We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewells Guest House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Jewells Guest House to your Saves list
Jewells Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   220 Citadel Road, Plymouth PL1 3BB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 84 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Clean and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

As a young professional and stayed in a single room at Jewell's a few weeks in a row while working in Plymouth. Each time I stayed I was greeted by friendly staff who took a genuine interest in my day and trip, a very clean and tidy room, with simple and crisp looking decor, all at a reasonable price.
The breakfast was lovely. I am a vegetarian and offered a lovely selection.
The location is great, close to the hote and a short walk from the city centre.
When I am back again and fancy a bit of luxury, I will definitely be back at Jewell's!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    30
    10
    0
    5
See reviews for
18
30
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

The lady of the house was really nice, and the place was also nice. The kids shared a single bed. Don't think they slept as well as they could have. The breakfasts were definitely nice - but I did have to give up hope of having my tea. Good thing I prefer coffee. The choice of television channels could have been better as we were with kids. A few children's books would have been even better, but I AM indebted to the Hostess for the tip on where to buy children's books. We got a lot at a very reasonable price. Be sure to ask! (at those prices, you could even leave one or two there for the other guests - I wish I had thought of that before now).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Very nice hosts excellent clean room with a very comfortable bed. We were allowed to park our two motorcycles on their gated parking space. Would definately recommend this B&B to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Fantastic b&b lovelly, clean, friendly, great location, very good breakfast. Can't fault it

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Beware. We booked Jewell hotel in March 2011 for a family reunion due to take place in September for a Thursday and Friday night.. We were travelling from the North West to Plymouth and among our group of 5 middle aged adults was a 80yr old lady. The booking was made after serious research and ensuring all aspects of our visit would be planned. The proprietor accepted our telephone booking and declined a deposit saying that it would not be needed. Sadly we never insisted on a confirmation and have learned a lesson since. A week before we arrived my partner contacted the proprietor and was assured the booking was in order and confirmed that we required 3 rooms for both nights and that the elderly lady required a easy accessible room. All was in order. Two days prior to travelling the proprietor contacted my partner saying there was a problem and he had noticed that we had only booked one room for the Friday night. This was nonsense as we had booked for both nights. The distress and upset this caused was not measurable. The proprietor assured us on the Tuesday night that we were not to worry and he would sort it. We contacted him again on the Wednesday, the day before we travelled and were told he had made arrangements for us to have rooms at the next door B&B , Ashgrove house. His attitude was at the least cavalier and unconcerned. At that late hour we had no alternative but to accept. Several calls were made to Jewell hotel and remonstrations that we had booked some time earlier and had confirmed that booking a week prior and all was in order. The proprietor blamed his female staff yet during one call when speaking to a female staff member she said the error had been obvious and she had no idea why the proprietor had told us the booking was confirmed. Sadly now so close to the travelling date we had no confidence in this person or his arrangements so arranged alternative accommodation. Suprisingly the proprietor of jewelL then furnished the Proprietor of Ashgrove house with our names that were incorrect and also false credit card details. We had never supplied any details to this man as he refused to take any deposit etc. This was clearly to add some genuine substance to his own incompetence. My view is that he has bordered on a criminal act. To conclude we never stayed at Ashgrove house as on arriving we looked and saw on the outside the establishment looked tired and grubby. Coupled with the poor reviews we had made a good decision. As for the proprietor of Jewell it is obvious he had a better offer and clearly double booked out our rooms possibly for the full weekend. Sadly the proprietor of Ashgrove house was embroiled in this but both parties should realise without customers they would not exist. If they cant be genuine and offer a first class service they will not get customers. Any future travellers beware of the practices of this man, he will let you down at the last minute and lie to cover his tracks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for a couple of nights and thought it was clean, double bed was big and very comfortable. Had a basement room which wasn't ideal as we felt we shouldn't leave the window open as found a guest using the small patio by our room as a smoking area, using the fire exit door next to our room. But apart from that, bathroom was big power shower, room had big tele wardrobe space and dresser...important for us girls.
Owners was very friendly and helpful and cooked great cooked breakfast. You can tell the food they give is good quality.
I definitely recommend this place, price is reasonable, off street parking free from 6pm-10am which is fine if you are out visiting other places all day or it's £2 all day. It is walking distance to sights and restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

lovley well kept hotel with very welcoming hosts will do anythig to help.
the noly negative coment woud be the doube matress in the family room needes to be replaced not a very good nights sleep the single was much more comfy
will go again but may ask if its been replaced or a different room

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jewells Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jewells Guest House

Address: 220 Citadel Road, Plymouth PL1 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Jewells Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Jewells Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jewell Plymouth Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewells Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.