We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltram Gardens (National Trust)

Saltram Gardens (National Trust)
Plympton, Plymouth PL7 1UH, England
44 1752 336546
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 269 things to do in Plymouth
Attraction details
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great circular walk and ideal for a picnic. Lovely views across the estuary and many birds of all kinds to spot. Finish off with a coffee up at the cafe and that will wrap up a very pleasant day

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    42
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A short drive from Plymouth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Car parking was not so easy at the week end but most people were just walking their dogs and not visiting the NT property. Perhaps if they charged?

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“A grand residence”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

What to do on a day in May when it feels more like November with freezing rain pouring down?We decided to make use of our NT membership and see what Saltram House had to offer. It doesn't open until 12 but the cafe is available prior to that so we had a very nice cake a a cuppa while we waited. Come the time we went into the house and found it very grand indeed;lots of Chinese silk clad rooms and loads of paintings to learn about.It is a very big property with ornate high ceilings and the opportunity to see the servants areas as well.The guides were very enthusiastic and informative too. One of the best bits was a dressing up room;primarily for kids but some outfits were adult sized. This meant my husband could channel his inner Darcy much to the bemusement of fellow visitors.The grounds looked beautiful but we didn't want to get soaked to the skin so they will have to wait for another visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Country in the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My dog's favourtie walk. Easily accessible from the city centre and a delightful walk round the country estate along the river bank. Never been round Saltram House but I hear it's very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning walks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Romantic walks around the plymouth embankments, lots of families around, little cafe and a shop, little history and from the top you can see all city

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltram Gardens (National Trust) also viewed

 

Been to Saltram Gardens (National Trust)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltram Gardens (National Trust), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.