We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howden Court Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Howden Court Hotel to your Saves list
Howden Court Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% OFF ROOM RATE
Ranked #18 of 94 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

A warm welcome and great fun! I walked in to a 1960's theme poster in the reception which being as myself or my husband weren't even a twinkle then I have to admit I was a little unsure- but it seriously added to the fun of the week!

The hotel is mainly a coaching hotel. I would imagine that it's popular for families during peak season and school holidays but being as we booked a random week in may average age was around 60! And we couldn't have had a better time if the place had been filled with late 20yr olds!! We had great fun with everyone taking part in the games and party nights and met some really great people!!

The hotel itself is clean, the rooms are a good size comfortable and for what we paid for the holiday we expected a lot less!! The food is great we only did b&b but stayed for dinner one evening. The food was lovely and for the first time a hotel has finally gotten poached eggs right!! The location is so close to the beach and town it takes a max 10 mins down a private path. The hotel garden is lovely and a great place to sit and chill out - weather permitting!!!!

Entertianment with Brian and Pete was great fun so much so my 29yr old husband has been and bought large playing cards and a bingo machine which he loves!! Great acts relevant to the era they promote like I say this time 60's but they do 40's, cruise week and there are some "normal" weeks if themes aren't you thing - although I am not sure anything can be called normal with Brian being your ents manager!!

Over all we feel this is one of the best holidays we have ever had!! When I consider some of the places we have traveled to its amazing that we would be leaving Torquay and feeling sure we will be back before the end of the year to the Howden Court!!

If your after something fun, relaxing and friendly this is definitely the place for you. Either on the coach trip or in your own car well worth the trip.

I think the quote over the doorbell best sums it up "arrive as strangers .... Leave as friends"

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your fantastic comments. It is always nice to receive appreciation from a guest for hopefully forfilling their holiday desires. We always aim to give 100% of ourselves so we thank you for your thank you! Looking forward to seeing our Derby Celebrities return to Howden Court Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    29
    3
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
36
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Going back to the Howden Court Hotel again in July 2012. This will be our 7th time in the last 10 years. The hotel is very welcoming and Peter and his wife Gail cannot do enough for you as nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are clean comfortable and have excellent en suite facilities. The food and service are really good (plenty of it too). We travel down on their luxury coach and your holiday starts as soon as you get on board.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2012
Thank you for your kind words of appreciation. We aim to provide a holiday that can be remembered for all the right reasons. To have guests return time and again also gives us confidence to continue providing a service that guests really want and appreciate.
See you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

It's always impressive if people remember your name, especially when the hotel was busy, Peter provided a first class weekend for our party, going the extra mile to entertain us making our stay personal and special. We were treated as valued guests and not commodities as so many hotels do. No bland corporate image here, cosy and welcoming. The food was excellent and the rooms spotless.

Will definately stay again if you'll have us.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Sorry for the delay in responding to your great review, I have only recently realised that I can respond to previous reviews! I am not the computer whizkid, I leave that to others. Anyway, here at Howden Court Hotel we all appreciate it when a guest goes that extra mile to let everyone know that they were happy with their stay. We always make an effort to create a fun holiday so that you go away with happy memories. Please return in the near future. Once again, thank you for your great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have just returned from a wonderful family weekend at the Howden Hotel. We were a family group of 17 of a mixed age group from 3 to 80. Every person had am enjhoyable stay. the Garden rooms were nice and clean and a really good size for family rooms, with the bonus of access to the lovely garden at the back of the hotel. My Mother was incredibly impressed with her stay in the Admiral Room, a lovely room over looking the garden with stunning views out to the sea, she said she felt like she was in the honeymoon suite she never had!
Above all, the stay was made by the wonderful friendly staff. I know it's been said before, but truely nothing is too much trouble. On arrival there is a sign in reception' arrive as a guest, leave as a friend' these are words well said at the Howden Court Hotel.

Room Tip: If you would like a special treat for couple, ask for the Admirals Room. For a family, go for a Gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Fantastic review. We aim to provide a service that makes our guests happy. If our guests are happy, so are we. Please return in the near future.

Peter
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Stay here with my extended family, 14 members all very happy with not only the hotel but friendly hospitality !! Nothin was too much trouble and always there to help!! Rooms of good standard and garden rooms open up to a beautiful garden. Can't wait to stay again, thank you Peter and family for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
howdencourt, Owner at Howden Court Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
It is nice to now when a guest has really enjoyed their stay. Tripadvisor can be a good tool to use when searching for reliable accommodation. The existing 'Star' grading system does not take into account the 'atmosphere' and 'Friendly feel' that some establishments can provide. It can be so easy to put down an accommodation, much harder to acknowledge a good one, so for the Howden Court Hotel we really do appreciate it when a guest goes out of their way to praise us. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leicester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a brilliant hotel I have been there three times and had a great time every time and will be returning again soon. Everything about it is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room served by a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here when the hotel we had originally booked decided to cancel our booking.

We stayed in the Admiral's Room which has 3 large windows which gives you a sea view. The bathroom was gorgeous with a walk-in glassed shower unit. It was cleaned every day.

The food was lovely and the staff very friendly - you did have to order your evening meal at breakfast but this was fine.

There was limited entertainment in the evening (Feb) but we had a friendly cosy night in with other residents and a singer who did a little impromtu quiz - bar prices were reasonable.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howden Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howden Court Hotel

Address: Croft Road | Devon, Torquay TQ2 5UD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Torquay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Torquay
#18 Family Hotel in Torquay
#21 Romantic Hotel in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howden Court Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Howden Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howden Court Hotel Torquay, Devon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howden Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.