We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now called The Pub on the Hoe” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Yard Arm - CLOSED

The Yard Arm
159 Citadel Road | The Hoe, Plymouth, England
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Burnham-on-Sea, Somerset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Now called The Pub on the Hoe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had two evening meals here when spending weekend in Plymouth. Found the food excellent, but rather too large helpings. Next time will go for the smaller portions which are available for much of the menu. It gets very busy and we were on a large table downstairs. Loved the atmosphere and the staff were very friendly. Will definitely go there again as there is a very good vegetarian selection which pleased 2 members of our party of 6.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    30
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Evesham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly and Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

A friendly pub, staff are welcoming, regulars smile and are friendly. Food is of good quality, generous servings and lots of choice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Bad vibes here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Been here on several visits and had same experience each time! This place is fine if you are a lager drinker and like big screen football. Supposed to have 4 real ales but never had more than Betty Scroggins on tap! The Tribute given to me was brown puke and took back to be offered the remaining BS above - uck! Food is gastro pub standard fare and not that special. Staff were surly when asked to change beer and obviously not trained to change barrels as very negative about replacing the Tribute. All in all, if you like your real ale, go elsewhere.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Te Anau, null, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Generous meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Barry, from Tudor House suggested we try this Pub - only a short walk from the B&B. We thoroughly enjoyed the wonderful 'normal' food. The staff were friendly and helpful and the meals very affordable. We ended up eating there both evenings we were in Plymouth and were not disappointed either time.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A lifesaver”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

In the search for a decent breakfast at nearly 11am the Yard Arm came up trumps as we drove around the streets of Plymouth. Technically breakfast wasn't being served anymore, but the staff insisted it would be ok and checked with the kitchen. Three vegetarian breakfasts later there were three full and happy punters. No frills, but good honest grub and great customer service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Yard Arm also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Yard Arm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.