We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“coach trip midweek” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Lawn Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Lawn Hotel
Save
You added Abbey Lawn Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“coach trip midweek”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

We had a lovely mid week break with my husband and his 80 yr old parents,the rooms were very spacious, we had a sea veiw which also looked onto the tennis courts and outdoor pool.The dinning room is set out perfectly with a lot of home comforts,there is a lovely cosy bar, a huge entertainment room seperate from the bar.

Room Tip: We had a sea veiw on a high floor which was beatiful,they do have a lift which gets busy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    49
    20
    11
    8
See reviews for
18
71
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Abbey Lawns is an older hotel in Torquay. We went there for a weekend on a coach trip with Hemmings coaches. The coach and driver were excellent.
We paid a small supplement on the cost to get a sea view room. Ours was on the second floor and had a very good sea view across the tennis courts etc. The room itself was large and comfortable, it had high ceilings and had no exetrnal noises intruding, due, I think, to the quite thick walls. The en suite bathroom was adequate and the shower over the bath was pretty powerful and had plenty of hot water. The only things wrong with the room were that the windows were painted shut and the floor boards were squeaky.
We had bed and breakfast and evening meal as part of our weekend. The meal times were very regimented with breakfast at 08.30 and dinner at 18.30., due, I suppose, to the 51 of us on the coach. The meals were served, in our case, by a cheerful waiter. On the breakfast menu there were a lot of 'ors'. Fruit juice or cerial or kippers or etc. The choice was then served plated. At breakfast we had to order our dinner for the evening. For dinner the meat was served plated and a selection of vegetables was supplied on the side.
We did find the bar prices slightly elevated.
In the evening entertainment was provided and on both evenings we found the acts very entertaining. The act on the second night has been chosen as a contestant on Britains Got Talent this year (2012). He was heading for the Birmingham auditions after the show.
Over all, we found the whole weekend was very good value for money, a comfortable hotel with very good facilities, ie an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, a small gymnasium, a steam room and a sauna. We would have no hesitation in reccommending both Hemmings coaches and Abbey Lawn hotel.

Room Tip: pay a little extra to get a sea view room especially on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

lovely lounge and ballroom found both mangers very polite and lovely guidedog holly the spaniel lovely clean bedroom bonus with a sea view good varid meals defintly go back

Room Tip: sea view on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I have been to this hotel three times now for New Year. Barry, Heidi and the gang welcome you back and treat you as part of their family. The hotel is in a quiet spot but an enjoyable walk along the beach isn't far away and 5 mins from the town centre. This management team will ensure you have everything you need for a pleasant, relaxing holiday. All you have to do is ask! Relaxing and stress free, an easy way to wind down from the stresses of every day life.

Room Tip: Over the front is quiet and lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford w.yorks
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

What a fantastic holiday we had, we stayed in February 2011, for 5 days over valantines day. The rooms were fabulous front facing, spotless clean, and all new furnicture. We had a bed which was 6ft wide, and so comfy. The management & staff was and absolute credit to the hotel, We have never been made so welcome, before in a hotel. The food was fantastic, and plenty full, I am quite a big eater, and I was more than full every meal time. The food was quality, so much so I do not know how they do it for the price. As it was a special weekend. we got a free glass of wine with every evening meal, and on Valantines day, we all had a glass of bubbly, and all the women, got an individual packed red rose. This made the holiday extra special, and probably why the coach is nearly full already for next year. We are going again next year at the same time, which I cannot wait for.

Heidi and Barry were the perfect hosts, along with assistant management team of randall and Kate. The staff are all really friendly, and will do anything to make your stay a happy one.

The swimming pool and Gym, are well maintained and are excellent facilties, they even provide you with towels, which is great, so keeps the luggage down. The entertainment is really good, I cannot quite remember the main act, but he had come from one of the local Theater's and he was superb. He could sing, tell really funny clean jokes, and he memorised every persons name in the lounge area, a rough guess 60 people.

I struggle to think how people can write a bad word about this hotel, I can appreciate that people are entitled to have their own opinion. But to say this hotel punches above its weight is an under statement, for quality and value for money. Also just a few words to people who have wrote bad words about the management, again you can have your opinion, but they are really nice people, and I have only met them once.

Room Tip: Front facing premier room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Just returned from this Hotel, and it was very much in need of renovation. The room I had was very small around 7ft wide and very battered furniture and old blankets rather than Duvets on the bed which you would expect in this day and age. Although functional everything was indeed very basic. The food also was very cheap and cheerfull, ie Scampi, Lasagna, Meat & Potato Pie, etc. The one night the Menu sounded better Roast Beef & Yorkshire Pudding, etc I think the Roast Potatoe's & Yorkshire Puddings would have been better used to make a Rockery for the Garden than for Dinner as they were so hard one could'nt bite them. It was more like Pub Grub than a Hotel Menu. The Entertainment was acceptable but aimed more at the Elderly Clientille, more of a singalong and sequence dance type music, ok I suppose if your pushing 90. They also charge a supplement for a front view supposedly of the Sea, but the Sea is actually about a mile away from the Hotel, and how they could warrant charging a suppliment for a room this small and battered beats me. I for one definately wont return or at least not before it undergoes a major refurbishment, and changes the Chef.

Room Tip: Dont book a single room, nor pay a front facing suppliment. These rooms are on a par with Dog Kennel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

We have just come back from a great week at Abbey Lawn Hotel Everyone was so good to us The meals were Excellent and our waiter Steve made sure we have everything we needed and the food was really hot and well The room was cleaned everyday and done mostly while we were having our breakfast It was so nice to come back to a beautiful clean after breakfast We went with Robinson's and our coach Driver Allan was just great so thank you all for a great holiday

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey Lawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lawn Hotel

Address: Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lawn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Also Known As:
Abbey Lawn Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Lawn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.