We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food Safety & Hygiene Suspect” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Lopes Arms

The Lopes Arms
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lopes Arms
Save
You added The Lopes Arms to your Saves list
27 - 29 Tavistock Road | Roborough, Plymouth PL6 7BD, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 85 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food Safety & Hygiene Suspect”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

My wife visited the premises for lunch with her mother on Friday 6th June 2014. Within 3 hours of eating the beef lasagne, she was ill - all the signs of food poisoning. It has taken her until today, to start recovering.
This premises may have had previous good reviews, but be warned, hygiene and food safety suspect.
Unfortunately, as we have never experienced this before, we have been informed that one has to visit a GP for tests. Once confirmed as food poisoning, Public Health contact and inform the Environmental Health Officer who covers the premises in question. Had we known, we would have visited the GP at an early stage. Now it is too late because we will not receive an appointment until next week.
No one else in the family is or has been ill. No one my wife has been in contact with has been ill. How this occurred, could be due to many reasons. Perhaps, the beef lasagne was reheated or cooked insufficiently.
However, once bitten twice shy - none of our family or friends will be risking a visit to the premises again. If you must visit the premises, definitely avoid the beef lasagne.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I ate hear for lunch late Saturday afternoon with our 2 children. The child's meals were huge and decent quality, my husband had the homemade scotch eggs can defiantly recommend, I had the beef sizzling fajitas they were beauful full of flavour cooked to perfection, service was brilliant what a lovely pub!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Amazing place, outstanding food. Lovely staff. This is our favourite place to eat out.
So much so we had our wedding reception here and it was the best place and best day ever x
Lovely big garden for the children to play bring on the summer x

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Popped out there for a drink and bite to eat 7 adults 1 baby. Excellent staff. amazing,first visit and most certainly NOT the last. Can't rate it highly enough food was delicious portion size very generous. Really nice easy going atmosphere too. Thanks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I make several business trips a year to a company in Roborough and have discovered this local hotel ideally suited to me. The accommodation is basic but more than adequate. The food is excellent with a broad menu and a varying selection of specials. The portions are generous and filling. The staff are a happy bunch who are more than willing to go out of their way to help you. If you are not dining there is a welcoming pub atmosphere where you feel quite at home. More recently I have brought my wife to stay with me so she can do some sightseeing around Devon and Cornwall
I can recommend this hotel to any one who wants to visit the area.

Room Tip: You have a choice of single, double or multiple rooms but that will depemd on availability
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Daughter wanted to try Lopes for Lunch as I had been couple of times with friends. Nice freshly cooked pub food, friendly service with reasonable prices. Good choice of food on Specials board and they have Steak nights as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Having eaten here before four of us decided we would go there again to see if it wasn't just a one off last time, I am very glad to say it was even better than the previous visit
The portions are very good for every meal we had no complaints what so ever for value, service and food,so keep up the good work.
Can't wait to return

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lopes Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lopes Arms

Address: 27 - 29 Tavistock Road | Roborough, Plymouth PL6 7BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lopes Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.