We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had lunch here.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Elfordleigh Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Elfordleigh Hotel to your Saves list
Elfordleigh Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colebrook, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“We had lunch here.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a very disappointing lunch here - the food was just ok, the kitchen seems to be an awful long way from the dining room and all the food seemed to be only warmish by the time it got to the table. Our waitess was very young and inexperienced, we asked about some of the items on the menu and she had NO idea what she was talking about and had to go and ask - we asked for coffee at the end of the meal, which took 20 mins to come and the place was empty, so it was not as if they were busy - terrible service, we would not return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are very sorry to hear about your recent experience at the Elfordleigh and that we were not able to meet your expectations. Even if the restaurant was used during a quiet period this cannot be an excuse and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
The level of service you experienced was not at all acceptable as it is our objective to offer customers value for money for the food and service provided.
We have on going training for customer service and it is hoped this situation will be addressed with the member of staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    69
    44
    27
    17
See reviews for
40
70
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

My wife and I had to make a visit across county to my father holes up in the Derriford hospital for several weeks, and his home wasn't available, so we were delighted to find the Elfordleigh in its delightful surroundings close by. It meant we could turn our three day visit into a holiday!
LateRooms got us a good deal and we made the most of the wonderful leisure facilities (similar to our place in Austria), the indoor pool and jacuzzis, steam room and sauna, before a drink in the bar and dinner.
Staff were friendly and welcoming, and the food on the 2-course menu was very novel, pigeon for starters, and lamb medallions especially. Good local Real Ale was on tap, too.
Our room had a rather small double bed (No 15), but it was cold outside!
The location was ideal for exploring Dartmoor, Plymouth Hoe and the coastal villages around newton Ferrers.
Golf greens and tees surround this old building, and the grounds are very nicely developed for a good game. Other sports available include squash, gym and running
My wife and I were delighted our week off turned out so well, and so is Dad in his recovery!

Room Tip: The building faces south, so ask for a room with a sunny morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for the positive comments after your stay with us.
We are pleased you had a relaxing time and made use of the extensive leisure facilities at the Elfordleigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Myself and my fiancee stayed a few days at Elfordleigh around Christmas this year to get away from the busy city and to relax. We had a most pleasant stay!

The view was beautiful (despite the rain), and we had long enjoyable walks around the grounds (even though we don't play golf). Plymouth was easy to visit, and the spa was perfect for relaxation. Top marks for the fish and chips as well!

The visit perfectly filled out need for a relaxing and enjoyable getaway in the countryside.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had New Years Eve at the Elfordleigh with family and friends. We all said that is was the best New Year we've had. The food was excellant, the staff were very accommodating and the whole atmosphere of the night was brilliant. We will definately go again next year and try to get even more to join us. Thanks Elfordleigh for a great night, see you again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments which are greatly appreciated after a very busy end to the year for us.
We look forward to seeing you again at the Elfordleigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We recently went to the Elfordleigh for a family and friends lunch, there were 42 of us altogether.
It was a very cold day, and the hotel had very little heating and we spent a lot of the time with our coats on, we had chosen the traditional roast beef, however when we tried to eat it we were shocked to find it was almost raw, when we complained we were offered alternative meals, but by this time we were put off, and if we had wanted pork or turkey we would of ordered it to begin with. The worst part was, when we complained to the management, no one responded to us, despite several e mails and phone calls, when I finally spoke to the general manager, she was very un-professional, never apologised, I asked for the contact details of the owner, but was told he lived in Hungary and did not understand English ! Will not be returning any time soon.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elfordleigh1, Manager at Elfordleigh Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Firstly can we apologise for not meeting your expectations on this occasion.
We are sorry to hear the room was cold for you during a period of very cold weather. The function rooms do have central heating and double glazing and our Functions Manager will ensure the room is at the right tempature prior and during the event.
Head Chef cooks the roast beef medium to satisfy the requirements of most customers. If it is a little rare then a member of the waiting staff can simply replace it if requested.
We have hosted many Chritmas events this year with lots of satisfied customers and numerous letters of praise regarding the quality of food and service. We are of course saddened to hear your comments.
As you can imagine this is a very busy time of the year for us and difficult to reply to every email and telephone call immediately.
We would of course like to see you again at the Elfordleigh and offer a bottle of wine from the management as a token of goodwill.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked a long weekend at the Elfordleigh to coincide with a relation's Golden Wedding Celebration.
The room (Sunningdale) was was very large, comfortable and clean but scheduled for refurbishment. It had a fabulous view across the golf course and countryside. The bathroom had a large bath and separate shower.
We dined in the restaurant on one evening with a couple of other family members, all staying there at the same time, and found the table d'hote menu reasonably priced and food good.
The Golden Wedding Celebration meal was very good and the event went well.
Throughout the weekend we were well attended by all staff from the time we arrived to the time we left. They were all helpful and pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

When we booked we were promised a room with a view and got a room with a view of beer barrels, but they did change us to a better room, room 22 carpet is threadbare, and furniture is dated, good shower/bath, breakfast was £8.95 extra, but needs to be fresh fruit not tinned at that price, plus don't serve blue cheese for breakfast it was left over from wedding the day before. breakfast room was a bit tired and needs updating

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Elfordleigh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elfordleigh Hotel

Address: Colebrook, Plympton, Plymouth PL7 5EB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elfordleigh Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For that somewhere truly extra special, why look anywhere else? You are warmly invited to relax, unwind and saviour the unique atmosphere that is, the Elfordleigh. Set within spectacular South Devon countryside, yet only minutes away from the main A38, Devon Expressway and the heart of Plymouth, the Elfordleigh offers the perfect location whether your visit be business or pleasure. At Elfordleigh we pride ourselves on offering the finest food and wines. At the very heart of the hotel is the spacious and comfortable Brasserie serving light meals and tempting snacks throughout the day. Enjoy the splendid views from the Brasserie Terrace. Just a step or two away is the classically styled Churchill's Restaurant. With its adjoining airy conservatory, this elegant restaurant provides the perfect setting for fine dining, with menus to suit even the most discerning palettes. All residents have free use of the leisure centre, which includes a fully equipped gym, indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Elfordleigh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elfordleigh Hotel Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elfordleigh Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.