We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food and view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Man Fridays Seafood Restaurant

Man Fridays Seafood Restaurant
22 Victoria Parade, Torquay TQ1 2BB, England
01803 296416
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 264 Restaurants in Torquay
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fab food and view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

We visited early evening on a weeknight. The menu was great and there were plenty of specials on the blackboards. The waiting staff were very knowledgable about the food.

I ordered a shellfish platter for one. When it arrived I honestly thought I'd been given the platter for two! It was enormous!!! I was in seventh heaven - all kinds of prawns, langoustine, hot garlicky mussels, crab including a giant claw, squid, scallops smoked salmon to name but a few. It wasn't cheap but certainly well worth the price. We all enjoyed our food and there was certainly plenty of it, my dining companions had monkfish and lemon sole with veg and potatoes, all of which they reported to be delicious. We all liked the homemade loaf of bread with a sweet pepper butter that was complimentary prior to our main courses, yummy.

The view over the inner harbour is lovely. The only downside is that the restaurant is on the first floor and quite small, so not great as far as accessibility is concerned.

We'll definitely be returning on our next visit to Torquay, I'll have to abstain from eating for a couple of days to prepare myself!

I highly recommend this restaurant to fellow fish and seafood lovers.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    313
    68
    37
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I may return”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Good food very tasty monkfish, with good selection of vegetables, friendly service.
Downside drinks expensive with limited choice, £2.50 for small warm lemonade?? Draft lager alternates each day due to lack of storage space?? Carlsberg nooooooooo £3.50for a small bottle of San Miguel ??

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Superb Seafood Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Visited on the off chance of a table and they had one free. Although the dishes are expensive (as it most seafood), the chefs did a wonderful job in bringing out the best flavors.

I would probably say it was the best fish meal I have had.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Fabulous Seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Great place to visit, though you will need to book in advance, fortunately we stated over a Sunday night and as it was out of school holidays we were able to get a table. Fish on the menu included local catch of the day which had literally been caught and taken to the restaurant that afternoon.

You certainly could not fault the size of portions or the quality of the food.

I would definitely dine here again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Best seafood in a long time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Booked this after looking at Tripadvisor.
Amazing food.
Amazing location.
Amazing service.
We live near to a fishing port so we are not strangers to good seafood. However the Lobster
and Turbot we had was the best we've eaten in a long long time.
Please try the Crab & Shrimp Cocktail to start with, don't think I've ever tasted such a great starter.
Just wish we lived closer, we would be their most regular customers.
Is it pricey?....Not at all, you get what you pay for.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Man Fridays Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 
Torquay, English Riviera
Torquay, English Riviera
 

Been to Man Fridays Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Man Fridays Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.