We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Does not live up to brochure description” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Lawn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Save
You added Abbey Lawn Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 95 Hotels in Torquay
Tarleton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Does not live up to brochure description”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

I spent 5 days with my husband at Abbey Lawn April 23rd 2012.We booked this hotel for the indoor pool and spa facilities. There is no Spa facilities the area of the indoor pool and Gym is in a mess broken tiles dirty floors rotted wood on the SAUNA DOORS rusty shower rail no-one on duty..The outdoor pool was filthy, surrounding area of the pool was strewn with debris dirty tables and chairs broken loungers. We paid extra for a pool view room.Our room opens out onto this site.There is a gate that is kept open it is used for access to a path to take you to Torquay centre which means anyone can wander around the grounds making the ground floor rooms vunerable. This hotel is in need of refurbishment and should not be AA 3 star. There is a lot of health & safety issues that need to be addressed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    45
    18
    11
    8
See reviews for
18
64
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This was our third booking at the Abbey Lawn hotel with Robinsons coach tours. It has been over two years since we last stayed there, but standards at the hotel are even better than on our last visit. The staff are excellent and nothing seems too much trouble. We paid, this time, for a room upgrade and a sea view. The room was newly furnished with a basket of fresh fruit and bottled water replaced when necessary. We dont often return to hotels and the same destination, but we feel we will be returning again to the Abbey Lawn.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford w.yorks
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

We visited thAbbey Lawn again between the 13th and 17th February 2012. This is the 2nd time we have been at this time over the valantine day period. All the ladies were given roses, and we all were given a glass of bubbly at the evening meal. The Staff are fantastic, nothing is ever a problem, and they are all very experienced. Due to the fact all the staff were the same as last year, you can see that the management, run a happy hotel.

The hotel is very clean, our room was very comfortable, clean is decorated to an excellent standard. We were in the premier room on the 2nd floor room 213, I really recommend this room, as you can see the bay, and overlook the outside pool. This would be more of a benefit, in the summer when the pool is open.

The food was excellent, loads of choice, and where someone said there is lots of or,s if you wanted a fruit juice, and a cereal, as well as your full english, and toast, this was not a problem. If you wanted more Toast, or beverages, the waiters were happy to help.

The bar and the entertainment were fantastic, the drinks are very reasonable, they are as cheap as local bars. The only way the drinks would be regarded as expensive, was if you compaired them to a working mens club.

The gym is very well socked with equipment, and is generally very quiet, so is the indoor pool, sauna and steam room, Which I visited on a daily basis, The hotel provide the towels from Reception.

We visited the Abbey lawn on a Robinsons coach Holiday the Driver Allan, was fantastic and a credit to the company. He is very pleasant, and always kept us entertained, and his knowledge of the area is 2nd to none.

Overall the holiday was such value for money, you almost felt embarressed at to how little you paid, for the excellent services you received.

A big thank you to Barry and Heidi, Randall and Kate, and not forgetting Scott the barmen.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: 2nd floor front facing premier rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a lovely mid week break with my husband and his 80 yr old parents,the rooms were very spacious, we had a sea veiw which also looked onto the tennis courts and outdoor pool.The dinning room is set out perfectly with a lot of home comforts,there is a lovely cosy bar, a huge entertainment room seperate from the bar.

Room Tip: We had a sea veiw on a high floor which was beatiful,they do have a lift which gets busy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Abbey Lawns is an older hotel in Torquay. We went there for a weekend on a coach trip with Hemmings coaches. The coach and driver were excellent.
We paid a small supplement on the cost to get a sea view room. Ours was on the second floor and had a very good sea view across the tennis courts etc. The room itself was large and comfortable, it had high ceilings and had no exetrnal noises intruding, due, I think, to the quite thick walls. The en suite bathroom was adequate and the shower over the bath was pretty powerful and had plenty of hot water. The only things wrong with the room were that the windows were painted shut and the floor boards were squeaky.
We had bed and breakfast and evening meal as part of our weekend. The meal times were very regimented with breakfast at 08.30 and dinner at 18.30., due, I suppose, to the 51 of us on the coach. The meals were served, in our case, by a cheerful waiter. On the breakfast menu there were a lot of 'ors'. Fruit juice or cerial or kippers or etc. The choice was then served plated. At breakfast we had to order our dinner for the evening. For dinner the meat was served plated and a selection of vegetables was supplied on the side.
We did find the bar prices slightly elevated.
In the evening entertainment was provided and on both evenings we found the acts very entertaining. The act on the second night has been chosen as a contestant on Britains Got Talent this year (2012). He was heading for the Birmingham auditions after the show.
Over all, we found the whole weekend was very good value for money, a comfortable hotel with very good facilities, ie an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, a small gymnasium, a steam room and a sauna. We would have no hesitation in reccommending both Hemmings coaches and Abbey Lawn hotel.

Room Tip: pay a little extra to get a sea view room especially on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

lovely lounge and ballroom found both mangers very polite and lovely guidedog holly the spaniel lovely clean bedroom bonus with a sea view good varid meals defintly go back

Room Tip: sea view on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have been to this hotel three times now for New Year. Barry, Heidi and the gang welcome you back and treat you as part of their family. The hotel is in a quiet spot but an enjoyable walk along the beach isn't far away and 5 mins from the town centre. This management team will ensure you have everything you need for a pleasant, relaxing holiday. All you have to do is ask! Relaxing and stress free, an easy way to wind down from the stresses of every day life.

Room Tip: Over the front is quiet and lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Lawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lawn Hotel

Address: Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#36 Family Hotel in Torquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lawn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Abbey Lawn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Lawn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.