We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent turkey and tinsel break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Torbay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Torbay Hotel
Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
£10 A NIGHT DEALS!
Ranked #61 of 97 hotels in Torquay
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“excellent turkey and tinsel break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

a lovely stay Place tastefully decorated for Christmas with background music. lots of extras for Turkey and Tinsel breaks.. Staff welcoming and helpful. All areas very comfortable. All areas clean and kept clean. Food very good with plenty of choice. . Entertainment very good, although starts a little late. One minor drawback - there is only one lift leading to long waits when 3 coaches come in together!
Well done!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hi Olivia s Thank you for your review of your stay with us at the Torbay and I am glad that you had a Merry Xmas. Its good that you found everything to your liking including the food. I hope that you will return again and enjoy another holiday at the Torbay soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    75
    129
    59
    23
    27
See reviews for
52
166
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We booked a last minute room here and stayed on the 17th November in room 221 - the building itself is nice, very good staff and down stairs was well decorated. Was a bit disappointed with the room though, the bottom half of the bed was broken, we ended up having to put the duvet cover under the mattress (which was well worn) just to keep our feet at the same level as our heads.
Really wouldn't have harmed to give it a lick of paint as well, flaking off round the door frame in the toilet and the sash window was half rotten. I did look in a room facing the sea when walking past and would say these looked much nicer, so would recommend you paying the extra for one of these rooms if you were to stay but for the money we paid, i.e. £60, travel lodge/premier inn would have much more up to date furnishings (hopefully)

Room Tip: Go for the premium rooms facing the sea front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Hi Dan s and thank you for posting a review of your stay. I am glad that you found many parts of the hotel to be satisfactory and I will look into your comments regarding the bedroom. We do refurbish many of our rooms each year, but with having over 100 bedrooms, it does take us a little time to get around them all. hopefully if you return you can try one of our new bay plus rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

(Stayed 7-11th Nov 2013)
We have been going on Shearing holidays for the past 15 years and this is the first time we have been on a ''Turkey and Tinsel'' weekend. It certainly won't be the last. We would just like to say a big Thank you to all the staff for a very welcoming weekend. There is nothing we can fault about this hotel. Our room was fantastic. It over looked the harbor. It was lovely and clean and a good size. The food was lovely, especially the Christmas dinner. The Christmas pudding was too die for!
The entertainment was very good, Everyone enjoyed the singing and dancing.
My only complaint is that we didn't get wine with our Christmas dinner - You owe us one for next time!- And there will certainly be a next time.
Thank you all once again for everything, The staff and management are a credit to this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105 that over looked the harbor. There is no fitness center and we didn't use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you patadpete 18 for your wonderful review of your stay at the Torbay. After 15 years of travelling with us, its good to hear that your holiday was as enjoyable as the others that you have had. I shall pass on your comments to the staff and especially Elaine our head chef who will be delighted to know that she has filled you up. We look forward to your next visit here or at one of our other hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

On a Shearings 5 day mini break. Bags efficiently and quickly brought to our rooms on arrival. Check in organised and prompt. Room 316, front facing (sea and Torquay Eye [wheel] though view obscured by large trees. Most rooms would be similar as the trees were very old. Great room, clean and kept clean, comfortable bed, added bonus of a third bed in an adjoining room (not needed), but great for families. Though on main road, no noise so no early mornings with commuter traffic. Bliss. Great full sized bath, overhead shower etc etc. Heated towel rail. Spacious.
Food good, lots of choice. Enough to suit all palettes. Not gourmet style, but for the price we paid how could it be. Good quality though. Portions on the small side, but absolutely no problem bringing more if you asked for it. Bearing in mind the amount of elderly there it made sense for smaller more manageable portions. It was no hardship to ask for more. Food always hot.
Waitress efficient, though extremely rushed. The same table was reserved for you all week, so no queuing for tables or waiting around.
Entertainment is what you'd expect from what is predominantly a coach hotel. However, it was entertaining, the chap tried very hard to invve people without pressure and did a good job. Different every night and bingo (with good prizes too) nightly.
Bar perfectly acceptable, average prices.
Now, this is a large hotel with only one lift, holding around 6 passengers. This, in my opinion is a massive downfall on its part. A large percentage of the clientele are elderly and need to use it. The wait can be an age. Also on the morning of leaving, we were not allowed to use the lift between 7 and 8am to facilitate bages being moved by the porters. Breakfast was earlier to avoid rushing, yet the lift was not able to be used. I know this caused a problem for many guests I spoke to. Not the staff's fault, but come on Shearings. Do something about this!
The hotel is still in need of work. The rear bar toilets left a lot to be desired and there was an area of ceiling in the rear bar that was leaking when raining, directly to where people sit. The ceiling was in a poor condition. The lighting throughout the connubial areas was poor, quite dimmed (even when the lights were on) so sitting with a newspaper to re as was difficult as not able to see well with poor eyesight. Everyone tried to get window seats. Speaking of newspapers. You can ask the reception to order and keep for you, a paper everyday. They also sell a selection.
I really cannot fault this hotel overall. Excellent value for money. Did what it should, staff tried really hard and generally with a smile. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you Annie11 for posting a review of your recent stay with us at the Torbay and I am glad that you enjoyed many aspects of the hotel, including your room, the food and the service that you received form the staff that you came into contact with. We do have the one lift bit we do find that on most occasions it is more than suitable but it can get busy when everyone wants to use it at the same time . I hope that it did not inconvenient you too much though. I will look into your comments regarding a leak and the other areas mentioned, we also have recently refurbished our public areas which we hope improves the ambience of the hotel. It is always pleasing to hear that you will return and we look forward to it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Having read some of the pervious reviews I wonder if they have stopped at the same hotel ? The room we stayed in (105) was clean and very roomy with a good view of the seafront. Although the room was facing directly onto the main road there was little or no noise coming through the windows which made for a great nights sleep. The food was adequate especially for what we had paid, the waiter service was excellent both in the restaurant and sack bar. Couldn't find fault with anything about this hotel (We did stop in the same hotel last year and know that it has had some refurbishments including new carpets throughout the lounge). Overall a very enjoyable stay in a clean, welcoming hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the front facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you Margaret M for your review of your holiday at the Torbay. I am very happy that you enjoyed yourself with us, especially pleasing is that you would come back again. I will pass on your comments to all concerned on how you were well looked after and we will look forward to hopefully a third visit from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

This was our 2d visit to this hotel.The room we were given had a view of the big wheel which at night was lit up and gave a fantastic show.Our oom was warm and very clean.The room facilities were ist class.All the staff were polite and helpful.The food was great and service was faultless.We will certainly go back.Thanks to everyone.

Room Tip: we have stayed at the rear and front and found both ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Hi darelynmick, Thanks for taking the time to post a review and I am glad that your second visit to us is even better than your first. The wheel is a great addition to the bay and its good that you liked it. Also thanks for your kind words regarding the rest of your stay, its always nice to hear when people enjoy their holiday with us. All I can say is that we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Torbay Hotel for 3 nights in a single room. I paid £104 + £15 single supplement + £21 for front facing room + £15 for car parking, in total £155. The plus points were, excellent food, friendly staff, pleasant bar and sitting areas and evening entertainment. On the negative side, the parking was a good 10 minutes walk away and partly uphill, and the single room that I had, although clean was rather dull and dated.

However on the whole I would recommend the hotel as being value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at the Torbay and I am pleased that you enjoyed yourself with us, especially the food and the staff, it always good if you enjoy the bar too! hopefully we will see you once more in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 97 hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, ‘grand features in warm surroundings,’ and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities – the Premier and Superior rooms with sea views are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka “Rock Walk”) has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Torbay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.