lounges is amazing with the most comfortable recliner sofas and chairs I have ever come across in any hotel. We shall be booking again soon for our next break in Torquay.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    2
    6
    18
See reviews for
6
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The hotel is located handy for riviera centre, sea front and park. It also has parking facilities. However the room we were allocated was very poor, in need of a clean and refurbishing. The bathroom room was the same, the bath was smaller than average with no shower. There was little or no service provided during our stay,no one came in to service our room. The food was alright but did not seem homemade as suggested on their website, there was very little choice. The corridor leading to some of the rooms was very smelly. I suggest the owners employ an experienced hotel manager to bring it up to standard.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2014

Stayed here in August 2014. Yes the room was basic but it was also clean and comfortable we were in one of the older type rooms but people we met whilst there had the newly refurbished rooms which we managed to see and they were excellent value for money. The hotel itself is old style and traditional it's homely and feels like walking back in time. We liked this. The garden area was being worked on and will be stunning when completed. The hotel is very near to all amenities and public transport. It's location is excellent. The new managers want to please their guests and are warm and friendly. Equally the staff are easy to talk to and helpful. The food is traditional if u like homemade wholesome food served in a spacious old fashioned dining room with good service. Entertainment is needed more regularly however it was provided on request and we very much enjoyed it when we did. We intend to visit again next year.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2014

We were looking forward to staying in torquay and the website for this hotel made it look ideal. When we arrived we had a warm welcome but it went downhill from there. We were taken to our room which was an odd shape and you couldn't watch the TV while laying on the bed as it was around a corner. The carpet outside the room stank. We asked to move and we ended up with a room with a better layout. The bed was comfy and clean the food ok but no waitress service it was like being at buntlins all self service. The website raved about home made selection of deserts and each night there was only one choice. The hallways stank damp the games room was damp and the gym what can I say apart from a death trap the running machine looked like it would give you an electric shock there was a dumbbell which consisted of a pole with a bucket of cement on each end and the room was so damp you could feel the spores going in your chest with each breath. Hoteliers had no idea about running a hotel which is a shame.

Room Tip: No good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

Great holiday mad to miss it,i should not write such a good review thinking about it,cause others will go there and prices might go up,but it was good other who have wrote on here before have forgot how to enjoy themsevles,the owner of the hotel is a good dancer,and can have a good laugh,you can talk to her and she does not bite,if you want enjoy yourself go to this hotel, robin hood would have

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

When I read the negative reviews on here before our holiday I was dreading going! Don't believe previous negative reviews! I suggest they're written by others that thought they were going to get a 5 star holiday at 1 star prices! yes there was moled on the silicone in the shower cubicle....but...the shower was brand new and great. Yes..the headboard was bit dusty...but the mattress and base were spotless and still even had the plastic on. So...everything that mattered was top class!....That included the welcome we got and the daily banter from the owners to see if we was having a good holiday. The food was highly thought of as it was like your mother use to cook...meat and 2 veg. So if you are use to convenience food this isn't the hotel for you. The staff could not do enough for you and were always smiling. It is only fair to say that when we stayed last week the average age was probably 65 yrs old at the hotel though. However...this doesn't stop me wishing to bring my sons and grandchildren back to this hotel and lowering that average age down a bit....and I am sure management would make them most welcomed. There are already family rooms completed at the hotel. The owners are doing up 1 room per week I was told so give them a chance...its only been open a few week! Great location near the beach too.Final words are ....we had a fab week here, with so much to do around Torquay a week wasn't enough. At present I would suggest it is best suited to the over 60's as there wasn't any entertainment...however the Rainbow hotel next door was good for entertainment in the evening.

Room Tip: ask not to be near a door in the hotel room corridors if you have normal hearing levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

I have to give it a one star to write this review such a shame I could not give it nothing..... this as to be the worst hotel we have ever stayed in the years we have been going on holiday do not stay here I repeat do not stay here. Food rubbish staff rubbish hotel rubbish. The worst housekeeping ever she was a sleep all day only surfaced about 7pm our room was never made up we had to ask each day for clean towels room was never cleaned in all the week we stayed staff very rude when we went to complain.
The owner as not got a clue how to run a hotel and look after its guests my advise get out before you have ruined more peoples holidays what a waste of money cost us loads more as we had to eat out most day chef could not cook and I mean could not cook fish fingers frozen chips and tin peas is not a meal for a adult. Don't ask for pudding unless you want cheap ice cream smart price asda...don't waste your money staying here yes it is bad we complained to the tour company who said this hotel was checked out I very much doubt it. you would never send any one to this hotel. And to end we did not expect 5 stars but we did expect a basic service which was not delivered on any level....

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sherwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sherwood Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 228
Also Known As:
Sherwood Hotel Torquay
The Sherwood Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sherwood Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.