We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More Places Like This Please” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Plymouth Arts Centre Restaurant

Plymouth Arts Centre Restaurant
38 Looe St, Plymouth PL4 0EB, England
+44 1752 206114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #260 of 540 Restaurants in Plymouth
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Our award-winning restaurant is run by Josh Peel. Josh and his team create utterly delicious, affordable food with fresh, seasonal and sustainable ingredients sourced from local suppliers.Plymouth Arts Centre restaurant is the Barbican's hidden gem - enjoy Art, Film and Food in a contemporary setting with character. We serve food and drink through the day, to eat in the restaurant, take away, or even take into the cinema. As one customer commented, "How civilized is it that I can get a cocktail and watch a film!"In 2012 the restaurant at Plymouth Arts Centre was awarded 'Best Restaurant' award by the Plymouth Food Awards.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“More Places Like This Please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I have been here on numerous occasions. We are never disappointed, the food is great and the service is lovely. I'd love to see more place like this in Plymouth. It has a great atmosphere and feels really special even though prices are quite standard for a restaurant/cafe in the city.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    15
    7
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
200 helpful votes 200 helpful votes
“Nice venue, nice food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Nice decor and venue. Food was good. Service was a bit slow and the toilet is a long way from the restaurant (in the basement) and definitely needs a face lift. On the whole though I liked it there and will go there again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Opportunity to eat lost”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Having made a booking for a group of 6 friends on a Saturday night, we arrived 2 minutes late to find our table had been given to a completely different party! It was evident that no one even knew we had made a reservation - the waitresses looked overwhelmed and understaffed. A drink on the house was offered by way of apology, which we were unable to accept due to being under pressure to find an alternative restaurant. The main reason that I am writing this review however, is to advise that despite accepting that sometimes these things happen, what really infuriated me was that my email to the Arthouse over two weeks ago outlining our experience, has still not even been acknowledged! Pretty disappointing on all accounts. I would love to be able to comment on the food/atmosphere/value, but since we experienced none of this, that would be impossible. Won't be bothering to try again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Trendy arthouse eatery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

This is a unique and much needed venue for Plymouth.
Everything is spot on for the arthouse vibe. Cool decor, local produce, trendy food presentation etc.
Not huge portions (I went the for lunch) but the food isn't really the reason to go there. It's the bohemian atmosphere.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Rather disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Visited having seen recommendations in the local press.
Staff friendly. Decor rather minimalistic and questionable lighting (from the electrical point of view).
Menu very limited. Home-made bread very good.. My crab linguine was basically ok but not hot because the plate was completely cold. My wife's burger was huge, but dried out and overcooked.
Prices are very low, which may be why it is popular. I would prefer to pay more for a better meal

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plymouth Arts Centre Restaurant also viewed

 
Plympton, Plymouth
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Plymouth Arts Centre Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plymouth Arts Centre Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.