We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, excellent service and the best food in the south west” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plymouth PL9 0DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel, excellent service and the best food in the south west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Stayed here with my boyfriend last Sunday night, eat the 9 course taster menu, all of which was fantastic, even after 9 courses you don't feel as if you can't move. Very well judged menu and reasonably priced at £59 for 9 courses. Each dish was cooked to perfection and well balanced, beautiful hotel and grounds and 5* rooms. Would definetly return.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    36
    20
    3
    5
See reviews for
36
59
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
devizes wiltshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

A surprise trip for me in that my end destination was unknown ! What a fantastic surprise it was.

Our room was huge and very tastefully decorated. Quality fixtures and furnishings & It gave a spectacular view of the walled garden. The staff were very welcoming (as I would expect) and also friendly showing a real interest in us - which led to my husband telling them he had worked there 30yrs ago as a young adult, which brought out lots of discussion as to the changes the current owners have made and how very different a venue it has become !!!!
Dinner service was excellent. All staff served with white gloved hands. They were attentive, but not intrusive, and knowledgeable about the menu - just as it should be, but sadly so many places aren't. The prices of the menu were very competitive.
Breakfast was equally good, a good selection and we didn't experience any hiccups at all,. Freshly cooked croissants were being prepared for a couple on a table next to us.. which again I thought was a great touch rather than just leaving them out..

I have nothing bad to say. the grounds are beautiful, the hotel is tastefully decorated, and clearly some of the bedrooms are massive (ours !!) ,( even with a superking bed installed). The food was some of the best I have tasted, and is superb value for money. We dined in on our first night, and then ate in 2 other restaurants (which were massively raved about).. I have to say the best of the bunch was Langdons food by far, and would have also been the cheapest !

I would return here in a heartbeat.

Lots of couples attending and viewing the venue as a wedding location - and by the sounds of it, most weekends are busy with weddings, Which I suspect is then fully booked out for the couple. it is not a large hotel, from memory i think it was 14 bedrooms.. this in my view gave it a great intimate feel, and enables the staff to quickly know you and remember your name - simple gestures like this truly makes a stay away very special..
So thank you Langdon Court - keep on going, you are doing it right !

Room Tip: overlooking the walled garden.. you cannot get a better view !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

I will start by mentioning that this place is stunning. Gorgeous stone building with beautiful gardens. Views of the countryside and vineyards. The dinner evening staff was very impressive, friendly and top notch. In fact, the evening dining staff were some of the best I've had within the UK since moving here two years ago. Bravo on that point!

It would be a splendid place for a wedding, relaxing weekend trip or event. However, during this particular experience I was on business and that is how I will assess my experience. My room was very large and well decorated. The downfalls were that the white and red curtains didn't perform in terms of blocking the early morning light. The walls were also so thin I could hear the person in the room next to me snoring. The most frustrating occurrence was the lack of prompt breakfast service (we only expected cold cereal and fruit). Upon check-in we were told breakfast would begin at 7:00. This was great as this place is far from any business location so any later would be unacceptable in my opinion. However, as my colleague and I entered the dining room it was a empty with no cold food or any staff. About 20 minutes later they finally sat out some coffee, granola and fruit. The other days went okay after explaining the situation to reception. On the last morning (Friday, June 27th) we were told breakfast would not be served until 7:30 and that we had been told this the evening before. Simply not true. Anyways, gorgeous place but if they would like to cater to business travelers they will need to understand the need for prompt breakfast and check-out services.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with darker curtains if you are taking a trip during the bright summer months
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cornwall
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Lovely hotel, excellent sorroundings and pleasant staff. Could not have asked for anything better and excellent value.Fish pancake was fantastic as was the vegetarian curry. Good cup of tea. I really enjoyed our lunch time. It is in a great position for exploring Wembury

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The tea was excellent and staff attentive, there was only English Breakfast tea as a choice but that's a minor fault. There was far too much for the three of us so they gave us a box to take the rest away. I thought it would be more popular given the good quality overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

Firstly I will say the hotel and grounds are lovely and the staff are superb. The food on the other hand is above average, we went for Sunday lunch and I left a little disappointed. It was well presented but just lacking in a little flavour.

I'll certainly give it another go as I may have been on an off day.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Devon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed over after a wedding. The wedding was lovely and the meal was very good.
I think the charges for the room and breakfast are a but high £159 for a superior room, which was supposed to have a king size bed I believe but our was only a standard 4 ft 6 double.
Lots of stairs to negotiate.
Room was nice enough but please do take some time when setting out the electrics. The kettle and cups were in a trendy crate but we had to set the kettle on the floor to get it by the socket outlet and their were 8 sockets in our room....
Breakfast felt rushed and we arrived to sit at a large table which had been occupied before us unfortunately the used crockery etc were not cleared away at all and it felt very messy indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor if you have mobility issues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Plymouth PL9 0DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Plymouth
#4 Luxury Hotel in Plymouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy luxury, history and fine hospitality at a magical country house hotel in Devon. Lost in the South Devon countryside yet just a stone's throw from silver sandy beaches and historic Plymouth. Langdon Court is the perfect location for romantic breaks, business meetings, weddings and fine food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and LateRooms so you can book your Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langdon Court Hotel And Restaurant
Langdon Court Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Langdon Court Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.