We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“V friendly hosts, but everything else unremarkable.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Belmont

The Belmont
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Belmont to your Saves list
The Belmont
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   66 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“V friendly hosts, but everything else unremarkable.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night with my partner and this would probably be as much as I would be willing to stay. The owners were lovely and friendly, both very helpful and welcoming despite the fact we were their only guests and business was very quiet. It's often easy for a hotel owner to not be as attentive when they have few or no other guests.

The breakfast seems to be something people rave about, but it was honestly nothing special. Portion sizes were pretty average to small, and the sludgy tinned tomato was vile. Perhaps it is better when it's tourist season and they're more keen to impress?

As for the room itself, we were given a slightly larger superior double rather than the standard double without being charged any extra. This was a lovely gesture upon arrival, and the room initially seemed more than worth the small price. However, there seemed to be a bit of an insect issue as there were little dozens and dozens of tiny dead flies on the inside window sill, as well as in the shower basin and toilet. I only caught one or two alive ones but there has obviously been more than that in the past. Me and my partner found it strange that this had been missed, because there was evidence that they had made a clear effort to clean the room before we stayed in it, i.e. the sink was sparkling clean and there were streaks where cleaning fluid had been used on various other surfaces.

I thought the bed was comfy enough but my partner said he thought it was in need of replacement as he woke up with aches and pains in his back. And the noise is a bit of an issue from the busy street outside, I'm surprised they don't have double glazed windows like most other hotels on that road. It seems to be a common complain and double glazing would at least dull the noise a little bit.

Overall, the couple who run the hotel are very friendly and the hotel in January is probably not an accurate reflection of what it is like normally. Having said that, just because it's not the busy season doesn't mean they should give a lower quality service, otherwise they'll be even quieter next year. I might be happy to stay again but only when it's not the middle of winter.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
28
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My husband and I had the En-Suite Superior Room (No 7) on the second floor. Nice size room with all the amenities you need. Very clean and a comfy bed. Only pitfall was that it was very noisy in the morning due to the traffic (it's a front facing room, second floor) and no double-glazing.

All staff were very friendly, very helpful and very accommodating.

Breakfast - amazing.

Car park - don't bother. There's only 2 spaces at the back of the building and it's tight getting in and out. There is parking on the surrounding roads.

Location - close enough to walk to town, beach, harbour.

We had a good stay. It's a good B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

Although the welcome was friendly and the room was clean and well presented we gave this hotel a 3/5 rather than a 4/5 due mainly to the fact that the toilet which was down the hallway had no sink in it, which meant we were touching 2 door handles with unwashed hands until we got back to our room. We found this a strange set-up and even if there were some hand sanitiser spray it would have been a better experience for us.
We were given keys to both the front door and room so we could come and go as we pleased. This was a nice touch as it meant no curfew.
The breakfast in the morning was lovely and the staff were friendly and attentive.
The room was nicely presented and contained everything we needed. We would return but to an en suite room.

Room Tip: Definitely pick an en suite room. Rooms on the roadside are very noisy with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Very good hotel, friendly staff, close to the town but far enough away to avoid the drunks. Would recommend an upgrade to the larger room though. Only problems being that parking needs booking, only two spaces but can park in surrounding streets, second problem was with traffic noise through the night, only single glazed windows. Breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldicot, Wales, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

On arrival, we were greeted by Sue, who was very friendly. We were shown to our room, and given a map of the local area, which we found very helpful. The room was basic, but clean, with fresh linen and towels, and well stocked with tea and coffee making facilities, which was a welcomed sight after a long drive!!
Breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice of cereals, as well as the traditional full english.
The hotel is ideally situated, as it's a short walk to the seafront, and town centre.
We booked last minute to celebrate my husbands birthday, and throughly enjoyed our stay, will definatly be back next year, thanks guys!............Kelly & John Baleh

Room Tip: Our room was a bit noisy, as overlooking main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights as a short break during the Easter holidays. Sue was a superb host during our visit and made sure we were settled well. The location was ideal for us, being within 5-10 minutes of both the town centre and the seafront. The room was clean and tidy and had everything we needed so we felt it was good value for money. The breakfasts, which were all made to order, were excellent and set us up well for our coastal walks. All in all, a good guest house which we'd happily use again if in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter, look around various websites for better prices, we saved £10 per nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Gary and Sue, the owners of the Belmont, were fantastic hosts. They were warm, friendly and both excellent cooks (although I think Sue’s breakfast was slightly better!).

My room was clean and contemporary that came with a substantial stock of tea and coffee.

Ultimately, I came to Torquay to visit Torquay with my friends. So all I want from a B&B, really, is a bed and a breakfast in a good location. That’s exactly what I got but with finesse.

Next time I come to visit Torquay, it’s a no-brainer, I’m staying at the Belmont.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont

Address: 66 Belgrave Road, Torquay TQ2 5HY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Torquay
#23 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
#25 Family Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Belmont 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Belmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Belmont, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.