We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy Times at the HCH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Howden Court Hotel to your Saves list
Howden Court Hotel
Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Happy Times at the HCH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We booked in for a 5 night stay at HCH by making direct contact with the hotel. Peter, (owner) was very efficient over the phone and accommodated our needs straight away by offering us a family room. The Studio, Room 7, was great and met our needs as he said it would. Lovely bathroom and double shower cubicle. The room was clean and comfortable, bright and breezy, comfy beds, plenty of tea, coffee, sugar and milk daily cleaned and changed. When choosing a B&B on-line we were drawn to the look of the hotel at first glance and we weren't disappointed. Beautiful grounds and building with a little short cut to the beach area too, just through the garden. However, it has to be said that it was the people that made the difference! Peter and Brian (aka Shrek) were a hoot, never failed to make us or the other guests laugh, we had some wonderful evenings in the lounge / bar area (something we had not done before in a B&B establishment). The kids loved it too and were made to feel very welcome. Special mention to Becky (Peter and Gail's daughter) she is just so wonderfully placed with her customers! Yes great place and lovely location, very central, fabulous place to stay! Thank you very much for the text message on our way home too, again unique touch xx love to all xx The Willis family

Room Tip: Just let Peter know what your requirements are, and he will do the rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you so much for your Tripadvisor review. We do hope to provide the ingredients needed for a fun time at Howden Court Hotel. All of our staff play an important part in producing a good end product. Brian (Shrek) is the life & soul of the party and can get the most staid of persons on the dance floor. You commented especially on Becky, my daughter. Becky is becoming an ambassador for the hotel and has the necessary people skills required when serving our guests.
We are lucky to live in such a beautiful property and so close to the sea. Our guests often comment on the architecture of the building, it is nice to share this with our guests. We look forward to seeing you revisit in the near future. Thank you once again for your review.
Peter
proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    28
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
24
31
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Peter and his lovely family made our stay at howden court so nice, we can't wait to return. The hotel itself is in a good central location, beautiful, ornate cornice, high ceilings, some beautiful original features, lovely atmosphere, they are making improvements to the property but the bits that matter are lovely, food was good, service also was very good, efficient and always with a smile, Peter made us laugh on a daily basis, fab sense of humour! Rooms were clean and well furnished, lovely towels. Something I've never encountered before, a text message to wish us a safe return journey home. Would recommend to friends and family. :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Wow, what a fantastic review. Thank you for taking the time to comment on your holiday at Howden Court Hotel. All of our guests are important to us and we will try and provide a memorable experience that hopefully will encourage people to return. We look forward to greeting you again in the near future. Thank you once again.
Peter
proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We booked for one night B&B the hotel is a large detached house, there is parking on site but its limited so parked on road: The hotel was dated/tired in places but spotlessly clean: the staff were friendly and helpful: the room was an average size, very clean traditionally furnished/decorated with TV, tea/coffee facilities: the bar and lounge areas are clean and again furnished in a traditional manner: Peter (owner) and Brian create a wonderful double act as both bar staff and entertainment committee: after bingo, A myriad of silly but amusing games were played with the guests being encouraged to join in Both Brian and Peter create fantastic Fun atmosphere: overall this hotel gives value for money and I would definitely stay again; The only negative I can say is on their webpage it mentions the chef and excellent food availability: However I booked B&B, I asked in the evening about a meal but was told they could not supply food for me as the meals are pre-ordered at the breakfast session: I did take this up with the owner who has now amended the website: an evening meal is available, you just have to mention it when signing in at reception on your first day, thereafter you order after you breakfast: thanks to Peter [Owner] for dealing with it so quickly

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We appreciate guest feedback and will always take guest comments, recommendations and ideas seriously. We react to them when ever we can in an effort to make our end product more appealing. Tripadvisor is an ideal platform to voice opinion, however on this occasion you made myself fully aware of a negative whilst you were staying with us. We were then able to respond quickly and deal with the problem. When ever a guest does have a problem with any aspect of their stay, we would rather hear about it sooner rather than later so thank for helping us improve.
We look forward to your next visit.
Peter
proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickleover, Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

In July 2012, we stayed at this hotel on the recommendation of friends, Oh dear! On arrival, a big notice outside said "Welcome to the Caribbean!" On entering, we immediately noticed what appeared to be a confusion of twin themes comprising the Queen's Jubilee celebration decorations and rather tacky Caribbean mock-ups of palm trees, pink flamingos, etc. Our room was good but that was the only thing we can positively say about our short stay. The food was poorly cooked and certainly not well presented, and on one occasion one of us, because of dietary problems, was not offered an alternative meal (although we were prepared to wait for it to be cooked) and had to eat out in Torquay that evening. Although most of the guests were of the retired age group (as indeed were we) the entertainment could only be described as awful and after the first evening we decided not to join in. The hotel itself needed a facelift and, combined with the general confusion of décor and damp odour in places, made us feel very uncomfortable. Parking was very awkward, particularly as we have a large car needed to transport disabled people and a wheelchair. We decided to cut short our stay (to the obvious disappoint of management) and left without other accommodation to go to. We later found a bed and breakfast place that we can only describe as excellent on all points. Sorry, but we would not recommend the Howden Court to anyone. Our visit, which should have been a well-needed break, was a great disappointment, a waste of time and long saved-up money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
We are extremely disappointed to receive this review a full 12 months after the guest had stayed. We try our best to make each and everyone of our guests feel at home. We have many guests that return time and again and compliment us on our food quality and constant programme of renovation. At present we have ground works ongoing in the large south facing garden area just beyond the private path that leads you too within 100 metres of Torquays fine sandy beach! This guest did state that the room was good, this provides an insight into what you might expect if you take a well earned break at Howden Court Hotel. Our menu is changed daily and always includes for meat, fish, vegetarian and salad options. Our chef caters to those with special dietary needs such as celiac's, diabetics etc. Something for almost everyone. We have a carpark suitable for a passenger coach and several cars and on occasions we may need to ask guests to double park, in Devon we are probably more relaxed about this situation - leave your keys behind reception and we will move the car for you - no problem.
Finally, if you are using TripAdvisor as a tool for choosing your next break and decide to try a holiday break at Howden Court Hotel in sunny Torquay then remember one thing. If you encounter a problem during your stay then just mention it to Peter or Brian at the time, we will do our very best to put things right. Tell us 12 months later and.....well what can you do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Torquay, our week long stay for a deservrd break. Fancied Torquay after such a long time since last visited, some 20 odd years ago with our young children.
Picked Hotel Howden Court after seeing an add in local paper re transport to the Hotel with a pick up point in our home city -Sheffield.
Joined the coach on Sunday morning and quickly felt at home with a friendly welcome aboard the coach from 'Keith' our driver/courier for the return jouney and excursions [included in holiday price and optional excursions on the English Riviera]
Although a long day [arrival at the hotel approx 4.00 pm] Keith kept us in touch with his informative dialogue during the journey. A nice touch was to introduce the menu for the evening meal at the hotel, choose personal choice from menu and Keith then 'phoned in' all passengers choices to the hotel ready for ur arrival and evening meal later that day.

Comfortable journey, drinks available on coach with saloon toilet available if needed, although a number of comfort stops on journey were scheduled into the journey to the hotel and on the return journey the following Saturday.

What a week to pick during the early part of June with hot sunshine, very pleasant evenings to walk off the hearty evening meal and have a few drinks by Torquay harbour and other bars in the local area.

The hotel Howden Court was a very friendly hotel with family owners and their children involved with the staffing and present in the hotel as their home also.
Owners very 'hands on' helping with daily and evening duties as well as the organised entertainment programme which we joined on 2 of the evenings.
The last evening of our stay involving a classic Hoden Court version of their 'fun' quiz was good fun followed by a much enjoyed 'Mr and Mrs' contest for 3 of the guest couples from the Hotel.
Yes... we were picked as 1 couple and i have to say, our marriage life passed the test as 'joint' winners!
Good fun and above all a good time had by a mixed list of hotel guests.
The breakfast and evening meals provided a pleasing varied and 3 choices of the 3-4 course menu. Chef gave flair with his local dishes and the seafood lived up to its reputation.
Our rooms were clean, tidy and daily maid visits part of the hotels routine. Nice outside area's in rear garden,patio and accessible garden gate to the bridal path to the main walk into town.
One observation which we mentioned to management on our leave, was that if wanting to use the outside features, we felt it would have been more relaxing with the weather if we could have utilised a 'lounge bed' for sunning as opposed to garden seats/chairs. We felt our holiday would have been further enhanced with this option for our relaxing sun worshipping days!!

All in all, we enjoyed our stay at the Howden Court, certainly may consider again if taking an break in England and the southern area; with the experience of the break at the Howden Court, the friendly welcome and daily contact with the hotel staff, Howden Court Hotel would be on our list of places to stay. Good value for money.

So; scenery, food, drink,weather, places of interest and our chosen Hotel all very good and well worth a try!!

Room Tip: Talk to reservation staff and discuss individual needs and choose from a number of options for room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review. Your review was detailed and gave a good account of your holiday from start to finish. We appreciate your effort and time to provide such a nice review. We have picked up on your comment regarding sunloungers. I am now looking a creating a couple of built-in loungers for the benefit of our 'sun worshipers'. Once again, thank you. Hopefully we will see you in the not too distant future. We provide a variety of themed breaks and one of our most popular is our Turkey & Tinsel breaks in Nov/Dec. We have won certificates for our Christmas decorations.
All the best for the future.
Peter
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I stayed at the Howden Court for 1 week at the end of June.
I found it to be a Good quality Family run Hotel with excellent food, clean bedrooms and linen.
Bar prices are on a par with Pub prices in the Town, although slighty limited in choice.
By road there is a steep hill to climb, but a private path is available at the back which is level right down to the Beach road.
I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review. We believe you were staying at Howden Court Hotel as part of a bowls touring team. You have noted the advantage of our 'private pathway' that takes you too within 100 yards of the beach but also within easy reach of Belgrave, Victoria & kings bowls clubs.
We appreciate your time and effort to create your review. More & more people are relying on tripadvisor before deciding on which accommodation provider.
We look forward to greeting you in the future.
Peter
proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arosa, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

During an official tour in Torquay I stayed here for three days and four nights. It was a very pleasing and comfortable stay from beginning to end. And this was all due to the wonderful guys employed here. They tried their best to provide us the comfort we needed. Rooms, food, décor, facilities all were good and I really enjoyed a lot. Would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
A great review, thank you for your kind comments. We really do appreciate feedback. Every guest is equally important to us, we always try our best to make everyone's stay a memorable experience for all the right reasons. We look forward to your next visit at Howden Court Hotel.
Peter, proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howden Court Hotel

Address: Croft Road, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#9 Family Hotel in Torquay
#32 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Howden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howden Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howden Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.