We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Cavendish Hotel to your Saves list
Cavendish Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Stayed at The Cavendish with a coach party and after reading some of the reviews we were pleasantly surprised. When we arrived, the staff who greeted us were friendly and helpful, and although the hotel is a bit dated it was quite welcoming and clean. We were given a lovely big room with a double bed and two singles on the first floor ( there were three of us) which was spotlessly clean as was the bedding and the towels. It had a good view overlooking the gardens and tennis courts - you could even see the sea in the distance!!
The food was very good, served at your table and was piping hot, we had a lovely young waitress looking after us who was so obliging and pleasant (Sharna) she was very quick and efficient with the orders and got your food to you in no time.
All in all we had a very enjoyable stay at this hotel, and for what we paid we thought it was great value for money - would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    118
    72
    35
    70
See reviews for
86
144
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I would just like to say a massive thank you to the staff in this hotel for coming to our rescue after another hotel would not let me and my family stay when we travelled down from Sunderland to attend the Miss England finals. Myself, My Mam and Sister in law had a lovely stay here. We stayed for three nights and we could not fault the hotel. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Settle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Our 1st stay at The Cavendish Hotel, after looking for something near to the seafront at Torquay.
My mother and I had a nice 4 day break, she needed a rest after a short illness.
On arrival we was greeted by a friendly staff who were to cater for our needs for the week.
We had Room 8, a twin room (ground Floor) with a balcony overlooking the outdoor swimming pool, we found the room to be clean and would suit our needs for the week.
We had heard reports about the hotel not being great, but we could understand there were some problems, what with the storms earlier this year, there was some maintenance issues and some damage outside with the property, but it was being dealt with.
The positives were VFM, adequate, location, helpfulness of staff, comfort and clean,
the negatives evening meal not great, the lifts not working on all floors, the outside pool, not clean
but all these negatives are being put right, after speaking with the owner Andy, so overall if you want a cheap, affordable and relaxing break the cavendish is OK

Room Tip: Most rooms are a good size, ours was Room 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford england
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

30 of our members from The Bicester Ex Servicemans Club stayed from Friday till Monday in May and could not have had a better time in any other hotel
From our welcome on arrival and the service at the bar from Doug to the waiting staff in the restaurant you would not get better service anywhere
A big thank you to all

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

We (my Mum, 3 sisters and I) stayed at the Cavendish for 3 nights for my Mums 90th birthday. Although the hotel needs a bit of updating, the rooms were clean and the bedding was spotless, which is the main thing for me. Room was cleaned every day and fresh towels left. All staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and plenty of it. We were looked after by Alex in the dining room, who was great, as were all the staff. They all made such a fuss of Mum on the day of her birthday. Even offered to go and collect the cake we'd pre ordered !! The pools looked great although we didn't use them, a lot of people did.We ordered packed lunches for the journey home which were lovely. Can't fault the staff but hotel rooms need some TLC. Looking forward to watching The Hotel next year as the Cavendish are to be featured on it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed here on a 4 day deal and were very pleasantly surprised at the old fashioned charm of the place. We were told that it was going to be quiet because there were not many guests staying that week, and that was indeed the case, but that in itself meant that the service, especially in the dining room, was very personal. The serving staff went out of their way to make sure everything was as required and nothing was too much trouble for them, the food was very tasty and all served with a smile and witty banter.
Okay, the rooms may not be large, and parts of the hotel could do with some TLC, but it was very clean, the water was very hot and the bed was comfortable.
We did not use the swimming pool so cannot comment on that from personal use, but another guest told us that it was very clean and warm and very enjoyable.
There was free parking at the front of the hotel and the fact that the bus stop was just across the road meant that we were able to travel around by bus and leave the car saving the cost of car parking.
We would definitely stay here again, especially if we managed to get another good deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We have stayed at this Hotel twice, and recently April and May, and remembering this is a two star Hotel it is remarkable value for money and facilities, the food is excellent and the service too. If there are requests and observations these are dealt with at once. Nothing is too much trouble for the Hotel Owners ( and their staff) , a Hotel family whose commitment is evident in their willingness to attend to guests every request. especially In this day and age with their costs going up, I don't know how they offer such value. It is outstanding in Torquay because so many local Hotels offering low prices to attract custom with resultant poor facilities and service.Thus so many are disappointed. This Hotel offers almost everything, including a clean well maintained Swimming Pool , sauna etc - We have stayed personally, and we are also organising an 85+ Person Navy Veterans stay in October. We have every confidence after adverse results in the past elsewhere in Torquay. Recently (May '13) as a family with young children ( baby too) we had an emergency in Torquay,. with a member of our family in Hospital. We turned up in the morning asking for breakfast and accommodation, and they were a refuge indeed, in our predicament. Laying on breakfast and rest immediately.We regularly attend Torquay for Theatre trips, and after finding this Hotel, we shall not be going elsewhere. Highly recommended.Looking forward to our Reunion in October too, now having had this double experience.
We have stayed Twice before in April and also May 2014.

Room Tip: It is a large Hotels with many rooms available, ask to see the rooms on offer,I am sure they will le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavendish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.