We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a lovely break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jurys Inn Plymouth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Jurys Inn Plymouth to your Saves list
Jurys Inn Plymouth
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Had a lovely break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Short break to visit family . The location was to ideal for us and our room , although basic served our needs and was clean and comfortable . Staff were happy to help.We found the whole experience ok and we would return as it suited us fine.See you all again sion.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan P, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear karenandmatty,

Thank you for taking time to review Jurys Inn Plymouth.

I am glad that you had lovely break and enjoyed your stay with us. I am happy to hear that the staff were happy to help and the bedroom was clean and comfortable.

We look forward to welcome you again in future.

Regards,

Rohan Patel
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

941 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    380
    237
    70
    39
See reviews for
191
266
66
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We were very happy with our stay, centrally located for restaurants, bars and cafes. Very helpful staff, very clean rooms, and a lovely sea view from our room. Being in the back of the hotel it was fairly quiet. Would advise to drink outside of the hotel though as prices in the bar are a tad steep.

Room Tip: 818 quieter, lovely but small room with bath and shower and a great view of the Barbican and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan P, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review Jurys Inn Plymouth.

I am delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and you found our staff very helpful. Your feedback is very valuable and appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you in future .

Kind Regards

Rohan Patel
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Booked to stay here for 1 night so we didn't have to drive home following a friends wedding at the Barbican and was very disappointed.
I had booked online prior to going and booked a double room and had been looking forward to a nice bath before heading home. The room turned out to be a disabled room with an unrelaxing wet room and an uncomfortable bed.
The room itself was clean and spacious so not too bad however all night long we had to listen to bedroom doors slamming as there were no soft close on them.
Breakfast was included in our rate and I have to say it was absolutely foul.
The restaurant was packed with german bus tours and the kitchen clearly could not cope with so many people as most things were run out, what was there as part of the cooked breakfast was tasteless, greasy or cheap. The sausages were full of gristle so we ended up just having croissants.
The rate I'd paid for the night away wasn't cheap at all and was booked as a treat for me and my hubby as we rarely get a night away without children. It definitely was not value for money and although we loved our night out at the wedding and would stay in Plymouth again we most definitely will not be returning to Jurys Inn nor will we be recommending it to anyone either.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan P, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay at Juries Inn Plymouth.

I am really sorry that we did not meet your expectation on this occasion and you did not get the room with bath however it is good to hear the room was clean and spacious.

I would really appreciate if you could contact me on rohan_patel@jurysinns.com to discuss this further in detail.

Kind Regards,

Rohan Patel
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlboro, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

On a recent tour of the UK we stayed here for one night. When we went to our room it reeked of cigarette smoke. We called the desk and we got another room. Here we had a bunch of loud people in the room next to us who were yelling, singing, and banging on the walls till 4 am. I would never stay here again or I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan P, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Jurys Inn Plymouth.

I am really sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectation on this occasion .I have shared your feedback with relevant management team to ensure that this does not happen again in future. At Jurys inn we always strive to ensure every guest have exceptional experience so your feedback is much appreciated.

If you wish to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me on rohan_patel@jurysinns.com

Regards,

Rohan Patel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I stayed at his hotel for 2 nights in July. First impressions were good, reception very friendly and professional. Was disappointed with rooms, they looked tired and there was no safe in the room which you would think would be standard. There was a clear sign saying "dont leave valuables in room and use safety deposit boxes at reception" which makes you think things have gone missing before. All the safety deposit boxes were full so had to carry laptop etc around every time you went out. Breakfast was of poor quality and staff seemed un interested.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan P, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Jurys Inn Plymouth.

I am really sorry that we did not meet your expectation on this occasion however you found the staff friendly. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and have the excellent facility for all our guests. There is a safety deposit box available as an extra facility for our guests who wish to keep valuables in the box so that guests can have more relaxing stay.

If you wish to discuss anything further, please do not hesitate to contact me on rohan_patel@jurysinns.com

Kind Regards,

Rohan Patel
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel recently with my wife and our expectations were exceeded. The check in process was quick and easy, our room was very clean and spacious.

We had one issue with the television it would not switch on using the remote but I coped without it for one evening and spoke to the receptionist the following day about the issue who got the maintenance person to check it out. when we next went in to our room the tv was working and so was the remote. we were both very happy.

In particular, Lee on reception was very helpful, he was always very happy to see us and gave excellent service.

The breakfast was lovely, and we had a great choice of food and drink, however, my wife and I felt it was a little overpriced for what it was as we paid £10 each on the morning of the breakfast. The young girl (fion?) who greeted us on the podium was very rude, she was too busy to talk to us and sat us on a dirty table with no explanation as to what the breakfast was and how it worked. The other staff members seemed a lot more friendly, especially an older man who greeted us and said goodbye to us but we did not get his name and a girl called Mollie who asked if we were ok and explained the breakfast set up to us, she then returned later to ask if we had managed to get what we wanted.

We also visited the bar in the evening, and had a very pleasant experience. we were served quickly and enjoyed the atmosphere.

We would stay here again

Room Tip: Our room was located at the back of the hotel away from the busy main road, we found this to be a ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan P, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Berty,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Jurys Inn Plymouth.

I am very pleased to hear that we exceeded your expectation in all the departments of the hotel. I will pass over your feedback to Lee and Fiona for the service they delivered. It great to hear that the small issue you had with remote, was resolved very efficiently.

We look forward to welcome you again in future.

Kind Regards,

Rohan Patel
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed for one night and visited family during the day
Really nice hotel, bit stressful to park, park in the Drake Circus shopping parking. Had a really good breakfast, lots of choice for the fry-up types and healthy muesli types and for kids, too.
Walls were a bit thin so wouldn't plan on doing anything too noisy! Nice bathroom and bed, though, overall
Had a good stay, staff were friendly and the place was kept very clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohan P, Manager at Jurys Inn Plymouth, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Jessica,

Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay at Jurys Inn Plymouth

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and I am really happy to hear that you had very pleasant stay with us .I will pass over your feedback to our team who will aim to improve on the issue you had with noise.

Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to in the future.

Kind Regards,

Rohan Patel
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jurys Inn Plymouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jurys Inn Plymouth

Address: 50 Exeter Street, Plymouth PL4 0AZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Jurys Inn Plymouth 3*
Number of rooms: 247
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jurys Inn Plymouth has the perfect city centre location to explore the beautiful and history-rich city of Plymouth. The hotel is right beside the historic quarter and offers an easy 10 minute walk to the city hub which features the Drake Circus Retail Park, the Theatre Royal, the Barbican Maritime Village and Continental style Sutton Marina. For the outdoors lovers, the world-famous Dartmoor National Park is a 45 minute drive. The hotel features all day Costa Coffee bar, a stylish onsite bar to relax in after an eventful day in the city. You can enjoy a great selection of seasonal food and drink in our trendy restaurant which is open from 6:30am to 10am for breakfast and 6pm to 10:00pm for dinner. If you are arriving by car a nearby public car parking is available at Plymouth Charles Cross car park, underneath Gala Bingo or at the Drake Circus Shopping Mall opposite the hotel. Our comfortable bedrooms can accommodate up to 3 adults or 2 adults and 2 children. All rooms are furnished with large soft beds, spacious bathrooms with complimentary toiletries and a hair dryer, a flat screen TV with Freeview, and Free WiFi - guests who book direct with us enjoy Free Premium WiFi, best price guarantee, no booking fees and also earn points and get rewards with our loyalty programme. Enjoy warm welcome, comfortable rooms, seasonal menus and a memorable visit to Plymouth with Jurys Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, JurysInn, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Jurys Inn Plymouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Inn Plymouth Hotel Plymouth
Jurys Hotel Plymouth
Plymouth Jurys Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jurys Inn Plymouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.