We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to satisfy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Palace - CLOSED

Thai Palace
3 Elliot Street, Plymouth PL1 2PP, England
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $76
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never fails to satisfy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Thai Palace is a regular haunt for me when visiting Plymouth. Whether with a large crowd of colleagues or dining solo (as I did on my most recent visit), the service and the food are always to a high standard. As a starter, the mixed platter for one has all my favourite Thai nibbles - satay, fish cake, toast, spring roll, together with a delicious salad and a nice herby chicken piece. As a main, the chicken with basil offered an excellent balance of flavour and heat.

I think a starter, main and side dish together with three Thai beers for £30 is good value - perhaps not budget, but then again neither is the quality or presentation of the food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    56
    34
    11
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Night Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Spent a Fantastic night at The Thai Palace Plymouth,
Exceptional service from the moment we entered the place, Staff very knowledgeable warm and friendly.
Great beer and the food was STUNNING!
Fantastic evening best meal out Ive had for a long time

A must for anyone who's not tried this!!!
Highly recommended

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Thai cuisine what a surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Situated close to our accomodation we took a chance and there was a spare table. Lovely freshly cooked food and staff were very friendly and helpful as we were unsure of what to choose. Vry popular place so we were lucky to get a table and would definitely visit again if in area.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

After hearing loads of amazing things about this restaurant we booked and were looking forward to eating here (it was only afterwards we realised it was the thai house on vauxhall street we had been hearing about). On arrival you have to enter through a grotty basement level then go upstairs again into the main dining room. Overall first presentation is it needs a lot of modernising. For starter we had a selection of thai things - springrolls tasted fresh out the freezer and the chicken was poor quality. After picking a main the waitress insisted I did not order it and would not like it, then I picked another and she did exactly the same (it was at this point I realised they were probably out of stock of certain things but didn't want to say). Did not enjoy the food or the atmosphere and found the service a bit scatty. Would definitely not return and am looking forward to trying the thai house.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Somerset
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Good food but no Sang Som!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We chose this place as we hadn't had Thai for ages and it Watson the route we were walking to the concert that brought us to Plymouth for the weekend. A strange, narrow entrance where we went downstairs then back upstairs to an ornate dining area was all a bit bizarre but the food made up for it - tasty, authentic, hot and filling! The service was also excellent, with a smile and no request being too small or too insignificant. Prices were pretty good and well with a re-visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Palace also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
Plymouth, Devon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.