We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definately visit again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sefton Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Torquay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sefton Hotel
The Sea Front | Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 97 hotels in Torquay
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Will definately visit again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Loved the location of this hotel,could have sat at window looking at the view forever. We had a lovely room no.72. Big and comfortable beds.Beds were made but room not cleaned,but only there for 3 days,so no problem.The food was very nice. Full marks to waiting staff,they were so quick and pleasant. They all worked very hard. The entertainment was really good. Can't wait to return one day. Thankyou Sefton Hotel Staff.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    69
    33
    30
    20
See reviews for
19
76
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

Having just returned after a long weekend with The Coach Holiday Company
we would recommend The Sefton to anyone. The rooms wre spotlessly clean
the bed linen & towels were first class also excellent food.
We would certainly stat there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

You get what you pay for. Nothing too much trouble for staff. Great basic food, simple no frills. Bar prices very reasonable. Great views. It could do with a spruce up , however what has to be clean is clean. Good old fashioned customer service - if you're a whinger don't expect sympathy (or an ear) here.

Will worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2010

I have stayed at the Sefton twice now, once last week and am going back with friends next month on a Coach trip, I found my room spotless and the bathroom, Entertainment was cracking on each night, great for my age group. Food was hot, nice to have thick sliced bread for your toast in the mornings and as much as you liked , the only bug bear was waiting for your toast to be done, but you got to meet other people.,,I would definately recommend it to friends , and I also found the staff to be very pleasant, they couldn't do enough for you when asked in fact every one was very obliging.Am looking forward to my return on Oct 8th.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepton Mallet, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

Our welcome was poor almost non existent. Our room was grim and the furniture was old and inside the drawers I found hairs and dust. The bathroom floor had not been cleaned and the corners were filthy. The carpet throughout the hotel was old and fraying and probably very dirty though I could not see due to the heavy ugly pattern. One night in the restaurant, my husband dropped a piece of beetroot on the floor and two days later it was still there. I could see that there was no way it was vacuumed. Our bedroom was not vacuumed the whole time we were there. I could write loads on the problems this hotel has but mainly their attitude is one of "you fit in as we do not cater to guests who want something we are not prepared to supply". I never thought there were hotels this bad anymore. If you are thinking of going there don't you are wasting your money. The food is awful, it is either frozen, tinned or packet. They don't understand healthy eating, no fresh fruit, pitiful salads, and overcooked veg which turns a funny colour. There is no ventilation in their restaurant and it is dirty and chanderliers are broken with bits hanging down. The whole place needs a makeover!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

5 day stay booked with coach holidays.com: no complaints, all meals were excellent served by an efficient and obliging staff

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
183 helpful votes 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

My wife and I travelled for a reunion being held in the area. Most of the other hotels in the area did not wish our custom as we wanted just one night. The Sefton was very obliging and we booked in with no problems. We found the staff helpful and friendly. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sefton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sefton Hotel

Address: The Sea Front | Babbacombe Downs Road, Torquay TQ1 3LH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 97 hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Sefton Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sefton Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sefton Hotel to your Saves list