We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great any time of the Year.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brooklands

Save Saved
You added Brooklands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Brooklands
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 150 Torquay B&B and Inns
Arlesey
1 review
“Great any time of the Year.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Love this place will keep returning as long as Paul and Jane are there.Brooklands is in an ideal postion just at the back of the town and a stones throw away from my favourite place Torquay casino can't wait to go again. Richard.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

We had to make a last-minute trip to Devon and needed somewhere for just one night. Jayne and Paul were excellent hosts; the breakfast choices were amazing! Extremely good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uffculme, Cullompton, Devon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

Every year in early November several Tiverton Chess Club members enter a weekeend Congress in Torquay. For the last few years we have based ourselves at the Brooklands Guest House, 5 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ and did so again this year. Paul and Jane have been very welcoming and looked after us extremely well with a "feel free to come and go as one likes" attitude. . The rooms are comfortable with good tea/coffee/cocoa /making facilities. We've enjoyed great breakfasts and the highlight of our stay as in previous years was a sumptious Festive Dinner on the Saturday night. When our numbers have exceeded their accommodation they have readily booked members into neighbouring guest houses and invited them back for socialising and the dinner.Especially good value for money. We shall be back next year. .

Chairman Tiverton Chess Club

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

yes its a old house but dont be put off,the welcome was great ,the room was very clean and more than big enough for us.there was a bottle of wine waiting plus ample tea-coffee-crisps and biscuits and more in box outside room if we wanted.breakfast was just as good you name it they had it,nothing was to much trouble-excelent****.would go again without a second thought- DAVID/BARBARA

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Great break, just what we needed! Attentive hosts and scrupulously clean everywhere. Look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Jayne and Paul who own the B&B couldn't be more helpful and friendly. The room was good, if a little small, but had everything you could want from toiletries to tea and biscuits - even a razor and comb in case you packed in a rush. Breakfast was superb with home baked croissant, bread and crumpets, enormous flat field mushrooms, a choice of kippers and haddock that was delivered fresh that morning, and more! The only downside is the shortage of parking in peak season.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Paul and Jayne treat you like family and you can try the rest but Brooklans is the best.
If you stay at Brooklands you will want to return nothing is too much trouble as they are so helpfull.
David & Lorraine

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Brooklands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brooklands

Address: 5 Scarborough Road, Torquay TQ2 5UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 150 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Brooklands 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Highly acclaimed AA 4 Star accommodation, in the premium hotel area conveniently located for the town centre, sea front, Princess Theatre and Riviera Centre and most holiday leisure pursuits e.g. bowling, swimming, crazy golf, pitch and putt, tennis etc. Cosy en-suite bedrooms with free view TV, complimentary beverages and other extras to make your stay comfortable and memorable. We offer a wide selection of English and continental foods and cater for all special diets. There is free on street parking and a private car park within 50 metres. We are open all year and accept all major credit and debit cards. For the comfort of our guests we do not accommodate stag / hen, single sex parties. For a small charge our guests have access to a neighbouring health and fitness facility complete with swimming pool, sauna and steam rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Tingo, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Brooklands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brooklands Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brooklands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.