We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ship Inn

The Ship Inn
Ugborough | Devon, Plymouth pl21 ons, England
01752 892565
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 524 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Stirling, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We went there for a spontaneous dinner and were positively surprised. The food was lovely, nice atmosphere and good service. We were going to have coffees after our deserts but after 10 minutes of waiting we just settled the bill. That was the only time we got overlooked. Overall it's a good find not too far form Plymouth.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    14
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great value, good quality, tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Visited on a Sunday for a friend's birthday. This was our first trip here. beautifully decorated and cosy dining area. Our party of 9 was easily accommodated at a large square table. The menu was varied with a wide range of additional specials available on the chalk board. Starters were a great size and beautifully cooked. Portion sizes were generous and main courses were accompanied by plates of perfectly cooked seasonal vegetables. Desserts were traditional and unusual - homemade Devon junket! Service was attentive, friendly and unrushed. We were able to enjoy our meal and company without feeling pressured to complete and move on. Great experience, would highly recommend. Locally inspired menu and produce and great hospitality

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A delightful spot to dine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The somewhat unnatractive village name belies the really pleasnt small village of Ugborough and it's delightful Ship Innn. Listed by Tripadvisor as a Plymouth hostelry is somewhat misleading, as it is approx 15 miles/40 minutes from Plymouth centre.

As an occasional visitor to Salcombe, we do like to make the time to travel the 18 or so miles to this delightful pub/restaurant. We have always found the sevice excellent, the food fresh and well presented, the wine list (sourced from Enotria) providing a good selection of world wines at sensible prices. The menu selection should satisfy most palates, and the 'Specials' board had an excellent selection of fresh fish.

On this occasion starters of scallops and pate were beyond criticism. Undecided between rump or sirloin steak, I asked 'mine host' which he would recommend. He asked how I would like the steak cooked before he gave his recommendation. A man who knows his trade!

There was also a good selection of game, and the haunch of venison chosen by the others was sublime! Vegetables were cooked just slightly al dente, exactly as I would cook for myself - if only I could cook!

The surprise single candle on Mum's dessert was a nice touch, as we hadn't mentioned the 90th birthday.

I am already looking forward to a my next visit.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Plymouth for 8 days ate at The Ship twice loved the food and the servers who were friendly and helpful in recommending places to visit in Devon and Cornwall. Best seafood!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
1,435 helpful votes 1,435 helpful votes
“Ugborough not Plymouth.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Writing this as a review on a list of Plymouth restaurants I can only bive it a three because it is so far out of town. No evening public transport and a long expensive taxi ride. Have been out here twice in the last eighteen months. Evidently very pleased with itself. Slightly prissy and fairly expensive food. The dining room that we have twice been placed in, is smallish and the atmosphere was a little tense. You can near everyone's conversation and there is nothing to make you feel comfortable about relaxing and letting go. Maybe if you live out in the wilds this would be a reasonable bet. For someone living in Plymouth or as a traveller based in Plymouth it is not worth the journey out..

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ship Inn also viewed

Plymouth, Devon
Ivybridge, Dartmoor National Park
 

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ship Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.