We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Proper English Pub with good selection of ales” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fortescue Hotel

Fortescue Hotel
37, Mutley Plain, Plymouth PL4 6JQ, England
01752660673
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #76 of 527 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: English
Description: A fantastic Real Ale House in Plymouth, 9-10 Real Ales and Real Cider too...an oasis in a desert of rubbish bars and crappy pubs. The Sunday Roast at £4.99 is a must! At other times feel free to bring in your own food from the myriad of food outlets in the near vicinity.
Restaurant details
Description: A fantastic Real Ale House in Plymouth, 9-10 Real Ales and Real Cider too...an oasis in a desert of rubbish bars and crappy pubs. The Sunday Roast at £4.99 is a must! At other times feel free to bring in your own food from the myriad of food outlets in the near vicinity.
Plymouth
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Proper English Pub with good selection of ales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

This is our local pub. We love it as they are super dog friendly even offering our dog a water bowl and dog treats whilst we drink there. Staff are really friendly.

Drinks are very reasonably priced, they have a beer garden too.

There is a lovely lady that cleans the pub who gives all the dogs treats when she's in there drinking.

We haven't tried their sunday roast yet but as a drinking establishment its very nice.

It's a traditional pub so not a super modern venue but i kind of like that about it.

Pop in for a drink and see for yourself.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    7
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Fantastic value Sunday Lunch with superb beer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

I've always been a fan of real ales and took the opportunity to call in at The Fort, as it's affectionately known locally, last Sunday lunchtime.

What can I say? A selection of about 8 varied and well kept real ales greeted me and although I couldn't try them all, every one I tried was excellent. I would particularly recommend the Devon Dumpling which was delicious.

I noticed that virtually all the customers were having the Sunday lunch and we decided to give it a whirl. A well priced and tasty roast served with amazing Spingo gravy.

A special thanks to bar assistant Claire, her lovely smile and friendly personality made our visit complete. Well done to all concerned, a wonderful pub.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Fun at the Fortescue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The Fortescue is a great place to wine and dine, it has a fantastic selection of real ales and does a great Sunday roast including a vege option. The Fortescue is dog friendly so there is always a bowl of water waiting to greed your thirsty companions. This has to be Plymouth's finest public house.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
357 reviews 357 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2,413 helpful votes 2,413 helpful votes
“Exceptional pub but currently just carvery style food some days.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Maybe not yet quite worthy of its high place among the restaurants and cafes. I have tried the food which is better than OK but the real strength of the Fortescue is the lively busy friendly feel of a traditional laid back pub with a fine selection of very well kept and varying real ales. I would not come here to eat, other than incidentally, but I would and do come here often for a few pints.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spingosteve, Manager at Fortescue Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thanks so much for the review, and we're glad you enjoy the pub as a great venue for a great pint, i'm not sure how we ended up in the restaurant section but here we are, just to clarify the only food we serve is our famous 'Sunday Roast' from 12-3.30, we've got a massive regular following and regularly do 150 meals in 3.5 hours. I guess the high rating comes because of the quality of the fresh food (and the exclusive Spingo Gravy) and also because of the great price of only £4.99.
I've noticed that a lot of the reviews have spoken about us as a great pub (Thank you!) but we do aim to be the best in everything we do which means our ale, atmosphere and our Sunday roasts. So we won't rest until we're no.1 in everything..... always....it's good to aim high.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Local”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

A very friendly local pub that welcomes all, the Fort is a place theat provides a bit for everyone.
Pet friendly, even on Sundays when lunhc is being served.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fortescue Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Fortescue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fortescue Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.