We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky decor; small and atmospheric” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro One

Bistro One
Ebrington Street, Plymouth, England
+44 1752 313315 ‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #90 of 524 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: $64 - $81
Cuisines: Eclectic, Bistro, Winery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quirky decor; small and atmospheric”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a wonderful little place - small and cozy. Good food and wine if a bit on the expensive side. Wouldn't say the food was knock-out but it was certainly good. Really enjoyed the place.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    27
    9
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Torquay
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“very enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

went with friends from plymouth and we were all very pleasantly surprised at the standard of the food and the whole dining experience, the owner is as others have pointed out very knowledgeable and enthusiastic but we left with a firm intent to return which at the end of the day is how you judge a good restaurant, we definitely will return, we had a great night

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

We had a wonderful evening here with wonderful food, lovely wine and fantastic service.
The menu suits all tastes and the owner Stephen is exceptional passionate and knowledgeable about food and wine so there’s help at hand if you can’t choose from all the wonderful dishes.
The food is all fresh, locally sourced and cooked to perfection, I really couldn’t fault it.
I will definitely be visiting again!

Thank you!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Good value if you stick to set menus”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had an ok night at Bistro one.
The wine tasting was interesting, the wine we drank with the meal was good If a little expensive for a house wine.
The food was ok- not as good as I had anticipated given feedback I had previously heard- however the set menu was good value for money and was good for a midweek night out. Fish soup was good, paella wasn't paella, aubergine bake good- but manchego cheese on it whilst lovely isn't vegiterian as Advised, steak was tasty but tough.
All in all go for a set menu and careful with the wine and it's a decent value midweek night out

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
340 reviews 340 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
2,255 helpful votes 2,255 helpful votes
“Good place but the fixed menu should change a bit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We come here maybe once every couple of months.We recommend friends. We warn them that Steve can talk, knows a deal and his enthusiasm and idiosyncratic approach are not necessarily to everyones' taste, particularly those who want to be left to themselves or who just want good food and reliable complementary wines.

We like the atmosphere and the general mix of customers. We like the style of cooking and often eat from the specials board. We are however growing a little bored with the standard menu. its time he gave it a good shake and brought in some new choices. We know and like the parallel Spanish menu but we'd like something different occasionally on those nights when we make a last minute decision and just drop in.

its also time someone, even Steve got a photo or two on here to give timorous punters an idea of the place.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro One also viewed

 

Been to Bistro One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro One, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.