We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC PLACE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Linden House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Linden House to your Saves list
Linden House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   31 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 154 Torquay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC PLACE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I would be happy to recommend Linden House to anyone for business or pleasure. The welcome we received was wonderful, with a cup of tea and a piece of home made cake on arrival.
The room we had (super king ) would put many a 5 star hotel to shame. It was well equipped and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast completed a fantastic stay with choices for everyone.
Our only regret was the fact that we only had a one night stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
123
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

A beautiful Victorian property, maintained to a very high standard. Beautiful décor, very clean. Well looked after. Very friendly couple who were chatty and helpful. Gorgeous English breakfast with a lovely cup of tea and a piece of home made cake on arrival. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a find! A warm welcome and lovely room. Spotless from top to bottom. Superb breakfast with delicious homemade yoghurt and perfectly cooked full English. 5 minutes walk from the Riviera Centre where we were visiting. Will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This has to be the best place to stay in Torquay by a country mile. A beautifully decorated, immaculately presented property run by two fantastic hosts (Sue & Larry). A great night's sleep in a comfortable bed, and then a hearty breakfast the following morning. We will be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Breakfast was lovely,great choice for full devonshire or vegetarian,Sue and Larry are great hosts,welcoming,helpful and any request is catered for,Larrys homemade fruit cake is fantastic and my husband loved his birthday break here. Dont miss this hotel

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking tree lined avenue are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent a lovely over night stay at linden house,we were very warmly welcomed by sue the owner who as soon as we had checked in offered us a cafetiere of fresh coffee and a beautiful piece of fruit cake in their charming lounge,what a lovely start to our trip.The house was lovely and very tastefully decorated,we had a lovely room and little touches such as a choice of teas coffee hot chocolate biscuits and even a bottle of water were offered went a long way.The bathroom had everything we needed for an over night stay,plenty of towels and toiletries were provided
Everything was spotlesslly clean and the bed was extremely comfortable.
The breakfast was really good with a large choice on offer,my boiled egg even arrived with a little woolly hat on! My husband had the full English and it was not only very tasty but nicely presented.
I would just like to say well done to sue and Lawrence for really doing a great job,we will definatley be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed at the Linden House on the evening of Saturday 2/3/13. On arrival we were made to feel extremely welcome by Sue who is extremely charming and lovely. We stayed in the "Garden Room" which would be lovely in the Spring/ Summer when you could appreciate the garden and sit outside your room.
The room itself was very clean, the bed was comfortable and the addition of a bag of fudge was a nice touch.
The LInden is ideally situated, just a short walk from the seafront and town centre.
Our only comment would be that the breakfast time could be extended from just the one hour especially on a Sunday. Having said that the breakfast itself was very good and freshly cooked to order.
We would definately stay there again.
Martin & Mark.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Linden House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linden House

Address: 31 Bampfylde Road, Torquay TQ2 5AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Linden House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linden House is an AA 5Star guest house offering a relaxed and boutique style of accommodation. Our freshly cooked breakfasts can be enjoyed by those on a gluten free diet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Linden House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linden House Hotel Torquay
Linden House Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Linden House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.