We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good for walkers and cyclists” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Burrator Reservoir

Burrator Reservoir
Nr Yelverton, Plymouth PL20 6PE, England
01822 855700
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 94 Attractions in Plymouth
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Undisturbed Burrator is surrounded by mixed woodland which sharply contrasts with the open moor and rugged Dartmoor tors. The reservoir is popular with walkers, cyclists and horse riders due to its wealth of footpaths and bridleways. Many of the trails lead on to Dartmoor so it makes an ideal starting point for longer trips.The circular walk which follows the lanes around the water is ideal for families as it is easy going and flat. It will take between 1.5 - 2 hours to complete and is approximately 3.5 miles. Parking is possible at various locations including the Quarry car park, Norsworthy Bridge and the Dam.Low cost bank fishing for both rainbow and brown trout is available at this scenic water; permits are sold at the garage in Yelverton.Being within Dartmoor National Park we kindly request that you drive and park with consideration to other users and animals.The National Cycle Route 27 runs near to Burrator further information is available on the sustrans websiteIce cream vans visit the dam, Norsworthy Bridge and Sharpitor car park.
Paignton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good for walkers and cyclists”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

we had a lovely scenic walk around the reservoir, we certainly earned the 99 we had once we got back to the car!
Its great for picnics, although there are no toilet facilites along the route unless you don't mind going in the open!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Manager at Burrator Reservoir, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. The public toilets are located at Burrator Lodge. This is the big Granite building about 200m on from the dam. Glad you enjoyed Burrator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    79
    13
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“great place for horse riding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Somewhere of beauty all year round whatever the weather. a walk, ride,cycle or horse, the scenery is always changing, once upon a long time ago,my friends and I hired some horses from a local stable, for a trek around the resivior , well the horse my chum was on was a Suffolk punch ,who decided he wanted his lunch and took off through the forestry pines not the regular track. When the guide and we caught up with him he was green head to foot ,pine needles stuck to his new levis. After this it alway makes me chuckle every visit.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Manager at Burrator Reservoir, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Burrator is a great place for horse riding, and the forest really does change throughout the seasons. Your story is a great one... i'm sure there may be a few tales to tell of Burrator over the years
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Lovely place to visit, plenty of parking and lots to explore. Not set on which roads to take and which route can just go with your heart and take which ever direction you fancy. Can get very busy though, and is very popular with runners and cyclists.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Manager at Burrator Reservoir, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. With over 30 miles of footpaths around Burrator, you really can go in any direction you choose. Evenings and midweek days tend to be the quietest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely views and nice walks.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Stopped off here on a trip down to Cornwall. Stayed close by in yelverton at a lovely b&b called the rosemont.

This reservoir is very large and very pretty.

Just down the road from here is another car park which we got out at and walked along a lovely babbling river with tiny waterfalls. We walked along this until we got to the top of the tor where we had beautiful views of the reservoir. Would recommend this walk at the stream was very peaceful and even though it was Sunday and the carpal was nearly full we only happened upon ponies and sheep and about 2 other people.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Manager at Burrator Reservoir, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. The best thing about Burrator, is that you can escape the crowds easily within 10 mins of the car park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

A lovely place to visit for some peace and quiet. Makes a lovely romantic walk and provides some amazing backdrops for photos. You can walk around the reservoir only or venture off up the many hills & tors that surround it. Well worth the drive, cycle or bus journey there. Take some drinks as there are no places to buy any from once there.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil R, Manager at Burrator Reservoir, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. There is now a new bus service to Burrator on Sundays and Bank holidays. I'm all for days out without a car.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Burrator Reservoir also viewed

 

Been to Burrator Reservoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burrator Reservoir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.