We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Plymouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Plymouth to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Plymouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Bristol
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as a cheap way of spending a night in Plymouth.
The room was good, clean and with nothing to moan about.
The staff were helpful and polite.
Breakfast was a touch expensive - £8 if booked as a voucher in advance, £10 if paid on the day and this for a very average buffet grease-bound tepid affair - don't bother, there are several eateries close to that will give you a better meal at far less cost.
Overall a good place to stay, it's convenient for the centre of town and as a place to lay your head, hard to beat

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your post, we are glad you found our location convenient and our staff helpful and polite

Kind regards
Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

757 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    307
    211
    61
    37
See reviews for
139
215
57
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

After a last minute booking... Literally three hrs before checking in. We pleasantly arrived at The Jurys. Was welcomed wth polite quick efficient reception personnel. On arrival to the room on the seventh floor whch took seconds to find unlike other hotel experiences we found a clean tidy warm cosy room with EVERYTHJNG we needed for a short break even week stay if needed. The bar was kept clean tidy and friendly by the barmen.. Prices were normal. And the seating areas were spacious cosy and well mentained. Breakfast was fantastic. If u wanted it. It was there. I arrived a size 12 and left a size 14 im sure !!! The restaurant girls were clean tidy very polite and helpfull. A big warm thankq to which i presume was the rsstaurant manager who really wth his team couldnt do enuf. All in all a luvly experience. A great relaxing stay and minutes to walk into the city centre. Really wot more do u require??? As i work in a 4* hotel myself i therefore have quite high expectations of all which ticked and crossed all of my needs. Thankq team for a wonderful two day break HOWEVER my staff will b under scrutiny and a shake up when i return as compared to ur service heads will be rolling!!!! Thankq again ;)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear JoJo

Thank you very much for your brilliant post, the entire team is thrilled that they impressed a felow hospitality professional.
Come back soon.

Kind regards
Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Stayed here one night on business. Room on the 4th floor was fairly large, clean & comfortable. Bar area downstairs was relaxing & staff were friendly. Breakfast was only £8 if booked at check-in (£10 if you decided the next morning). Breakfast choice the next day was vast.

I will be staying here again next time I am in Plymouth on business.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your post. We are glad you found there was a wide range of breakfast items to tempt you.
I am delighted that you will choose Jurys Inn Plymouth next time you visit the city

Kind regards
Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Le Willows, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

What a nice find. We booked a triple room only and the booking procedure was straightforward
when we arrived there was a 3 staff on the reception and all 3 were pleasant and welcoming we were booked in in about 2 minutes and given our door cards. There was no hard sell of the hotels facilities such as the restaurant or coffee shop and they even took care of the car park fee (50% off through the hotel) which i didn't know about.
the room was spotless and had extra pillows and towels should we have needed them.
The only minor gripes are that it was a triple room but only had 2 cups but reception handled quickly and the wi fi was not free but once we had a drink at the bar i traded in the receipt for free internet password for 2 devices for 24hrs.

Room Tip: rooms at the rear are less noisy if you like the window open at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your post, we are pleased your stay was enjoyable and look forward to seeing you agin soon as we are so handy for the university.

Kind regards
Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night whilst meeting up with old friends. Check in efficient, room well supplied and comfortable for price. Breakfast expensive at £10 pp. Carpark confusing, must pay in hotel to get discount and ignore notices in carpark. Quite difficult to find the carpark as entrance on a busy roundabout so need to be in correct lane.
The hotel is very convenient for the town, university and Barbican areas. At the price it's very good value for an inner city hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We are pleased you found us to be a good value, convenient hotel that met your expectations.
Thank you for taking the time to post.

Kind regards
Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Room for 3 as we took our grandson to the Aquarium for a half term treat.
Plenty of room and nice and quiet on the 7th floor which we had read on Trip Advisor was best for views. We looked out over Smeaton's Tower (lighthouse) and the War Memorial in the near distance. Next time we will ask to have a room on the same floor but overlooking Sutton Harbour just for the change of view.
GOOD POINTS:
Staff all very helpful and happy.
Dinner in the bar good value and great portions, but a bit uncomfortable for dining.
Breakfast excellent, and even a microwave if you, like me, enjoy your food HOT.
Great central position for both shops and visitor attractions.
One niggle, the parking. The position is excellent but it is not clear how to work the system.
We arrived at the car park at 4pm and the sign says 24 hrs is £10. We knew from our booking confirmation that we could park from 5pm to 11am for £6 but no where on the car park price list does it say this. Having decided just to pay the £10 my wife went to Hotel reception to get £ coins and was given the change for a £10 note. Nothing else was said. When I asked next morning how the system works I was told we should have left the car in the car park, come to reception where they would register the car with Brittania car parks with no need for a ticket. ( if you are before 5pm just buy a tcket that takes you up to that time. ) This needs to be stated on the booking confirmation, we all know how important it is to obey parking regs to avoid clamping or towing away!!!

Room Tip: A high floor is better for the views and the lift is quick
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest

We are really pleased you had a good half term break, the Aquarium is one of Plymouth's best attractions for young and old. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.
As I see you live in Western, we will hopefully be seeing you again very soon.

Kind rgeards
Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Excellent hotel room immaculate staff helpful. would benefit from sorting a car park discount out as it cost £16 for 2 nights. Hotel handy for shopping primark across the road also handy for the barbican and only about 10 minutes away from the torpoint ferry if you have someone passing put.

Room Tip: look out for offers on cheap rooms we paid £87 for 2 nights in a family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen D, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest

Really pleased to hear you found us to be convenient, friendly and a bargain!!
Thank you for posting your review.

Helen Dymoke-Marr
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Plymouth

Address: 50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Plymouth has the perfect city centre location to explore the beautiful and history-rich city of Plymouth. The hotel is right beside the historic quarter and offers an easy 10 minute walk to the city hub which features the Drake Circus Retail Park, the Theatre Royal, the Barbican Maritime Village and Continental style Sutton Marina. For the outdoors lovers, the world-famous Dartmoor National Park is a 45 minute drive. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Plymouth Charles Cross car park, underneath Gala Bingo or at the Drake Circus Shopping Mall opposite the hotel. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Plymouth with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, JurysInn, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Jurys Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Jurys Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Plymouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.