We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay at the Torbay Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bay Torbay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bay Torbay Hotel to your Saves list
Bay Torbay Hotel
Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Manchester
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay at the Torbay Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Had a very enjoyable five day break at this Hotel. Our room was just a standard front facing bedroom and it was fabulous. This room was large, clean, extremely comfortable and well worth the extra supplement we paid. The food in particular was well presented, always hot and with a great choice. The staff were extremely helpful and polite and the indoor heated pool was a bonus. It was lovely and warm at all times. I would have no hestitation recommending this hotel and we shall definitely be back in 2012.

Room Tip: Choose a front facing bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Dear GW -Yam, Thanks for posting a fantastic review. It is so good to hear such positive comments from our guests. You are confirming what so many others have said, that our food and friendly staff are what make your holidays special. I really must use that pool myself, you've made it appealing!! It will be great to see you next year, why wait though? come back sooner if you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    146
    74
    27
    35
See reviews for
62
193
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2011

On arrival the fronatge looked dirty and worn, ciggarrette ends littered the front of the hotel, paint flaking from the walls.
Reception area clean and tidy, promt check in but not very friendly.
Room outdated , windows were very dirty and hard to open and close. The view was the worst I have seen in any establishment- a brick wall, with ciggarette ends outside the window where someone had been having s crafty fag!.
Bathroom was clean but had a sickly odour, shower ok, complimentary toiletries consisted of two tiny bars of soap.
Beds were very hard, curtains didn`t shut properly. The room was clean and tidy though and beds always made on our return to the room at tea time.
Pool ok, changing rooms delightful.
Only one lift but not a real problem.
Drinks, bar staff and entertainment V good. Everything stopped at 11pm just like a grave yard.
Waiter service in restaraunt very good, food was at times awful but adequate. There was always something in cheese sauce, deep fried, the meat dishes left alot to e desired, bread and butter pudding was disasterous.
Breakfast was ok ish very small portions,cold toast but nice hot tea and coffee.
The girl on the coffee after evening meal couldn1t wait to get away and would come and ask if we required hot drink whilst we were still eating`

The staff at the bar and restaruant(Lewis and Meg) very helpful about local nightlife and were always chatty and friendly.

Position of the hotel was excellent, could be a spectacular hotel if attiention to detail was looked at.
Din`t complain as we only paid £210.00 each for Mon-Fri half board + entertainment and excursions and travel.
At the end of the day you get what you pay for !

Room Tip: complain !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

this was our first Shearings holiday and didn't know what to expect.. 5 day break April 25th .. feeder coach from Basildon to London Gateway was comfy, and we got on our main coach earlier than scheduled. brilliant driver Mike, made the journey enjoyable, has a great sense of humor that kept you informed every step of the way.
Hotel is a lovely old building full of character, we were in room 214 on second floor the second biggest on this level front facing, yes was noisy at night but its in the center of Torquay (what do you expect) but didn't bother us too much, the only downside was the view was obscured by trees, but again was still a lovely view.. room was clean, tidy and comfy. Dinning room was really nice, tables could of been a bit bigger for four people and was nice that your put with other people was good to have some one to talk to, the couple we sat with were also in front of us on the coach and were a great couple, Dave and Betty.. Food was lovely good choice and cooked great... Meg our waitress couldn't fault her at all was hard working and very friendly.
The hotel is an old building and would cost a fortune to re-furb, it didn't smell and wasn't dirty totally full of character if you want somewhere that is modern and all rooms looking the same then go to a travel in...... this hotel is brilliant., def worth a visit..

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
I am so glad your first holiday with us was a such a good one. Mike has some great banter to keep people entertained, he always has plenty to say.The hotel does has some great character to it and it is in a prime location. Its nice that you made some new friends while you were here and that Meg was as friendly as ever. I hope we see you at the Torbay again and we have 50 other hotels you may wish to try. have a look at our website for a lot more holiday choices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

Hello all,
Well what I can say about the Torbay hotel.... after reading previous reviews I was a bit shocked!

Me and my partner stayed at the Torbay hotel over this April Bank holiday, only coming back tonight 25th April 2011, Stayed at the hotel for 3 nights and had a Brilliant time.
Location of the Hotel is very good, we stayed in the Superior room and was really nice, we had a lovely view of the harbour and the shops across it, the room was more modern then the standard room so it is good just paying that little extra.
Yes there was noise outside but you got to remember you’re in the centre of Torbay and I managed to sleep like a rock anyway so it was fine.

The staff we would like to say a massive thank you to.
The Hotel staff were great, our waiter Lewis was brilliant and made us laugh and put us to easy as we was the only youngest couple. (Mid 20’s)
in the hotel there are a lot of the older generation their which is quite nice but also a bit of a down fall, it would be good to have the younger mid 20s in the hotel as well just to mix up the atmosphere.

The Hotel was half board which help a lot due to there was not that much food we could eat due to being vegetarians, all there was outside to eat was pizza and pasta and pub food which can get boring on a daily bases.
The dinner in the hotel was good but needs more than 1 vegetarian option, but other than that it was fine, breakfast was nice fry up every morning, tasty especially if you have had a late night, the breakfast times are 8.30 - 9.30 maybe they should bring it up till 10am.
So you get that little bit of a lie in as you are on a holiday.

The Location of the hotel was good had the arcades just round the corner to keep the little and big kids amused! The shops and beach just around the corner and the railway Torquay station is not far at all.

The Taxi driver are also very friendly as well and do help out a lot in where to go and what to visit and the prices for the taxi is not bad at all comparing it to London.
For example the bus cost £5per person for a day travel but the bus take a long time to get to the destinations you require as mostly the roads are a one way system.
We went to Paignton Zoo it cost £12 just to go to the zoo by taxi which wasn’t bad due to on the bus it would have taken approx 1hr ½ and it was a bit of a way from Torbay as well, around 20mins by taxi so paying £12 was reasonable.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
I am glad that you focussed on the positive posts, rather than the few negatives and that you found out what a great time could be had here. Its good that young people enjoy themselves as well as the over 50's, the location really helps. I am happy that the breakfast fry ups helped after a late night out, It always works for me too. you'll see from other reviews that the food and staff are a major factor in the holiday enjoyment here at the Torbay and I am happy that you found the food to your liking too and particularly that Lewis was a source of entertainment. well see you again soon I hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2011

Shearings Coach holiday to the Torbay hotel. We had a triple standard room on 4th floor at the rear of the hotel. Room was large and clean decor and furniture average. The room looked on to the kitchens and cliff . We didnt have theproblems of the traffic noise that bothered some people in front rooms. Meals were good and the service and waiter was good.
The best thing about the hotel is the location near the harbour and shops, bus stop outside hotel for Brixham Paighnton Exeter etc.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, General Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Dear topseyr5, thanks for your views, it really is pleasing to find so many people who enjoy their stay here at the Torbay, especially once more with the quality of the food and the service form the staff being highlighted. We are in a great location and as yoy say, the bus stops are very handy for getting around
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Just returned froma 3 day self drive break. The location of the hotel is superb, really close to the harbour and town. car park is a bit of a trek and the lack of parking in front of the hotel makes loading/unloading luggage difficult.
Can't fault the quality of the food - what do people expect for such a good price. The service was superb - a special mention of Kaspar our waiter. We went out at night as community entertainment is not really our thing but people seemed to enjoy it.
Unfortunately there are a few negatives. Our room was on the 4th floor and you needed to be pretty fit to manage the stairs! Fortunately we are, but noticed that many of the other guests were struggling with one very old, very slow lift - ridiculous in a hotel of this size! Our room seemed to be clean,apart from the very musty smell in the bathroom which seemed to emanate fom the shower curtain. Again on a mobility issue, how anyone elderly or infirm could be expected to climb into that bath to take a shower defeats me! The lack of any toiletries,apart from very poor quality soap,wasdisappointing. You also have to be a contortionist to reach the toilet roll!
Good quality bathrooms can be found in budget hotels - check out a Travelodge - but not this one.
One other small gripe - why do hotels inside on putting three quarter beds in rooms and calling them doubles?
Sorry if this ounds very negative. Generalyy we were pleasantly impressed with many aspects and had a good time.

Room Tip: Get fit
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Having checked TripAdvisor before booking this hotel, decided to go ahead and after receiving the tickets from Shearings phoned to upgrade to a Superior room which proved to be a big mistake..... would have been better staying in a standard rear facing room. The coach trip from Yorkshire could have been more comfortable in that we were allocated one of the older buses in their fleet at 8yrs old - very noisy and certain things not working. On arrival at the hotel was allocated room 102 on the 1st floor directly above the restaurant - NB room 100 is adjoining and is a standad room for the similar size but does have a separate shower whereas 102 doesn't. Both rooms overlook the roundabout and are subject to noise throughout the night. First night was disturbed by road noise and party revellers between 2am and 5am! - non-stop - impossible to sleep as only single glazing which did not block out the sounds. Hotel staff not interested in resolving sleep problems so beware if you are allocated room 102 - it should not be classed as a superior room with an extra suplement. Noise was a problem each night so the weekend proved to be the opposite of what was anticipated - lack of sleep and long journies proved to be too much and you end up returning home anything but refreshed.... in fact you need another holiday to recover, although the experience does put you off travelling with Shearings again! Shearings also adopt some unfamiliar ways with regard to hotel dining - i.e. the restaurant has many empty tables all set for diners, but they insist on seating you at a table where there are other guests already dining, who you do not know - aparently you have to stipulate that you wish to sit alone if you don't want to share with strangers!! The food is not of a good standard and is served to you by non-UK nationals waiting staff who have a problem with understanding english, Eggs in particular are not cooked in a good way and other food is overcooked & hard. We were told not to expect too much and we wouldn't be disappointed and if we had only paid £99 per person for a 3 night weekend then maybe we could agree, but after upgrading and paying almost as much again, then the weekend was not value for money and in hindsight we would have been better booking into a nearby Travellodge. Beward the Torbay is right on the roadside and nearby clubs and pubs so is subject to a lot of noise; there are other hotels at the opposite end of the bay who do not front directly onto the road and would be better, alternatively a B&B around the back would be also a quieter option. Obviously there are rooms in the hotel that are quieter - being allocated one of these is just the luck of the draw!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonWMurray, Manager at Bay Torbay Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2011
Thank you for posting a review of your recent weekend stay with us. I am sorry if the noise from the surrounding town area caused you a sleepless weekend.We are on the main seafront of Torquay and therefore there can be some noise from people passing by the hotel. If you had brought it to our attention, we would have tried to move you to alternate accomodation if available, so you could have had a good nights sleep. Our superior rooms are popular with guests as there are added advantages that are not available in the standard rooms. Room 100 while a standard large room has a shower only and does not have the benefit of a bath as well, which your superior room does.
With regards to our Restaurant table allocations. We do fit all of our guests into the restaurant and find that our guests do enjoy meeting with and talking to other guests over dinner, however if you had required a table on your own, one would have gladly been made available to you.
We do have a number of non Uk nationals working for us, but they are trained and extremely efficient and will do their best to accommodate any request that you may have. I am sorry if you did not find the food to your liking and I will check o the comments you made regarding the standard of it.
If you wish to discuss any aspect of your hoilday directly with me, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel, and I hope that you do come and visit us again, I would gladly help with any specific requests that you may have, prior to your arrival to ensure that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us.
Once again thank you for posting a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bay Torbay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Torbay Hotel

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 5EY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Right at the heart of beautiful Torquay, the Torbay Hotel benefits from stunning views over the lovely harbour. The hotel can be summed up as, ‘grand features in warm surroundings,’ and includes front-facing rooms with modern facilities – the Premier and Superior rooms with sea views are particularly desirable. It has a large ballroom, two bars, an indoor heated swimming pool and a sun terrace. The hotel is also within easy walking distance of the town centre’s shops, boutiques and restaurants. After two years of extensive restoration Royal Terrace Gardens (aka “Rock Walk”) has been returned to its former glory with a modern day twist. Located just next to the Torbay Hotel, Rock Walk offers spectacular views across the bay, and at night when it is beautifully lit up, it makes for the perfect evening stroll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Torbay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torbay Hotel Torquay
Bay Torbay Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bay Torbay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.