We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thai Palace, Plymouth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Palace - CLOSED

Thai Palace
3 Elliot Street, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $76
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Thai Palace, Plymouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Excellent food. Fantastic selection , beautifully presented and served. We had the set menu which included a great selection of starters and chicken green curry and trout as part of the main meal. The decor is attractive but a little tired. Although there is music in the bar the restaurant is music free, which is a little disappointing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    56
    34
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not what we are used to, disappointing.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We have always described the Thai Palace as our favourite restaurant however we are so glad our friends couldn't make it last night, as the only way to describe our evening last night is disappointing. We haven't been for a couple of years as we live further away and now use it as a 'special' event' place to go, so when we arrived and saw the menu we noticed it bad changed significantly. No plaice for example, the main we always recommend to friends. We honestly believed the restaurant was under new management, but no just new menu. Less authenticity and much more commercial. The food was on a par with local 'all you can eat' style establishments with the exception of the price. We should have left when we say the menu, £70 for 2 and we left feeling hungry. This didn't include drinks. Won't be returning. Need to find a new 'favourite' restaurant. Disappointed to say the least.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very good thai food, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

excellent food, set menus are a wise choice, but a lot of food, atmoisphere is very good, ideal for small or large groups, worth booking to not be disappointed

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Dissapionted”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The service was poor, absolutely not what we are used and you would expect from a Thai restaurant. The food is okay nothing special, not authentic Thai. This place is too English, a shame. Very disappointed, would not recommend if you are looking for a real Thai experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never fails to satisfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Thai Palace is a regular haunt for me when visiting Plymouth. Whether with a large crowd of colleagues or dining solo (as I did on my most recent visit), the service and the food are always to a high standard. As a starter, the mixed platter for one has all my favourite Thai nibbles - satay, fish cake, toast, spring roll, together with a delicious salad and a nice herby chicken piece. As a main, the chicken with basil offered an excellent balance of flavour and heat.

I think a starter, main and side dish together with three Thai beers for £30 is good value - perhaps not budget, but then again neither is the quality or presentation of the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Palace also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
Plymouth, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.