We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kelvin House Hotel

Kelvin House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kelvin House Hotel to your Saves list
Kelvin House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   46 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Booked this hotel through booking.com as the reviews looked great & the accommodation spec suited exactly what we required. Great value, very clean well equipped rooms, extremely friendly hosts & a lovely breakfast! Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Kelvin House from 15/5/14 until 18/5/14. Wonderful place to stay,the house is immaculate.Owners Karl& Sharon are two of the nicest people you could meet,nothing was to much trouble for them.Breakfast was delicious and you had a choice ,we opted for the full English and when I say full I'm not joking, if we are ever down that way again I know where we will be staying.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We found this hotel through trip advisor and were not disappointed. Our room was the superior room. ( no 4) and it was spacious and very clean, with all facilities. The owners were lovely and very friendly and informative.
We have stayed in quite a few hotels in Torquay over the last few years, some of which were of higher rating and quite pricey in comparison but this will be our choice in the future. The breakfasts were superb and we felt very relaxed. Great value for money and a very pleasant stay. Thanks Sharon and Carl. We will be booking again very soon.!

Room Tip: Room 4. Spacious and looking out to front of hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My girlfriend and i needed to go to Torquay, and after a bit of review reading we stayed at Kelvin House on the 25+26/10/2013, and what a great choice was made.We was running very late and was due to arrive after 9.00 pm, spoke to carl and it was not an problem.
The room was spotlessly clean and was very nicely decorated.Its obvious Carl and Sharon are very fussy and passionate about their hotel, and it shows !!
Breakfast was spot on, the full english was perfect and a great choice of cereals, yoghurts, juice etc.
Many thanks to Carl and Sharon for a great stay in a beautiful hotel. We thoroughly recommend Kelvin House , and we are planning to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just returned from quick 2 night stay at Kelvin House in order to see Joe McElderry at the Princess Theatre on Saturday night. Joe was great and so was the Kelvin House. The room (room 1) was spotless with all facilities. There is a massive lounge with comfortable, reclining seating and large screen TV. We had specifically asked for a ground floor room because of our mobility problems which the owners, Carl and Sharon, supplied. They certainly could not have been more helpful and friendly. The (full english) breakfast set us up for the day. A very good place for a stay in Torquay, Well recommended!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are on the ground floor if you have mobility issues, although there are about 7 or 8...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this online, which sometimes can be a bit hit and miss but this was a definite hit!
The couple who run it were so friendly and helpful, always smiling and chatting, they gave us tips on where to eat and drink.
The room itself was spotless, the cleanest place we've ever stayed, everything was of a very high standard, it's obvious that these lovely people take great pride in their work and their beautiful house.
We are already planning our next weekend away to kelvin house and can't wait. I would highly recommend this wonderful place to everyone

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

our weather was good so decided on a few days away in torquay we are so pleased to book the kelvin house hotel ! we had a lovely stay carl and sharon made us so welcome. this b&b is a lovely clean and homely place to stay and an excellent breakfast . we would like to recommend this hotel and thanks to u both.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kelvin House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelvin House Hotel

Address: 46 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#10 Luxury Hotel in Torquay
#22 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#27 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kelvin House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kelvin House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin House Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kelvin House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.