We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, very clean and friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Plymouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Plymouth to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Plymouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
England, U.k.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent location, very clean and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

The Plymouth Jury's Inn is in a fantastic location as it is not only around the corner from the main bus station but it is also about a minutes walk from the main shopping centre. The 15-screen VUE cinema (with restaurants) is also only about a 5/7 minute walk away

Even though there is a busy roundabout just outside the hotel, you cannot hear the traffic from inside at all. The rooms are not only really clean but also super-comfy and warm. It was also nice to see that they have digital freeview TV. The hotel staff I had contact with were all really nice and I really enjoyed my breakfast too.
Be aware that when you turn the bathroom light on, they use energy saving bulbs, so it takes 30 seconds or so for the light to come to full power.

Pros:

*Very near the main city bus station

*Very near the shopping mall + town centre

*really clean, comfortable and warm

*Freeview digital TV

Cons:

*Not much really - I guess free wifi in the rooms would be nice

If you need a place to stay in the centre of Plymouth, the Jury's Inn is a very comfortable and nice hotel and I would highly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    307
    211
    61
    37
See reviews for
138
213
57
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Stayed here with my daughter night before her interview at the Uni. Deal of £40 special offer through their own website. Had room 742 at back and away from lifts. Very quiet. Spotless room.
Service: great from check in to check out. Friendly helpful staff.
Parking: As suggested on their website parked at Drake Circus shopping centre, £12 for 24 hrs, need to arrive before 1030pm. 5 min walk across several roads to hotel. Could have dropped bags off first by parking outside. This worked out well for us as we went shopping in the centre and could drop off our shopping later in the day. We arrived at 930pm at night and then shopped during day until 3pm, all for £12. Also includes £10 free internet at hotel but think this is for connection to your own PC. We didnt need to use it. You can also park at staples/Gala underground car park for £10 for 24 hrs. This is right under hotel. To access it you pass hotel on your left and then immediate left at roundabout to pull in by Staples. This passes across a bus lane so you might want to go round roundabout once to make it safer!
Paid for breakfast, night before £6.90 each, it would have been £8.50 in the morning. Worth every penny. Yoghurts, fruits, lovely croissants, good coffee, good grilled cooked breakfast. Couldnt fault it.
All in all, a brilliant base. We got it very cheap, but it would have been worth £70 to include breakfast.
Slight problem getting room cool enough, so had to use window, didnt want to try and work air com in middle of night so should have looked before lights out.
Far superior to Legacy where we stayed before

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2010

a good no frills hotel centrally located 2 minutes walk from main shopping centre, and 5 minutes walk to marina. Booked a deal online good value, rooms clean, breakfast ok, service effiicent,

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2010

We stayed in the hotel for 3 nights and although the view from the window wasn't great the room was very clean and nicely laid out. It is in an excellent location: close to many shops and restaurants, with just a short walk to the harbour and some beautiful scenery. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming. The buffet style breakfast is decent, however the hotel restaurant food was terrible! Our meals came out lukewarm/cold and after deciding food poisoning wasn't an option we paid for the drinks only and left to find an excellent Indian close by. Overall it was a lovely stay though, and I would have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

we stayed here for 1 night on a saturday, arrived just after 2pm, no queue for check in and was quick and simple. had a room on the 4th floor, not much of a view but the room was clean simple and modern. the bed was comfy, enough pillows. air conditioning unit was good. bathroom whilst not massive was clean and modern. only thing it could do with would be a heated towel rail.
the tv in the room was a nice lcd samsung, only freeview channels but the bar downstairs had sport if you wanted to watch that. would have been nice to have an iron in the room. theres an ice machine by the lift which was a nice bonus. the public areas of the hotel are decorated to a high standard.
no parking at the hotel, i knew before hand that but didnt know that if you paid before 2pm at the staples/gala car park you could get 14hrs for £5 only. wish I had done that when I arrived would have been easier. however I just paid for 1hr in a local pay and display park and having lived in plymouth before then parked about 5 mins walk away towards st judes where its free.
the hotel is located near the centre not far to walk to anywhere.we never ate at the hotel so cant comment on food.
had a good nights sleep apart for the sound of a few slamming doors in the morning, the autoclose on them is a bit to harsh and makes then slam. if it hadnt been for that would have given this hotel 5 stars.much better than the worn out copthorne and travelodge. if they keep the price at £49 a night will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Recklinghausen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We travelled from Germany in a group of 32 - one person in a wheelchair. Excellent facilities for handicapped travellers.
Staff very helpful and accommodating - nothing too much trouble.
Choice of food excellent - a good breakfast. In the evenings a choice of three starters, then buffet main course. Starter and dessert served at the table.
Would definitely stay there again should I be in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol UK
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2010

Stayed one night to visit our daughter at Plymouth Uni. Location was spot on. Close to her and the Drake Circus shopping centre and within walking distance of the train station.
The hotel is modern, clean and bright. Receptionists were very friendly and helpful esp our check in one on November 6th.
The room was nice, spacious and clean but the view from the window was the back of the hotel, couldn't even see the street. Shame but it was only one night. If we stay again I'll ask to be at the back of the hotel where the views are.
Breakfast was very good. Buffet food but all very nicely cooked and plenty of choice. Only thing was our room key stopped working at 10.30 and check out is until 12.00 so we had to queue at reception to get a new one.
Very comfy bed after walking round plymouth for hours we slept very well!
Will return soon!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Plymouth

Address: 50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Plymouth has the perfect city centre location to explore the beautiful and history-rich city of Plymouth. The hotel is right beside the historic quarter and offers an easy 10 minute walk to the city hub which features the Drake Circus Retail Park, the Theatre Royal, the Barbican Maritime Village and Continental style Sutton Marina. For the outdoors lovers, the world-famous Dartmoor National Park is a 45 minute drive. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Plymouth Charles Cross car park, underneath Gala Bingo or at the Drake Circus Shopping Mall opposite the hotel. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Plymouth with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, JurysInn, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Jurys Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Plymouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.