We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Premier Inn Plymouth - Sutton Harbour

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Premier Inn Plymouth - Sutton Harbour to your Saves list
Premier Inn Plymouth - Sutton Harbour
28 Sutton Road, Plymouth PL4 0HX, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rooms from £62
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Recently stayed here while working/visiting a site in the Plymouth area. As per many of my stays they are paid for by my company, however I try and give the fellow traveler an honest review of the hotels where I stay.
This Premier Inn is located within the Sutton Harbour area and is adjacent to a second Premier Inn (Lockyers Quay).
As with most Premier Inns, what you see is what you get, which is usually a clean, tidy and functional hotel. Since I last stayed here (around 2007) the hotel has been modernised and now has a smart integral restaurant that has a fairly decent selection of food, which I found to be well prepared / cooked. The only gripe is the car park is small and if you don't arrive early enough to secure a space, you are diverted next door to the other Premier Inn. This is ok but again this car park can get full especially with additional people using the car park when visiting the pub. Also on this particular occasion it was raining which meant I got wet heading back to my hotel.
Over all I can't fault my stay and would recommend this location to anyone thinking of visiting Plymouth.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    223
    59
    34
    28
See reviews for
190
204
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I stay here several times a year and the service and the inn are always of a very high standard. The reception teams were helpful and friendly throughout our stay and extremely efficient. The rooms were spotlessly clean and spacious. Looking forward to our next stay already!!!

Room Tip: Ask for Harbourside if possible as the back of the hotel is on a main road and the 'clubbing rou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

stayed here for one night 2 weeks ago as we were catching the ferry early the next morning to visit relatives in france. Receptionist was very friendly (sorry don't remember name ) and welcoming, asked us if we wanted to book breakfast but we couldn't due to leaving so early it was a nice thought though to ask us. we quickly but bags away and went to the restaurant for a quick bit to eat. food was lovely had a shared platter waiter that evening was excellent and we were served quickly. the room was nice and cool window was open on arrival and fan on. we didn't need it on for the rest of the nite and was able to sleep comfortably with window shut. room was clean and of a good size. shower was nice and powerful. It was a cool evening unsure if I would stay in summer as I don't like to get too hot so would maybe that time of year book where there is aircon. overall we had a lovely nice sleep and woke up feeling very refreshed just what we wanted. we have already booked for a nite in march as we are going to france again for the bargain price of £29 as we need a room only again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newquay
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Booked here for last Sunday for my husband and I. Doing a bit of Christmas shopping. Just staying the l night. Got the room for £29 which was very pleasing as we are in the seniors bracket. NOW not only were we pleased with the room, it had a harbour view. The room and bathroom were immaculate. King/ Queen sized bed and it was so comfortable. There were two fans in the room. We left the window open all night and it was fine. It would not put us off going again. Great value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a nice view when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Came back to Plymouth again as the wife loves the shopping and every thing about Plymouth.The hotel offers free parking which is more than you get at the other big chain hotels in the area and is not that far away from the city centre, the barbican and quays are right next door with all pubs and resturants you need.The staff were really helpful and very pleasant and the room was just as good as all the other times I have stayed at a premier inn will always stay in this hotel or the inn next door when visiting plymouth

Room Tip: see if you can get the top floor facing the harbour very quiet and good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alencon, France
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The good bits. The staff were friendly. The location is good for the touristy Barbican area.
The bad bits. We read that there was no air conditioning in the summer and the hotel had had lots of complaints. We arrived in November, rain and 10°C. The windows was open and a noisy mobile air conditioner was blasting chilled air into our room. We asked reception if this was normal they said "Yes, if you turn it off the room gets very hot and stuffy. So you have to have the window open, with the plastic air vent pipe sticking out, with the noise of a very busy road, the air conditioning box on wheels making a racket and blasting cold air into the room. If you don't then the room is really stuffy, airless and hot (without any heating on). All because some numpty at a Whitbread board meeting must have thought it was a good way to save a few quid by not bothering to put in air conditioning at this premier inn. In the family rooms space is already tight without having the mobile conditioner with its pipes and wires taking up one corner. Other people had disconnected theirs and left them in the corridors.
The other inexcusable fault was that during a two day stay no-one cleaned the room or changed the towels. We left the dirty towels in the bath as requested and made sure there were no signs left on our door (do not disturb etc) but no-one bothered to make the bed, clean the room empty bins, change glasses, cups etc. It was clear they had not entered our room at all.
We asked the reception desk if this was normal. The girl replied that the room should have been cleaned and she came up and handed us some towels and a few teabags. After complaining the room still was not cleaned at all. The floor of the lift was so sticky your shoes stuck to it.
The girl offered us a free breakfast but as all we eat is some yoghurt and toast it was hardly a great gesture. Cleaning the room after a guest complains would have been more welcome and useful.
Premier Inns usually get it right. We previously stayed at Premier INN Newton Abbot and found the hotel excellent. However this Premier Inn put us right off.

Room Tip: The back ones face a busy road and the front ones a nice port view but more noise. I would advise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Plymouth - Sutton Harbour, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel fell far short of your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated. Thank you once again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

From the moment we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful the room was ready early so we could drop our bags and go into the Barbican. We were offered papers etc and shown the dining area. Breakfast was really good value and again the staff really happy and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Premier Inn Plymouth - Sutton Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Plymouth - Sutton Harbour

Address: 28 Sutton Road, Plymouth PL4 0HX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#9 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Plymouth - Sutton Harbour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Plymouth (Sutton Harbour) Hotel Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Premier Inn Plymouth - Sutton Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.