We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lamplighter

The Lamplighter
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Lamplighter
Save
You added The Lamplighter to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   103 Citadel Rd | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 85 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

The Lighterman were able to accommodate us despite a late booking and arrival on Easter Sunday (we couldn't arrive before 10pm).
Our room was clean, tidy and more than we expected.
The staff were friendly and accommodating.
We have enjoyed our stay and will be back again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2010

We stayed at Lamplighter for 3 nights in Feb 2010. It was a lovely warm room with ensuite. The bed was comfy and the TV had lots of channels. The breakfast was really nice. Chap who owns Lamplighter is genuine and really friendly. We would stay again- no questions. The location is central to Plymouth Barbican and Hoe and in walking distance to shops/pubs etc.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2009

We stayed here for three nights...Nigel and his staff are very friendly and welcoming nothing is too much trouble for them .The breakfasts are plentiful as much as you want !We stayed in room 5 which was ensuite and both the room and bathroom were very clean .The bed was very comfy and the pillows were better than mine at home ( so I asked where they came from ) all in all we had a very nice long weekend in comfy surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

To be completely honest, I was getting a little desperate when I booked the Lamplighter Guesthouse as available en-suite options were fast running out for the period and price that we wanted to stay for in Plymouth. The Lamplighter Guesthouse offered a double room that wasn’t en-suite but had a shower in the room and a private separate toilet. As this sounded better than other available shared bathroom options, I went ahead and booked. The room was of a decent size and there was indeed a shower in the corner of the room! There wasn’t a privacy problem though as there was a separate curtain that you could pull around the glass enclosure shower cubicle, and there was an extractor fan to clear away the steam when showering. Our toilet was just a short flight of stairs away and we had our own personal key to access it so no-one else would be using it. The furniture in the room was a little dated, but was kept nice and clean. The tea and coffee making facilities are also generous (not the measly three portions of tea bags, coffee and milk pots that some hotels think is enough). They also leave biscuits – what can I say?
The landlord Nigel was friendly, as was his staff. Breakfast was served between 6:30 am and 8:30 am, which was a little early, but was freshly prepared and plentiful. We had the option of having either or all of: cereals, toast, full English (bacon, sausage, hash brown, beans, egg and mushrooms), tea/coffee and orange juice. If we wanted more, we only needed to ask.
The location of the Lamplighter is a plus, as it is just one street away from the famous Plymouth Hoe. Even though the guesthouse is in a parking control zone this is not a problem as the guesthouse has its own parking spaces to the rear of the property.
If we were going to be staying in Plymouth again I would not hesitate to book the Lamplighter Guesthouse again; but next time I would try to book in plenty of time to get one of their en-suite rooms.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lamplighter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lamplighter

Address: 103 Citadel Rd | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2RN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lamplighter 3*
Number of rooms: 9

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lamplighter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.