We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ANOTHER EXCELLENT HOLIDAY AT THE KISTOR” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Kistor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kistor
Save
You added Hotel Kistor to your Saves list
Belgrave Rd, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ANOTHER EXCELLENT HOLIDAY AT THE KISTOR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Spent another lovely week at the Kistor Hotel recently. I have been visiting the Kistor at least once a year for about 10 years now and are still made very welcome. We were lucky as the weather was very kind to us - it was hot and sunny all day every day for a week. We therefore did not venture out of the area alot and just relaxed in the garden on several afternoons. Quiet and peaceful. The meals continue to be excellant and there is no excuse for anyone leaving the table hungry. Our waiter for the week was Bart. He was both professional and friendly and most certainly looked after us as usual.

Well done to Peter and Eileen as usual and looking forward to our next visit.

PS We do expect the same wonderful weather though Peter!! Ish!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, August 19, 2012
I have ordered great weather for your return visit, it's on hold til we know the dates! ish.
Thanks again for your kind words, I have passed on your compliments to our longest serving waiter Bart.
I hope you get some good weather at home before the end of summer. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    99
    27
    18
    20
See reviews for
42
71
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Just returned from our 2nd visit to the Kistor Hotel and once again I cannot praise it enough,as we were traveling with a coach company we rang the hotel with a couple of accomadation requests just in case the tour operator had not passed them on. I am pleased to say our needs were met in full so thankyou very much Elaine.Thankyou to all members of staff everyone of you had smiling faces and a willing attitude . Thankyou also to Peter for his unique bingo presentation.The hotel is very clean and rooms are very comfortable,as I said in the title of this review this is our second visit and we enjoyed it just as much as we did the first the food is very very good and even our grandaughter had no trouble at meal times as there was a good variety on offer. So once again thankyou to all of you for giving us another lovely holiday, we look forward to another stay with you next year.

Room Tip: Leave it to the hotel you wont be dissapointed. If you have particular needs ring the hotel they wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, August 12, 2012
I am pleased that you had a good second visit. You are quite right, the staff here are happy and helpful. We must consider ourselves blessed.
i think may be I could work at one of the national Bingo Clubs.....What do you think? Lol.
Kind regards and we all look forward to your 3rd visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just returned from our second holiday at the Kistor Hotel and apart from the weather had a fab time ... The food was excellent and our waiter Sam was really helpful .. The Location is perfect ..the evening entertainment and bingo are great so you dont need to go out each evening to find something to do its all there .. We found all the staff to be polite and helpful and our room to be spacious and clean ,,Yes some things do need updateing and our only gripe was the pool was not working for all of our stay .. we hope to be returning in October for our Wedding Anniversary ..Keep up the good work Peter and Staff .....

Room Tip: We had room 51 which had a lovely sea veiw ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, August 11, 2012
We too hope to see you during October for your Wedding Anniversary! Best Wishes from All at the Kistor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield eng
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Spent a weeek at the Kistor 28-07-12 to 3/08/12 (week after we had summer)
Anyway not to spend to much time on decor if you read other reviews it was tired looking but clean and comfortable, our room no remote and dirty windows.
Good position near all entertainments and easy bus access to other resorts.Two coach parties while we were there we on one.Dinning room service fast and efficient got what you wanted no bother.Food good and a good choice each day of 5 courses.Entertainment decent and bingo .Peter the manager gave you a welcome (like first day at school)and quite funny at bingo calling. Pool not working while we were there but could use pool in sister hotel the Grosvener across the road.
Only one lift and still stairs to climd to various floors
Would use hotel again

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are very sorry about the pool problems but have been re-assured all will be back on line by Monday 13th August. The pump motor had to be rewound, what ever that means and a spare part had to be sourced from abroad. But it is now reheating the water which also has to be treated with chemicals to bring it up to pristine order again.
We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Location fantastic - literally a few metres from the seafront. 5 mins stroll to harbour, theatre and town. Lots in area to do for families and couples: boat trips, steam trains and open top buses.
Food and service was first class. Evening meal choice always included a meat, fish and vegetarian dish plus choice of salads - a mix of traditional and more uptodate food to suit all. Five courses meant five courses! Room was spacious and clean. Staff were unobtrusive, but available at all times and were really helpful and pleasant. Entertainment varied and every night. Could have stayed at hotel every evening but went to theatre a couple of times, which fitted in well with end of evening meal. Overall, very relaxing and enjoyable. Would come again.
Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Rooms at back have the best views of the coastline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am delighted that you had a good holiday. Yes, we try very hard to ensure that we only have staff with great customer service skills. Our chefs provide really good home style meals which as a general rule more than satisfy our guests, especially as you say a full 5 course dinner (summer season menu).
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Can i thank the manager Peter and staff at the Kistor hotel for a wonderful weekend in sunny Torquay. When we arrived Peter gave a twenty minute stand up routine for us on the bus. He informed us of some of the failings of the Kistor in a really funny manner. The rooms were spacious and adequate for our needs. The breakfast was very tasty though it must be said a little slow in arriving. But, in fairness 300 people descended on the dining room at 8.15 am poor waiters and waitress did nt know what hit them. Theo the bar man was wonderful, he looked after us like we were royalty. He s my employee of the month. I would really recommend a trip on the open top bus to Brixham you see a lot more of Torbay. £8.50 well spent.All in all our weekend at the Kistor was spendid . A BIG THANK YOU !!!!!1 Mr Karl Offers Publicity / Press Officer, Beaufort Male Choir. ps hope we increased your beer sales.

Room Tip: you need one at the front of the hotel , the rear view is a car park , and ear plugs for the sea gul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
I am so pleased your group had such a successful weekend here in Torquay. Your concert was warmly received I hear and we hope that you will all return soon for another visit.
I have passed on your remarks to Theo and I concurr with all sentiments expressed.
Kindest regards to all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

wonderful hotel, great friendly staff. flat stroll to the seafront and town centre.This was my 4th. visit to the Kistor hotel, i have visited with family members and 0n my own. A great place to make new friends as the atmosphere is so relaxed and welcoming. Peter is a great manager and very gooood-ish at calling the bingo - great entertainment, not to be missed. Eileen and rest of staff also brilliant. Food very good and plentiful. Linen and bath towels lovely and white. warm indoor pool with towels provided. well done to you all, look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bingoace, General Manager at Hotel Kistor, responded to this review, July 28, 2012
I am delighted that your 4th visit was a success and we hope that you make your 5th soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Kistor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kistor

Address: Belgrave Rd, Torquay TQ2 5HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Kistor Hotel Torquay
Hotel Kistor Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Kistor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.