We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Howden Court Hotel to your Saves list
Howden Court Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

My return visit to this hotel and was better than before,Peter and Gail are some of the best hotel owners you can meet.
Food was was the best i have ever had allways fresh and cooked to perfection,will be returning again next year ,good nights entertainment and a good laugh

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2012
Another appreciative guest who as taken the time to write a great review. Thank you so much. New guests are always welcomed but those guests who keep returning really do make us feel that we are offering them a service they want. We will strive to continue providing the same standards and will try to exceed these standards when ever we can. We look forward to seeing you return to Howden Court Hotel in the near future. All the best for now.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    29
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just returned from our weeks holiday and have had a fab week. Travelled by the Hotel coach driven by Kevin. Two of our party had never been before so was not sure what we were letting ourselves in for. On arrival we were welcomed by Peter and Tony who soon made us all feel at home. Varied menu everyday home cooked food and plenty of it. Gail, Peter and all the staff were very helpful and caring. Entertainment of some sort every night with Peter and Brian playing a big part in entertaining us. We have never laughed so much as we did during our stay here and the laughter continued right up to our departure. Thanks everyone for all the hard work that was put in to making this a great week to remember.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Many thanks for providing this excellent review. We always appreciate it when a guest spends time and effort to give us a 'pat on the back'. Needless to say we would love to see you return to Howden Court Hotel in the near future - bring along some friends or relatives so that they can join in the fun. Once again, many thanks for your kind words of appreciation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Just returned from holiday had such fun. Their motto is arrive as strangers leave as friends and this is certainly the case. Two of our party had never been before and were apprehensive but we were soon made to feel at home.
Entertaining us were Brian and Peter supported by a few outside performers, we haven’t laughed so much for a long time. Everyone is friendly and helpful; the hotel is very clean and well decorated. The breakfast is excellent and evening meal home cooked using fresh ingredients.
Thanks for a great week and everyones hard work

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Yet again another guest has taken the time and effort to respond on TripAdvisor with a great review. We do aim to make everyone's stay at Howden Court a memorable one. You stayed with us during our 'Caribbean Theme Week' and joined in the fun on 'Pirates' night. We would love to see you return for one of our other theme breaks, I suggest the 'Swinging 60's' would be ideal - fun dressing up in the era and great music. Once again thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hawick
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

returned from a weeks stay at this lovely hotel.we travelled with caladonian travel.cannot praise the management and staff enough.they were extremely helpful and thoughtful.menus were varied and food was good and plenty of it.will be going back again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive feedback. This was the first time you have stayed at Howden Court and having travelled all the way from Scotland by coach I dare say that your expectations were high. We are happy that we were able to make your stay a happy one. We would hope that you return in the near future.
Peter, proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We have just returned from a 7 day break at this hotel ( July 2012 ) We have been several times before and we can honestly say i wish we could afford to go every week. Peter and Gail treat you not as a guest but as a family member. The food is great,the bedrooms are very clean and if you need anything you only have to ask. Brian the entertainments manager is fantastic and kept us laughing all week. We had fancy dress,games,bingo and singers to entertain us and thoroughly enjoyed it. well done to all the staff as well. We will definitely be back. Chrissy,Alan,Peter and Joy from Nottingham.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments and positive review. By the way, you were great guests! It's always a pleasure to serve guests who already have a smile on their faces - such as you guys. You made a real effort dressing up on Pirate Night so thank you for making the effort. Look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during June 2012.
The hotel is a traditional British seaside coaching hotel dealing with mostly older guests. Its only 3 minutes walk from the promenade that runs along Torquay seafront.
We were a little younger than most of the guests, and unlike most of he other visitors we had not arrived via the hotels own coach that collects them from their home towns "up north" and brings them directly to Torquay.
The staff at the hotel were first class and looked genuinely happy in their jobs. All that I encountered were helpful and spoke english as their first language. There was a pleasant bar with views overlooking the gardens, and entertainment was laid on for the guests every night including bingo ( which was very well attended) and singer/musicians ( which were very good).
The food was traditional British and I enjoyed full English breakfasts, homemade pies and homemade puddings.
The rooms were fine, and exactly what you'd expect from a Victorian manor house converted into a seaside hotel. There was a small lift to all floors and I noticed it was used quite a lot by guests who couldn't negotiate the stairs.
Our stay at Howden Court was a real contrast to the type of holiday where you jet away to the sun, but with no airports, no immigration, and no foreign food, I can really see the advantages of this sort of holiday. When you consider the added benefit of transport from close to home directly to the hotel, and on site entertainment I can really understand why so many of the guests were already booking up for next year!

Room Tip: We had a garden level room. It was nice and spacious. It had 2 exits, one into the lower floor of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
We acknowledge your positive feedback and note that although you travelled independantly you appreciated the variety of entertainment that was laid on for all of our guests, not just those arriving by coach. All our guests are equally important to us. We do like our staff to be happy at work, this then provides a friendly, comfortable atmosphere throughout the hotel. Our chef prides himself on good, traditional homecooked food using fresh vegetables. My favourite is the steak & kidney pie! excellent.
One of the benfits for guests arriving independantly is that they can if they wish take advantage of the various coach excursions we offer along with an optional evening theatre trip that also includes transport to and from the theatre.
Once again, many thanks for your positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Howden Court Hotel, in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in June and couldn't say enough about the wonderful staff, clean and spacious rooms and the food was lovely. A 5 minute walk through the garden down to the beach,and close to the town centre. Almost Every evening entertainment was provided with Brian and Pete. with fancy dress, musicians, dancing and even a murder mystery dinner.
Enjoyed every minute of this holiday and hope to be back for tinsel and turkey.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
We often receive 'thank you's' verbally from people whilst staying at Howden Court Hotel, for which we really do thank our guests. It is even more appreciated when guests take the effort to compliment us in writing such as via the TripAdvisor site. We accept that we may not provide the ideal holiday for every type of guest, that's human nature for you. But when you do get praised for a service provided it does spur you on to provide more and better. Guests willing to return are obviously happy with us so thank you and please return time and again.
Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howden Court Hotel

Address: Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
#21 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howden Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Howden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howden Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howden Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.