We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Valentine's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boringdon Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Boringdon Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Boringdon Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Colebrook Plympton, Plymouth PL7 4DP, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Bottle of Wine
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Valentine's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We got married here in 2000, and my wife arranged to visit again for Valentine's this year. The hotel has definitely moved forward. Warm reception by staff as always, and very clean, comfortable room. Food choice was excellent, as was the service from the staff. They also had a singer crooning away to Frank Sinatra and brat pack songs. Would definitely recommend this hotel. We need more of this quality in Plymouth.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marketingnqyhotels, Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Paul,

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Boringdon Hall and you had an enjoyable Valentine's celebration. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards

Sophie Kelly (Social Media Manager) and the Boringdon Hall Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    147
    49
    18
    14
See reviews for
124
301
11
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

We've just enjoyed a long weekend in London, the highlight of which was our stay at The Milestone Hotel.

It is impossible to criticize or find fault with anything. The staff are warm, welcoming, attentive & friendly - in short, they turn an outstanding hotel into a truly great hotel. The food is amazing !
Breakfast outstanding.

In future, it will be our home from home when visiting Plymouth

We cannot recommend Borringdon Hall too highly, nobody will be disappointed by their stay.
Thank you Laura For all your help, we are looking forward to our next visit .

Room Tip: The royal suite is amazing. " Jacuzzi under the Stars"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Nick,

Thank you for your wonderful review and your lovely comments regarding the team - they were thrilled with the feedback.

We may be biased but we would have to agree with your comments about the Royal Suite!

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon,

Laura and all the team at Boringdon Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Wow was the first impression as we approached the hotel, a well maintained old building, although a little difficult to make out how to get to reception but once inside we could not of asked for better service from the reception staff. A little disappointed that 1. there is no parking facilities close to the main entrance for disabled and to get to all rooms entailed some stairs,BUT, the receptionist ensured we were comfortable with the room location and the offer was extended for assistance to get our baggage to the room. The room was all that was expected and the hospitality by ALL staff throughout our stay was second to done. The hotel gave maximum assistance to my daughter throughout the arrangements and ON the day to ensure it was exactly what they had agreed and she was ONE happy lady at the end of the ceremonies.The location is ideal for visiting Devon or Cornwall (although I'm a local lad) with the moors right on the door step. WELL done to ONE and ALL at the Boringdon and Thank you.



Brian Crago

Room Tip: should one have mobility problems then a call to the hotel is recommended as I am 100% certain they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for your lovely review and we are so pleased that we were able to be part of your families special day,

Hope to celebrating many more happy occasions with yourselves,

Laura and all the team at Boringdon Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Room,staff and hotel were fabulous, kitchen were thoughtful but really need to up their game, food was not as hot and fresh as expected, rump steak was inedible, sweets had obviously been made quite some time in advance and therefore we're refrigerated and stuck to the plate as were the truffles, not sure how long the wine had been opened but the one glass I had did not agree at all with me and I was very poorly throughout the night so really didn't enjoy as I should have. We did not have breakfast due to dodgy tums over night but we're still charged £24. Really disappointed as had saved up for what we thought was going to be top notch stay we left feeling very flat.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Kara,

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us during your special stay, we are very disappointed as we normally get very good feedback regarding the food and this is not to the normal high standards we would expect of ourselves,

We would like to discuss this with you further in order to improve going forwards, please feel free to contact myself in order to discuss this with the Executive Chef,

Best Wishes,

Laura Cameron
manager@newquay-hotels.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisedriver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was staying over mid week for business in Plympton and was about to book somewhere in Plymouth when someone recommended this place to me.

Booked through my corporate travel agent, it was exceptionally good value for money - with a large double with breakfast just a few pounds above our normal 'rest of UK' threshold.

Lets just say that it is a fantastic 500 year old property that is crammed full of style and helpful, friendly staff. The food was fantastic, the wifi was free ( I'm a yorkshireman, we don't pay for anything we can't see ) , the room was brilliant. One of the best nights sleep I've had in ages.

Now I hope they get permission to build their health spa, because then this would be the ultimate place. But part of me also hopes that it takes a while, as with a Spa attached, this place would probably zoom away out of my budget.

Thank you for a brilliant stay

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for picking Boringdon for your short trip! We are delighted that you were recommended to us and that you enjoyed a great nights sleep!

Hope to see you again soon - maybe for a bit longer!

Laura and all the team at Boringdon Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kitchener
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Boringdon Hall surpassed our expectations as a stately Elizabethan estate. The property is beautifully maintained and very private from its modern neighbours. Our room in the courtyard wing was immaculate having a very comfortable bed and gorgeous ensuite bathroom. To walk the steps that Eliz I, Raleigh (et al) once did, was truly amazing to say the least. It's not surprising that Boringdon is very popular for destination weddings. Breakfasts and dinners were fabulous in the gallery overlooking the great hall with its 25 foot ceilings, and all staff were very courteous One morning while eating breakfast, we were treated to the filming of the pantomime "Robin Hood" complete with professional actors who didn't mind chatting with us. During our 3 week road trip, Boringdon Hall proved to be an unforgettable stay!

Room Tip: Inside courtyard rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we are thrilled that you got to experience Boringdon during your road trip and especially that you were able to see the filming of Robin Hood whilst you were here! Perfect timing!!

We hope that you will be able to come and visit us again soon,

Laura and all the team at Boringdon Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

I stay in circa 50 hotels+ per annum, so am fairly jaded when it comes to hotels, but we had to make a family visit to Plymouth, so did a Tripadvisor search and were faced with the above hotel or a Travelodge

Having stayed in the Travelodge previously (OK but no surprises - you get what you pay for), we thought we'd try somewhere different. We used Tripadvisor to check hotels and checked the Boringdon Hall

The room was fantastic, great bathroom, the bedroom was very comfortable and the lighting ambient and well thought out. The reception were friendly and helpful as were all the staff. The location and ambience were a really pleasant surprise

Around 40 rooms - a wedding venue, so be careful - it could be busy.

It is a hidden treasure so I am hesitant to recommend it as would prefer it kept quiet - but they deserve recognition. They will be opening a Spa in October which will, I suspect, change the character and also increase the prices. A weekend room only deal was £180 so not the cheapest, but experiencing it and seeing the building alone were worth the fee. We tried the bar which was good, but would benefit from a real ale if possible. The fireplace is spectacular as are the 25' ceiling to floor windows. Breakfast is in the gallery restaurant which gives a view over the bar and presumably evening meals are served here - but we went to family do's so can't comment. We did check the menu which looked suitably in keeping with t he hotel form a price and quality perspective.


The staff complement the hotel by all being friendly, caring and helpful....

A tribute to them and the management...

We will comeback after they have built the Spa

Room Tip: Try room 29 to be as far from the main recreational centres as possible - noise not a problem, but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LauraCameron, Group Operations Manager at Boringdon Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Tim,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us at Boringdon Hall and we couldn't agree more about the fireplace!

I have passed your kind comments onto the team and we look forward to welcoming you back next year when the Spa is open

Kind Regards,

Laura and all the team at Boringdon Hall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boringdon Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boringdon Hall Hotel

Address: Colebrook Plympton, Plymouth PL7 4DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Plymouth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
#2 Luxury Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Family Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Boringdon Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the edge of the idyllic Dartmoor National Park and just five minutes from the vibrant marine town of Plymouth, the Four-Star Silver Boringdon Hall Hotel provides a peaceful and tranquil refuge from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. The earliest mention of Boringdon Hall can be found in the 1086 Domesday Book and from that day forward Boringdon has chronicled a rich and fascinating history. Retaining its traditional charm and historic character to this day, Boringdon successfully combines the atmosphere of a bygone era with the comforts of modern day living. Offering the very best of English hospitality, Boringdon Hall Hotel has a total of 41 en-suite bedrooms – ranging from majestic four-poster bedrooms with burnished oak panelling and exquisite antique furniture in the oldest part of the Hotel to newly refurbished, stylish courtyard rooms in the recently converted wings. There is also an Executive Suite for those looking to combine modern accommodation with the charm of a historic building. Each bedroom has its own unique ambiance, whether you are on a honeymoon, short break or away on business we can help you find your perfect room. All rooms are en-suite and come fitted with flat screen LCD TVs and tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Prestigia and Odigeo so you can book your Boringdon Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boringdon Hall Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boringdon Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.