We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty stained sheets and cat urine” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Firs Guest House

Firs Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Firs Guest House to your Saves list
Firs Guest House
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   13 Pier Street | West Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 84 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Dirty stained sheets and cat urine”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

Although the owners were very friendly and the location was excellent, the cleanliness left a lot to be desired. The sheets were stained and a cat had peed outside the room. The owners were very apologetic and changed the sheets immediately. They even left us a sorry card and some chocolates. The breakfast was excellent it was just a shame it was so dirty.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsguesthouse, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
In response to review posted on 22nd August. Regarding the sheets when this was brought to my attention that they had not been changed due to staffing problems which has now been addressed accordingly and i can in sure this incident will never be repeated again. regarding cat urine and your comment that the guest house was not clean i can clarify this is most un true statements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    8
    1
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
4
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Brilliant B&B! Leslie and Tony made sure i am welcome, and Well fed , indeed! :)
Breakfast has been wonderful, bed was warm and cozy, the guesthouse in overall feels very homey! James, the kiddies absolutely adore this wonderful place! We would definitely come and stay again, no doubt! Well done and Hope to see you guys again next year! Already missing all yummy breakfast you made for us. :) lotsa love, Jacqueline

Room Tip: have a chat with Leslie and Tony and describe to them what do you need in advance so they can help y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thefirsguesthouse, Owner at Firs Guest House, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Tony and I are very delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Firs and Plymouth we will be looking forward to welcoming you both and the children again next year. best wishes Lesley & Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Served my purpose brilliant service and was great for my 2 yr old and I to stay for three nights with park next door.Close to sea even sea view from corner of my room. Great food and Lesley happy to help with any request.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We stayed here for one night and were just looking for an inexpensive place to sleep near the waterfront while visiting the city. It was definitely adequate for what we needed. I was staying here with a friend and we were quite happy.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirdford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

As a single traveller, I have found that I am not always made to feel welcome or secure.
This was certainly not the case at The Firs. Lesley and Tony were wonderful. My dog was accommodated. Breakfast was on time and delicious. Whenever I asked, my son (who was graduating from Plymouth University) was able to have breakfast with me. Everything worked!
An unpretentious, clean and flexible establishment. Reasonably priced and well-located.
Thank you.

Room Tip: Talk it over with Lesley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I stayed in room 4, a single room, a good sized room for such a bargain, £35 per night.TV worked and liked kettle for tea and coffee. Pine furniture and decor a little tatty but functional, comfortable and clean. Handbasin in room, toilet and bath down the corridor. Breakfast plentiful and good. Host, Lesley helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is the second time I have stayed at the Firs Guest House in the quiet suburb of West Hoe in Plymouth...I stayed for 3 1/2 weeks while visiting family nearby...the proprietors, Tony and Lesley are the best! They make a delicious breakfast (which filled me up until dinner time!), they were friendly and helpful at ALL times...the room rate was the most competitive compared to the other guest houses nearby...the room they put me in had a lovely double bed and was very light and breezy and facing the sun...the room was cleaned EVERY day and generally I felt very welcome here...the wifi was available to my room 24 hours a day and was very strong and stable...my children came to stay and LOVED being at the guest house...they especially loved the four cats! The park and the seafront was right next door and so we all really enjoyed our time...I will DEFINITELY be staying there again and I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this BnB accommodation...

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Firs Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Firs Guest House

Address: 13 Pier Street | West Hoe, Plymouth PL1 3BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Firs Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Firs Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Firs Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.