We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great welcome in very good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rusty Anchor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rusty Anchor to your Saves list
Rusty Anchor
30 Grand Parade, Plymouth PL1 3DJ, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 85 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Ludlow, Shropshire
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
180 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“great welcome in very good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

A group of us arrived here having waled 16 miles on the S W coast path. Having read the reviews, I was not expecting much but I was wrong. The landlady was very welcoming with a pot of tea brought immediately - one of only 2 out of 12 BBs on this trip that actually MADE us a cup of tea.
Our room was excellent with a good sea view although one of the rooms was cramped and with bunk beds.
Breakfast was very good with excellent creamy porrridge, choice of cereals, bacon, eggs etc.
It was an easy level walk into town for an evening meal and an easy walk to the ferry the following morning.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    11
    4
    6
    3
See reviews for
17
9
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
havant
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

great place to stay, we stayed for 2 weeks and every thing was spot on.
the land lady is brill, could'nt do enough!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SOTON
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2010

The rooms were clean enough. We had tea and coffee but no milk. We were only staying one night and were up early in the moring a catch a ferry. The people in the room above us came in at approx 11.00pm, we heard them have a shower discuss their night and switch off the light. The people in the room next door came in at gone midnight. We may as well have been in the same room as them. There was no aound proofing between the rooms at all and to top it all off we were charged twice for our room. They say they have parking, this is infact off road and not secure.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

On arrival we were expecting a sea view room but we got a room at the back of property with a set of bunk beds so therefore no room to move about. The stair-rail felt sticky as did the dining room floor. The location was good and parking OK. There was very little tourist information at the B&B and no real recommendation from the owner as to where to go for dinner. Breakfast was fairly standard but we would like to be asked our preference on how we like our eggs done.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

just had a lovely 5 days at the rusty anchor near the hoe plymouth , guest house very nice and quiet ,rooms very nice ,bus stop to the barbican and then on to bus depot just outside ,
lovely breakfast enough to set you up for the day made by the lovely jackie and steve

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rusty Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rusty Anchor

Address: 30 Grand Parade, Plymouth PL1 3DJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, T4B, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rusty Anchor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rusty Anchor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.