We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“November weekend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Bay Torbay Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Torbay Hotel
Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
Ranked #55 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Bury, Lancashire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“November weekend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

Shearings 4 day break.
Excellent value, and service at both breakfast and dinner very efficient. would like to compliment our table waiter Robert.The food was also of good quality with a varied menu. Bar service also good.
Had front facing room, but unfortunately this was in need of re-furbishment , with the carpet looking rather tired. Otherwise the room was large, clean and serviced well.
The swimming pool really needs an upgrade, generally ok to swim but not a place to relax, due to lack of 'furnishings',the lighting also quite gloomy.
Having said all this, feel the holiday was of excellent value, would certainly visit again and would recommend to others

Room Tip: front facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
Thanbks for posting your review, Again, the food and service are being positively higlighted and I shall tell Robert how pleased you were with his service. The bar staff will be happy that you took advantage of the bar also. I wish more people would use the pool and we have taken note of the lighting and I can assure you on your next visit, the lighting will be better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    168
    84
    28
    35
See reviews for
70
223
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Totnes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My mum and niece have just enjoyed a fantastic value trip with Shearings to the Torbay Hotel. The sea front location of this hotel was brilliant for shops and local attractions. The local bus stop was right outside which meant it was an easy commute from Totnes and Paignton. My niece was also able to enjoy an evening jog along the well lit seafront. So this holiday is not just for oldies! The staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean with a great view. The food was excellent and mum especially enjoyed the vegetarian options. It was served quickly and with a smile. She is definately planning a return trip.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
I am so happy that your mum and niece had a fantastic stay, The location is very good for all of Torquay and I am also pleased that they enjoyed so many aspects of their holiday. I remember your niece jogging - I wonder if she did manage to run to Paignton and back? see them both soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This was my first trip with Shearings. I read all the negative reviews about this hotel before I arrived. All I can say is that they must be talking about a different hotel than the one I went to. The hotel was clean with cheerful and welcoming staff.
The breakfast was excellent and there was always about four choices for each of the three courses for the evening meal. Salad was always available and they catered for special diets. I admit that the main course was always on the small side but with a starter of soup and a roll and cheese and biscuits for afters I found it adequate.The waiters were courteous and helpful at all times. The evening entertainment was very good, quite a few guests enjoyed the dancing and Steve and Tamar were excellent and made sure the guests enjoyed themselves. I would definitely go back to this hotel, I loved the location on the sea front and near to the shops and excellent bus service just outside.

Room Tip: I liked being in the room at the front but you could be disturbed by traffic noise if you are not us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
I am very pleased to see that your first holiday with Shearings and the Torbay hotel was such a pleasing one. It is alweays nice to see that throughout the hotel there were so many aspects you enjoyed> I look forward tro seeing you back again sometime soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LINCOLN
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Having just returned from a stay at this hotel i have a word of warning to all elderly or disabled thinking of staying at this hotel don't. Because despite what Shearings might say it has no facillities for disabled people.
The lift is far to small and this means in the evening you should expect a ten to fifteen minute wait before you can get down to the lobby.
The Hotel is Old, Decrepited and is clearly showing it's age, it needs to be shut down and rebuilt.
Some of the Staff are pig ignorant and could't give a toss about your welfare, so Don't be brain washed by the good reports on this website and stay clear of this Hotel or be very disappointed,YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Room Tip: Don't Book into this Hotel or you will be Sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2011
I guess you can't please all the people all the time! I'm sorry that you feel that way about your stay with us, but i'm glad there are so many other happy satisfied customers who have posted their own balanced view
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

The first impression of this hotel was that it needs refurbing badly !
The room was filthy. Cobwebs hanging from the celing above both beds and around the light fittings.
Behind the bathroom door didn't look as if it had been cleaned for some time. It was thick with dirt and old talcumpowder, which was also on the door.
I had to clean the bath myself before i could use it.
Ther was no shower.
The windows were filthy.
There is only one lift which is rediculous !
The redeeming factors are Robert the waiter. He was wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble.He smiled all the time and made us feel valued and welcome.
Also the coach driver/tour guide, Mike was very knoledgeable and made the trips interesting.
He too smiled all the time and very funny.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
I am sorry that we did not seem to meet your expectations on this break,but am surprised that you thought the hotel needs refurbishment when we have recently had some major works to the public areas which have been met with many positive comments from others. I will pass on your comments to Robert, who you mention was very helpful to you while you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

What a wonderful week i have just had with my family at the Torbay Hotel. Comfortable room facing the fountain, lovely hot meals and lots of choice, great trips out during the day and really great entertainment at night. We can't understand the negative reviews, what you get is amazing considering the price. We have already booked for next year and hope that the same great team of people are there when we arrive.
Great Job!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
Thanks for having a lovely stay and thanks for all your wonderful comments. The best compliment we can get is from guests who enjoy themselves that much that they want to come back. I and the team look forward to seeing you again next year, and hopefully we will all still be here to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth uk
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
228 helpful votes 228 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

having now visited 7 of shearings hotels and been totally amazed, was somewhat disappointed with torbay. on entering the hotel the first thing you see is a heavily stained cahir lift going into the restraunt area! food was adequate and room was basic and clean, entertainment was late and of poor quality. wont be back sorry.

Room Tip: try THL further up the road much more fun , cleaner and better facillities such as aztec swim and sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2011
I am surprised that you were disappointed. We get such wonderful responses from our guests, especially regarding the food. We do have a full entertainment package each night, which is usually well received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, ‘grand features in warm surroundings,’ and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities – the Premier and Superior rooms with sea views are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka “Rock Walk”) has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Torbay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.