We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Cavendish Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cavendish Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cavendish Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 98 hotels in Torquay
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

We, and many others spent most of our holiday at this hotel vomiting. Worn out with illness, we were grateful to go home. The bedroom was grim and the bathroom vile. A bargain is no good if it makes you ill.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
We are sorry you had a disappointing holiday. Unfortunately, the illness was brought into the hotel by someone on your coach as it was only passengers on your coach that were poorly. We, cannot do anything about this I'm afraid and to blame the hotel is totally unfair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    91
    57
    30
    62
See reviews for
70
113
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Andover, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Went on an organised trip to the Cavendish, Torquay for 3 nights 13th Sept - 16th Sept. This trip was through David Urghuart travel, which was booked for 106 people by the chairlady of the South London Anglo Indian Association, which is a charity run organisation. All members of this association are pensioners, but are very lively who like having fun, listening and dancing to good music. After reading some of the reviews on tripadvisor previously before trip, did not know what to expect. When we arrived at the Cavendish we had a lovely welcome by the owner, who came on the coach and did say to all of us if we had any issues he would appreciate if would let them know, and not wait until we returned home. We were made very welcome by the reception staff who gave us our keys to our rooms. Our room was very clean, and the decor was not bad at all. The restaurant was also very clean, and our waiter "Simon" was really nice, chatty, great sense of humour, nothing was too much trouble for him. Food was also good, and did not have to wait too long to be served. Entertainment was also good, management did not know what to expect when they saw 106 pensioners in the entertainment hall. The commedian and singer on saturday 14 September was brilliant he kept us well entertained, and he was really surprised to see 106 pensioners on the dance floor rocking and rolling the night away. On Sunday 15 September our planned trip to "Brixham" was cancelled due to bad weather, but once again the management allowed our committee members of the charity association to organise bingo, and other activities for the members of the club. The management also arranged lunch which the members of the club could buy if they wished. The staff worked very hard to ensure that every one got the meal they ordered, nothing was too much trouble for them. I completed the form that was left in the room, and whatever I have written here is exactly the same comments on the form handed into reception on the day of leaving. Also must say Martin our driver on our coach was brilliant, he also let us play bingo, and listen to all the cd's that was given to him by the chair lady of the South London Anglo Indian Association. Yes we will definately return to the Cavenish Hotel sometime in the near future. A big thank to the chairlady and the committee members of the South Anglo Indian Association for booking us into the Cavendish Hotel, and for the wonderful 3 days we had there.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed wonderful review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Cavendish and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Once again, Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I'll repeat that, it only £20 pppn including breakfast. Stayed here over bank holiday weekend. Yes the rooms could do with updating but the one's at the Grosvenor across the road are not much better and its considerably more expensive plus if they get updated they will obviously charge more.The communal areas are lovely as are all the staff. Breakfast was good, could do with being offered Brown or white toast instead of having to ask but standard of food and portions were excellent. Its in a great location close to all amenities and the centre of Torquay. My only criticism would be that the broken sunbeds by the pool need to be removed as they are lethal and let down the appearance of the pool area. And if the woman who was stood shouting and creating a scene in reception reads this, you should be ashamed of yourself. You clearly are deluded and think your Alex Polizzi. I could have taken your complaints more seriously about the hotel if I hadn't observed you and your family stuffing down the breakfast like food was about to be rationed only to complain and say you weren't going to pay your bill. I felt so sorry for the receptionist and it was totally unnecessary.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your review. I have passed your comments onto the Chef and Restaurant Manager regarding brown toast. Also broken lounger removed. For your information, we have just redecorated and re-carpeted 5 rooms and have another 20 planned over the winter, so we will keep trying but as you saw we can't please everyone.
Once Again, Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dagenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel was terrible, we did not sleep a wink because of all the noise and the spring came right through the mattress so it had to be changed for the next night, upon doing so we fortunately took our personal expensive belongings with up as we returned to find our door wide open and waited half a hour before a porter returned only to apologise in a half hearted manor. The rooms were filthy and also so were the enticing swimming pools on the website lol. We left before the second night so we lost £75.00 but could not face another night there.

Room Tip: Will not happen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Came here with a tour bus. Having read less than enthusiastic reviews, we were delighted to find they were far from accurate. The room was comfortable and kept spotlessly clean. The food was tasty, there was always several choices and the staff went out of their way to cheerfully accommodate every whim. While refurbishment would not go amiss in the pool area, on the whole the hotel was well maintained and efficiently run. The location is very handy for the seafront . Our taster of Torquay and the Cavendish has left us keen to return.

Room Tip: Ours was first floor with a view - albeit a little far - of the cruise ships in the bay. It was easy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

Went to the canendish in june. We enjoyed it that much we decided to go back for a week and that was 24/8 - 31/8. Firstly, would like to thank Mike for booking us both in and welcoming us back.
The room was spacious and very, very clean.
The food is still very good and very hot - we read the previous reviews about there not being baked beans on the full english breakfast and it does show the management take the reviews very seriously - so now you get baked beans every morning.
Pool area was lovely to sit around and the pool was clean and inviting.
We would like to thank all the staff for there professional attitude and the way you are made very welcome - nothing is too much trouble to them all and that is what makes a good.holiday. A big thank you to Simon who was our waiter at meal - you could not wish for a more polite person. Then theres loveable, laughable Paul - he gets all the guest laughing.
Many, many thanks once again to all the Cavendish staff for a great week and the weather was fab aswell.
M&B Gascoigne (mr &mrs2013)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy R, Owner at Cavendish Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We have passed your kind comments to all our hardworking staff.
Once again, Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

did not injoy my 3 day stay had to change rooms both rooms were bad the first room was wright out side the lifts ...second room was noisey with a big kichen extractor fan and the decor was 1940s need up dateing ....the swimming pools were so drity that my daughter didt want to swim.....so i would not recommend it .....

Room Tip: do not recommend the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cavendish Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavendish Hotel

Address: Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 98 hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavendish Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family-run two-star hotel only 400 m from the sea front and ten minutes from town. We have excellent facilities and nightly entertainment, our rates are very competitive and a large number of regular guests come back to us year after year. Groups and individuals welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Cavendish Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavendish Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavendish Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.