We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pick your holiday week.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Corbyn Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Corbyn Apartments to your Saves list
The Corbyn Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pick your holiday week.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

We always stay in May - just the two of us - and nowadays park the car for the week, travelling either on foot or using the excellent 'bus service. From the first floor there's always plenty of activity to be viewed along the Torbay Road and at this time of year closed windows and doors effectively quieten traffic noise. One reason for choosing these apartments is that the comfort level is first class. We appreciate the 'Brights of Nettlebed' furnishings and for instance during inclement weather we soak up that home-from-home feeling. But there are other reasons too, ranging from helpful and interested staff to easy vehicle accommodation and useful facilities and space within the building. Another attraction is the convenient Torbay location and the open space across the highway and between buildings giving rise to views either out to sea or around part of the bay. Our four hour inward journey is from Exeter direction so provisions are conveniently purchased near the destination and soon transferred to the apartment's adequate cool storage facilities. We regulate the visit to once a year only because of a fear of 'satisfaction saturation' if we came more often! This is definitely one of the weeks we look forward to in the year.

Room Tip: First floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
6
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We have just visited the Corbyn again for a 4 night break. We use the ground floor Wallace Suite which is very spacious, two bedrooms and two bathrooms, full size kitchen with washer/ dryer and dishwasher.
We travel with our adult son who has a phyisical disability and uses a wheelchair. The accomodation is suitable for wheelchair access and a portable hoist if you need one for transfers in and out of bed. We have a set of elephant feet which raises the bed just high enough from the floor to get the hoist underneath. The hall of the appartment is big enough to store the equipment during the day without being in the way.
As our son has significant care needs, we employed the services of Palm Home Care from Paignton who came into the appartment to help us. They were excellent and provided the assistance we needed to get him out of bed and back into bed in the evening.
Showering is the only issue but the pool area which is right next door to the appartment is fine if you have a shower chair on wheels or there is a static shower seat in the poolroom for anyone to use.
You can have a very comfortable holiday here when travelling with a disabled person with the addition of a flexible care service if required. The appartment would lend itself to having a two generation holiday with perhaps a couple taking an infirm parent/relative for a break.
The adjacent Corbyn Head Hotel and Livermead Cliff hotels both have wheelchair access as well as great views across the bay, lovely restaurants or bar meals. Staff in both hotels are very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There are other appartments here which are served by a lift and have fabulous views across the bay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We stayed in Lecomte a 5* apartment on the first floor. The accommodation was excellent, immaculately clean and everything you could think of - including a hot water bottle! The kitchen was very well stocked, to give you some idea of the level of detail it even had a rolling pin! The furnishings were comfortable and the apartment was spacious. However, the level of road noise was far too high for us and it was difficult to have any window open as the traffic was continuous as the apartment is on the main Torbay Road. In addition, although we didn't mind, the railway line runs across the back of the building and there is a lot of noise in the bedroom from passing trains at the rate of around once an hour. We also had a lot of noise between the 11pm and 2am from a family in the apartment upstairs. The children were playing on the balcony just outside our bedroom until 2am for two nights of our stay and when they went inside all we could hear was running around and jumping on and off beds. They were also cooking large and ongoing meals from 11pm too. We were told that they visit regularly and are not usually a problem. They apparently took no notice whatsoever of requests or complaints. It was such a pity as it meant that we lost two nights sleep out of a seven day stay. If they hadn't left then we were going too. If you have the right neighbours and don't mind road and rail noise then the apartments are excellent. I'm afraid we won't be returning because of the noise.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Brilliant to see The Corbyns on Tripadviser at last!! We have stayed here for probably the past 10 years and will be going back again this year.
Where to start? All of the accommodation at The Corbyn is 4 or 5* so expect it to be priced in that category. The appartments are tastefully decorated and furnished so home from home standard. Kitchens are all well equiped with washer/dryers and dishwashers etc. the position is good, a relatively flat walk into Torquay with fabulous views of the bay. Apartments on upper floors have panoramic views accross the bay. Situated next to he Corbyn Head Hotel so a choice of places to eat within walking distance. 10% reduction on all meals at the Corbyn Head (Habour View or Orchid Restaurants), Livermead House or Livermead Cliff (having a coffee or lunch on the sun terrace is a must).. We use the Wallace Suite which is situated on the ground floor and suitable for wheelchair users.
The pool area is really lovely with sauna and jacuzi. The swimming pool is always warm and you often have the pool area to yourself. There is a lovely children's indoor paly area with trainsets, rocking horses etc. Outside there is a ball pool in a small outbuilding - the children seem to have really good fun here. Sandpit available too.
The staff at The Corbyns are very friendly and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble for them.
There are bound to be downsides to all accomodation but these are relatively few - sited on a busy main road but great for buses etc. No outside sitting area but balconies in the penthouses and french doors to some of the apartments. If you are looking for s/c accommodation in Torquay ,The Corbyn is highly recomended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portlaoise, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

My husband and I and our 4 year old twin boys are just back from a fantastic 5 night stay in the Corbyn apartments. We stayed in The Harvey apartment with excellent sea views, lovely spacious rooms, all mod cons etc. We couldnt find any fault with these apartments. All the staff were so friendly and helpful. Our boys LOVED the pool and the kids playroom. Easy walk to the centre of Torquay or Preston and good bus links too. If we go back to Torquay we would definetly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheltenham
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay in" the Wallace" at Corbyn Apartments.The apartment was really spacious and right next to the pool which was very convenient.All the girls in reception were very friendly and helpful.The apartments are on the sea front and within walking distance to Torquay,Torre Abbey and several Hotels with restaurants if you don't feel like cooking or driving out to eat.There's plenty of attractions within a few miles.
We would have liked our beds a little more comfortable as they were rather hard,and we also would have liked the pool to have been open earlier to get a swim in before breakfast,but all in all it was a very relaxing break.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Corbyn Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Corbyn Apartments

Address: Torbay Road, Torquay TQ2 6RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Corbyn Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE CORBYN - 4 & 5 STAR APARTMENTS WITH GOLD AWARD FOR SERVICE. Uniquely designed, beautifully equipped serviced apartments established since 1993. Privately owned and managed with an established reception and housekeeping team. In an attractive seafront location with lift to all floors, indoor heated pool and leisure room and inclusive on site car parking. We take care to cater directly to the needs of all our guests whether you are a tourist on holiday, a business traveller tired of hotel living, or a corporate guest with extended stay needs while living and working temporarily in South Devon. The apartments are also just right for those times when you need space for visitors or to be out of your home due to insurance claims or need a place to stay while in between homes. Every apartment has: •Television in lounge and one bedroom •DVD player •CD player •Direct dial telephone •Chargeable Wi-Fi •Hairdryer •Cot and Highchair •Fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, microwave, washing machine/dryer, oven, hobb, fridge/freezer, toaster and kettle •Iron and ironing board •Bed linen and bath towels (changed every 4 days) •Complimentary Eco Boutique toiletries •Its own designated car parking space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Corbyn Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Corbyn Apartments Hotel Torquay
The Corbyn Apartments Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Corbyn Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.