We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Japanese food this side of japan!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yukisan

Yukisan
51 Notte Street, Plymouth PL1 2AG, England
01752 250240
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 523 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best Japanese food this side of japan!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The service is personal and excellent.There is a large choice of delicious meals for every taste. I have been a number of times and never been dissappointed. The traditional seating upstairs is a perfect setting for a romantic meal for two, a dinner party or even a night of reminiscing your last trip to japan, would recommend this restaurant to eveyone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    49
    8
    4
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Really lovely and a different menu”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Really interesting range on the menu. Really tasty food. Will definitely go back. Not the cheapest place to eat in Plymouth but worth the money.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tasty food and nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Went on our year anniversary really tasty food and a great atmosphere we sat upstairs in the Japanese area with floor level tables and chairs will definitely be going back

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Artful Japanese food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Very nice sushi and japanese food. Fun traditional seating with low tables on the floor which is a fun place to eat if you are flexible! Food is expensive but good.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great all round.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Popped in here for lunch with my wife yesterday - both had the special lunch menu (although she had 3 courses!) - starters of aubergine for me with a beef salad for my wife - obviously shared! - loved both but the aubergine was so tastful - we both had the 'bento box' for main - me the meat (chicken and steak) my wife the seafood (king prawn and prawn tempura) - shared again! - absolutely lovely with the bits on the side in each box - 6 x small cucumber sushi with usual ginger/wasabi, something that looked like dried cuts of lemon - but wasn't (and I forgot to ask what it was before we left - but it was lovely) - and sugarsnap peas. 1 glass of (tap) water and an orange - all for under £25 - great all round.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yukisan also viewed

 

Been to Yukisan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yukisan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.